We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kandyan Dance Performance

Kandyan Dance Performance
City hall, Kandy, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Dominica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It was a nice show, the dancers were very good. although the theatre is old and i didn't like the music rythm

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    409
    262
    80
    37
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Entranced a four year old”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Seats at the front meant our 4 year old saw every thing and was entranced for the entire performance.
A wonderful show.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice performance, but beware they start early some times!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had planned on attending the daily event at 545 as per our guide. However thank goodness i was at the hotel, which was very close when i received a call at 5:05 that the performance was starting early and my guide was on the way to get me in a Tuk Tuk! Sure enough he was there in a flash, we wizzed quickly to the location and it had been in progress for about 20-30 mins, so about half way through the 30 mins performance. We still enjoyed it , it was nice to see. The fire walking at the end was amazing! All in all a good time. Just beware to go early like 45 mins or so , Just In Case!! Our guide was surprised but said the audience was full and they were given permission to start when this is the case?? Not sure if this was the true story but whatever the case, they started early. The building was older and unkept which surprised me... but still able to enjoy the show!
Because we came late, i am not sure about what happened before the show, but after you could by water/ soda on the way out and candy bars/ junk food, which didn't appeal to me!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“better than most”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

a lot of cultural performances can be a bit tired and trite. This was not, and well worth watching. The colourful costumes and the dancers' agility is a treat. Of course the highlight was the fire eater and fire walkers.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gampola, Sri Lanka
1 review
“kandyan dancers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Dancers in Naiyandi costume perform during the initial preparations of the Kohomba Kankariya festival, during the lighting of the lamps and the preparation of foods for the demons. The dancer wears a white cloth and white turban, beadwork decorations on his chest, a waistband, rows of beads around his neck, silver chains, brass shoulder plates, anklets, and jingles. This is a graceful dance, also performed in Maha Visnu, (Vishnu) and Kataragama Devales temples on ceremonial occasions.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kandyan Dance Performance also viewed

 
Kandy, Central Province
Kandy, Central Province
 

Been to Kandyan Dance Performance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kandyan Dance Performance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.