We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing riverside loveliness :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kandy Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kandy Guest House to your Saves list
Kandy Guest House
9/D/13 Nelligasgodawatta | Kiribathkumbura, Kandy 10300, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 205 Kandy B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing riverside loveliness :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We are currently staying with George and his lovely family at Kandy Guest House and are having a wonderful and peaceful time. Our room is overlooking the river (which we explored with two of George's children today) and a forest - which is a respite from the busy city. George and his family have been very welcoming and have given some great advice about places to travel in Sri Lanka. Even though the guest house is not in Kandy - it provides a more peaceful environment and is closer to the botanical gardens and the elephant sanctuary and orphanage. Also, it is easy to get to Kandy by train or tuk-tuk. George can also provide transport if required. Overall, I would recommend staying here rather than in Kandy itself because the rooms are spacious, clean, and very pleasant, the food is delicious, the surroundings are gorgeous, and the family is just lovely. George's daughter also taught us how to make an origami lotus flower - so we've been learning some new skills too :-D

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    31
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
71
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

This was a delightful guesthouse where we were shown real hospitality and kindness. George the owner couldn't do enough for us and was kind enough to get up at four in the morning to take us to the station. We loved our stay in this jungle location and would definitely return. Make sure you try some of their delicious food some of best during our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful family guest house!
The rooms are spotless and spacious, with a big balcony overlooking the river. All with a very nice hot shower and free wi-fi.
George and his family were outstanding guests and they really made us feel at home.
They picked us up at the airport and drive us to kandy city center or to other places whenever we needed.
... And George's wife cooks the best rice and curry of all sri lanka, it's really worth to have lunch or dinner there!
I really recommend Kandy guest house!
Francesca

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

It seems so loose in the forest and then... A wonderful balcony in front of a river..the ideal relax oasis,with great service: rooms are very neat and clean, kitchen is excellent, and george +his brother are very careful with us, from the pick up puntuality to the alert on possible threats

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
358 helpful votes 358 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived at Peredeniyah station, George was toughtful to send his brother to pick us up with a comfortable van to take us to his place. It isn't Easy to find , but George will happily arrange a lift to it from Kandy. The room we got was brand new, and one the cleanest we've had during our entire trip. If you're tired after a long journey, you should certainly consider having dinner at the guesthouse . George wife's cooking is better than what you get in most restaurants!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I would recommend this guesthouse to anybody looking to stay just outside the bustling city of Kandy. It's surrounded by beautiful scenery (river running through the back), and the family are extremely nice and accommodating. The food in particular was excellent, and left me always looking forward to the next meal. Around 10 minutes outside of Kandy, but George will provide you easy access to and from wherever you would like to travel. Truly a family experience (as opposed to some other guesthouses I've stayed at), and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Overlooking the small local river with a nice garden; we found this small family-run hotel with new and very nice and clean rooms. After the tightly packed towns, this is a welcome change. Best of all: only rarely have we met people more forthcoming and helpful in every way than the owners of the guesthouse. And what is more, Mrs George is an excellent cook, we probably had the best Sri lankan dinners here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kandy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Guest House

Address: 9/D/13 Nelligasgodawatta | Kiribathkumbura, Kandy 10300, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandy Guesthouse is a place of comfort, happiness and relaxation. It is situated beside a beautiful river and away from the crowded and traffic bound city. The location of the guest house is also rich with birdlife,wildlife and surrounding nature which creates a very calm and peaceful environment to stay in. It is just 7 Km away from the Kandy city and 2.5 Km away from the Peradeniya railway station. The place is run by a family and is filled with warmth and safety and will be sure to make you feel at home. The Kandy Guesthouse is a perfect place to stay in and explore the beautiful region of Kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kandy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kandy Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.