We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, peaceful and authentic Sri Lankan getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kandy Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kandy Guest House to your Saves list
Kandy Guest House
9/D/13 Nelligasgodawatta | Kiribathkumbura, Kandy 10300, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 227 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful and authentic Sri Lankan getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Staying here reminded me of the old days when I grew up in my 'kampung' (as we call it in Malaysia) or village. Very simple, quiet and refreshing surrounding. The day is mostly spent outdoors and then went home to savour the delicious home made food! If you want to feel this, this is where to be. I have a big appetite and the food prepared here is awesome! Highly recommended for anyone who wants a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    38
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
81
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We found this place through tripsadvisor.This place is running by family.The owner Goerge is very nice guy.Always help us to find good things in kandy,They cooked sri lankan meals for us.we enjoyed our stay with locale family.

Room Tip: River View room was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Kandy guesthouse is very comfortable. You have a nice river is the back of the house where u can enjoy from your balcony. The guesthouse is about 20 min outside of Kandy but u get away from the hustle and bustle of the town. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and the shower is comfortable. George, the owner of the guesthouse, is extremely friendly and personal. He picked me up from the Colombo airport at 4:30 am in the morning and Kandy is about 3 hours away!!! Also his wife Ann is an amazing cook! Her breakfast and dinner are sooo delicious that I didnt want to go out and eat. Highly recommend staying here and experience the guesthouse.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The best guest house with George's help, we have a wonderful stay here. The little garden is beautiful in the middle of the mountain, the food is yummy, must try! George's family are very friendly with lovely lovely smile~

Room Tip: second floor with balcony is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed with George and his family as part of our tour of Sri Lanka in September 2012. We had a fantastic time- the guest house is immaculately kept with excellent rooms looking out across the veranda to the river and gardens behind. George and his family are wonderful- they were very welcoming and cooked the best meal we had in Sri Lanka ! A huge range of local curries, each delicious and obviously made with great care and attention. They offered us the right mix of privacy and service- George will happily organize any activities you wish to do and cater for your transport needs. We also used George's skills as we traveled around Sri Lanka and every location was perfect- fantastic hotels, superb organisations of tours and site visits with complete flexibility when we wanted to change our plans, I cannot recommend this guest house enough - simply perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crewe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

recently my wife and i spent 2 weeks in sri lanka and spent some time at the kany guest house ,it is a wonderful place ,situated next to a beutiful river ideal to relax ,george is a fantastic host and guide and he has a lovely family incredibly friendly ,we also enjoyed the nicest food of our whole journey there,if you ever travel to sri lankla you must make sure you take time to stay here

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We are currently staying at the Kandy Guest House and our experience has been wonderful! Starting with our kind and patient driver Erick who has driven us from the airport and around Kandy to George's (owner) kind family, everything has been just perfect. The location is peaceful and serene and it is great to have the sounds of nature put us to sleep. I cannot say enough good things about the food. George's wife served us a spread of authentic and delicous Sri Lankan food for lunch that was fit for royalty. George has helped us plan our trip and arranged transportation and sight-seeing tours as well. I highly recomend the Kandy Guest House and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kandy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Guest House

Address: 9/D/13 Nelligasgodawatta | Kiribathkumbura, Kandy 10300, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandy Guesthouse is a place of comfort, happiness and relaxation. It is situated beside a beautiful river and away from the crowded and traffic bound city. The location of the guest house is also rich with birdlife,wildlife and surrounding nature which creates a very calm and peaceful environment to stay in. It is just 7 Km away from the Kandy city and 2.5 Km away from the Peradeniya railway station. The place is run by a family and is filled with warmth and safety and will be sure to make you feel at home. The Kandy Guesthouse is a perfect place to stay in and explore the beautiful region of Kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kandy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kandy Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.