We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great example of Sri Lankan culture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kandyan Dance Performance

Kandyan Dance Performance
City hall, Kandy, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 28 Activities in Kandy
Type: Performances
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great example of Sri Lankan culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The dancers and performers obviously like what they do, they were all smiles and enthusiasm, with much leaping and drumming. Very atmospheric, especially the fire walking. And of course the price was right, with proceeds going to the Red Cross.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    374
    230
    71
    31
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not bad at all !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have sen loads of these things in many places around the world, we always attend them as my wife is a dance teacher so there is an added fascination for her. Normally they are performed by slightly bored looking individuals who seem to have something far more interesting they would rather be doing. The entrance fee was 500rps ( bargain ) and you get a little printed programme our guide had managed to reserve us seats near the front. I took my place and prepared to be underwhelmed and am glad to say was completely wrong.

The performers put on a great cultural dance show complete with acrobatics,plate spinning, fire walking and eating at the end. the participants not only looked like they were enjoying themselves but were proud to be on stage. Basically the cheerful Sri Lankan faces we have seen everywhere during our trip. Costumes were striking and colourful. The venue was old and the stage a bit haphazard but the show was charming and entertaining and more than worth the fee.

Walk there if you can as it is very popular and parking can be difficult to find, also did not see any spare seats in the venue.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It was a nice show, the dancers were very good. although the theatre is old and i didn't like the music rythm

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Entranced a four year old”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Seats at the front meant our 4 year old saw every thing and was entranced for the entire performance.
A wonderful show.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice performance, but beware they start early some times!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had planned on attending the daily event at 545 as per our guide. However thank goodness i was at the hotel, which was very close when i received a call at 5:05 that the performance was starting early and my guide was on the way to get me in a Tuk Tuk! Sure enough he was there in a flash, we wizzed quickly to the location and it had been in progress for about 20-30 mins, so about half way through the 30 mins performance. We still enjoyed it , it was nice to see. The fire walking at the end was amazing! All in all a good time. Just beware to go early like 45 mins or so , Just In Case!! Our guide was surprised but said the audience was full and they were given permission to start when this is the case?? Not sure if this was the true story but whatever the case, they started early. The building was older and unkept which surprised me... but still able to enjoy the show!
Because we came late, i am not sure about what happened before the show, but after you could by water/ soda on the way out and candy bars/ junk food, which didn't appeal to me!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kandyan Dance Performance also viewed

Kandy, Central Province
Kandy, Central Province
 

Been to Kandyan Dance Performance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kandyan Dance Performance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.