We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Childhood Favo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soya Centre

Soya Centre
116 A, Kotugodella Veediya | (Adjacent to YMCA), Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Soya Centre)
+94 81 2 202016
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 83 Restaurants in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Sells a collection of novel short-eats made with soy, such as wades, and roti rolls and sandwiches filled with soy sausage. The biggest attraction are the vegan the generous soy soft-serve ice cream cones.The open-air counter high above the street is extremely popular with locals, though service is prompt. Also sells typical vegetable buns and rolls, and bulk soy products such tofu and tempeh can be purchased there. And exciting find for the dairy-free traveller. Trucks in Kandy also sell the so called "soy ice cream", in smaller portions, though the ice cream at the Soya Centre is the tastiest and has the best quality.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Childhood Favo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

One place I visited with my parents in my childhood and now visiting with my husband. Well if you need a clean vegetarian fill on the run this is the place to be. I am not an ice cream fan but yes I try it for the different taste. And the Roti is a meal replace for sure fill you to the max. If you tired of shopping try a soy-milk. My favorite cool and fresh ..... and wow I need another one soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Soya Centre S, Owner at Soya Centre, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hi Sanjeewani thank you for your lovely review! Glad you like our products.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    16
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
1 review
“ice cream.... :p :p”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

i feel i had the best kind of ice cream ever after having a soya ice cream. the best part of it is, its very cheap! the favolurs still make watering in my mouth.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
The Soya Centre S, Owner at Soya Centre, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hi Sathish! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Yummy ice creams”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

After reading about this place on Tripadvisor, we went looking for it the evening we reached Kandy. Unfortunately it was closed. We went back the next day in the afternoon and it was open. We had both chocolate and vanilla flavour ice creams. I preferred the chocolate and my husband preferred the vanilla. They melt quickly so sit outside and scoff them - they are yummy so you might end up going back inside for another one!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Soya Centre S, Owner at Soya Centre, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you very much for you review and glad you liked the ice creams :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean and good quality Food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Cheap, clean and good quality Food. This is a totally vegetarian food outlet. "Soya Beans" are used for most food products here, that why it is popular as Soya Center. Highly recommend.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Soya Centre S, Owner at Soya Centre, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your recommendation. Yes, we extract the soy milk from soybeans which are grown in Dambulla. Since we carry out the whole process by ourselves we could easily and quite confidently guarantee the best quality. Hope you visit us again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place for a snack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Context: We (two of us) are vegan. We ordered two ice creams and a soya rotti.

The place was busy. It was hot, so an ice cream in the shade was perfect. We haven't had soft serve in years, no one has soy soft serve in South Australia.

It was sweet and soft, standard cone. Quite similar to a McDonalds soft serve, which we liked. Dirt cheap and tasty.

The soya rotti was great. Might go back for another tomorrow. It tastes like a home made sausage roll. Mmmmmm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Soya Centre S, Owner at Soya Centre, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your review! Hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soya Centre also viewed

 
Kandy, Central Province
Kandy, Central Province
 

Been to Soya Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soya Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.