We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights with a welcoming family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kandy Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kandy Guest House to your Saves list
Kandy Guest House
9/D/13 Nelligasgodawatta | Kiribathkumbura, Kandy 10300, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 205 Kandy B&B and Inns
Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
1 review
“3 nights with a welcoming family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Having arrived in Colombo it was a great introduction to Sri Lanka, George was a very welcoming host with a charming family. Having picked us up at the airport for a great price we had a really nice time with him, the food at breakfast was always plentiful but the evening meal was occasionally a bit overpriced. Our room had a balcony with a fantastic view which easily made up for a few ants in the bathroom. Overall a very nice stay I would recommend it all. Thank you for letting us stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    31
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
71
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

A lovely quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of Kandy. I can really recommend this small family-run bed and breakfast. We had dinner as well for the two nights we stayed there. Anne is a great cook. It backs on to a little creek and bush so is really quiet.
It is actually about 10 mins away from Kandy, closer to the station before. Call George and he'll pick you up.
George helped us plan activities and it was lovely to be invited into their home.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrudim, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Within our trip around the island we had chance to stay 3 nights in Kandy guesthouse with wonderful George's family. George's wife cuisine was incredibly indulgent experience, she let us observe here cooking magics in realtime, and tought us her family recipes. If you want to enjoy genuine Sri Lankan breakfeast and dinner do not hesitate to have a stop there! Very clean and cosy apartments with a nice relaxing sound of nearby river. Guesthouse is located in outskirts of Kandy, but George offers free pickup from trainstation as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed at Kandy Guest house one night only but we found George and his family to be marvellous hosts, who gave us a warm welcome and were keen to ensure we had the best possible experience. His wife provided delicious home cooked food, his children entertained our baby and George himself advised on local excursions and arranged our travel with his excellent colleague, Hiran. While the guest house is outside of Kandy itself, it is only a short drive which can be done by tuk tuk or car (George can arrange) and it is very well located for the Elephant orphanage and the Botanical gardens. George also arranged tickets for our onward journey to the tea plantations, ensuring we had first class seats for a wonderful 4 hour scenic journey. Special thanks to driver, Hiran, who also became a critical part of our holiday, not only driving us to places of interest but helping us on and off trains with all our luggage, providing a portable internet cafe to resolve a hotel booking problem and taking us to the best roadside cafes en route. A wonderful travelling companion!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had the pleasure to stay with George and his family at Kandy Guesthouse for 2 nights while visiting Kandy during our Sri Lanka trip.
He organised us a driver for both days for our trips to Pinnawala Elephant Orpahanage, Botanical Garden & Kandy (temple of tooth relic), and on the second day Dambulla cave temple (not a must) and Lion Rock in Sigiriya (highly recommended).
The tours were great but as we had only 2 nights in Kandy and our tours were throughout the day we didn't have much time to spend time with George and his family. But the short time especially during the lovely prepared and delicious breakfasts prepared by his wife we could enjoy their hospitality and welcoming atmosphere at the guesthouse. We felt a bit guilty when we were served so much yummy food and fresh fruits in the mornings as we couldn't possibly even eat half of it.
The rooms are spacious and very clean. There are 3 pin round plugs in the rooms so our adapters didn't work, but we immediately got a multi-plug adapter when we asked for one.
George is very much eager to make sure that his guest do have a excellent experience while staying with him which we got to know on our first night when we had dinner in Kandy and he called us up to ask if he should organise for someone to pick us up to get back to the guesthouse.
It was late and we had our trouble finding out way back home (even with a business card where George wrote a location description on the card for us to show a tuktuk driver).
Eventhough the location itself is very lovely with the local river just next to it, it is a bit away from the city and it is recommended to organise a driver that knows the location to ensure a smooth transfer to the guesthouse.

Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: ATM only 2 rooms available. Upper room: has nice relaxing balcony overlooking the river, but bath no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at this family-run guesthouse for 3 nights using it as a base for visits of Kandy and the Ancient Cities. The location is beautiful and lush and birds and squirrels abound. It is difficult to get any closer to nature. Our spotless room had a balcony overlooking the river with the sounds of the river flowing lulling us into a deep sleep every night. Priceless. We must commend the home-cooking, in particular the curry and the breakfast roti & coconut-filled pancakes. We couldn't get enough of either and really appreciate the different foods that were offered to us as an introduction to the local cuisine. Having access to a computer & wifi was also very helpful, as we had some work that required our immediate attention. All in all, a great stay - recommended if you are looking for a family atmosphere and the local touch in a home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We booked Kandy Guest House having read the reviews on Tripadvisor and we're glad we did. George is an excellent host, and the home cooked food prepared by his wife is delicious. The guest house is about 10 mins drive from the centre of Kandy but we saw this as a positive - it's set in a beautiful location beside a small river. You will really feel welcomed into the family home.
The wifi that George installed whilst we were staying is now an added bonus!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kandy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Guest House

Address: 9/D/13 Nelligasgodawatta | Kiribathkumbura, Kandy 10300, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandy Guesthouse is a place of comfort, happiness and relaxation. It is situated beside a beautiful river and away from the crowded and traffic bound city. The location of the guest house is also rich with birdlife,wildlife and surrounding nature which creates a very calm and peaceful environment to stay in. It is just 7 Km away from the Kandy city and 2.5 Km away from the Peradeniya railway station. The place is run by a family and is filled with warmth and safety and will be sure to make you feel at home. The Kandy Guesthouse is a perfect place to stay in and explore the beautiful region of Kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kandy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kandy Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.