We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely and relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucktissme

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lucktissme
Save
You added Lucktissme to your Saves list
125, Pitakanda Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 206 Kandy B&B and Inns
mt shasta, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“lovely and relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

i really enjoyed the grand home atmosphere and architecture, quiet neighborhood and very gracious hosts here...and would definitely return again. it made for a wonderful and relaxing stay, plus was a good value in a popular but noisy and sorta smoggy city!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucktissme, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello Jack,
Thank You very much for your review. It was great to have you and your friends at Lucktissme. We wish you all the best and have a safe Journey.

Regards,
Lucktissme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
2
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

a friendly and helpful hostess offers comfortable beds, delicious breakfast, & reasonable price. the beautiful old house in quiet wooded setting is a nice change of pace from the busy city. i will return here again the next time i'm in kandy.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucktissme, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello Max,

Thank You very much for your review. It was such a pleasure to have you and your friends at Lucktissme. We wish you all the best and have a safe journey.

Regards,
Lucktissme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The best of places we have stayed at in Sri Lanka. We have travelled the island for a month and have seen many places, but without a doubt this was the most pleasant of them all. The atmosphere and history of the house, the warm welcome of the family and their staff, the spacious rooms, the lovely and well prepared food: it was all just perfect. We can highly recommend it to anybody who's looking for a beautiful and quiet spot just a 200 rupees ride away by tuktuk from the city centre of Kandy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucktissme, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Diana,
It was such a pleasure reading your comments, knowing that you have enjoyed staying at Lucktissme.

Thank You very much.
Innocent & Harold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I had heard about Lucktissme from friends in australia and I was very pleased I stayed here with my family. The hosts were very friendly and made us feel extremely welcome and treated us like we were part of their family. The old Sri Lankan house and surrounding gardens were beautiful and it seemed like we were in the jungle, not in the middle of busy Kandy. We liked it that much we decided to stayed longer than we had planned.
Terry Beks, Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucktissme, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We are happy that you felt you were part of the family.Yes,the gardens are like mini jungle in the middle of the busy Kandy city.
We thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

In December 2011 I stayed at Harold Ratwatte's guesthouse on the outskirts of Kandy. Harold is a former tea planter and has a wealth of stories to tell. This guesthouse is in a pleasant location and built in the Kandyan Sinhalese tradition. on ancestral property. It is located a quiet area with access to main roads to Kandy, Mahiyangana and Colombo. I enjoyed the traditional Sinhalese food, presented in clean, impressive fashion and it was tasty. The room was well ventilated and clean.

Manfred Claasz, McCrae, Victoria, AUSTRALIA

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucktissme, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
We are very much for your comments on Lucktissme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I cannot rate this guest house highly enough! The food was amazing, the room was comfortable and the hostess friendly and helpful. I would recommend anyone who is planning a trip to this region of Sri Lanka to make this your base from which to explore Kandy or the outlying hill country. They made a good holiday a GREAT one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucktissme, Owner at Lucktissme, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday staying with us.
Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lucktissme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucktissme

Address: 125, Pitakanda Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Lucktissme" A Home Away From Home, An Unforgettable Rest Stop. A Guest Annex with large verandah in a Tea Planter’s ancestral home with all amenities, situated on a two acre spice garden with varieties of fruit trees. A haven for birds and other creatures, within the city limits of Kandy. Enjoy our delicious home cooked meals. Child friendly. Free transport from Kandy City on arrival. Pick-up from airport on request. Tours to places of interest can be arranged to suit each individual. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucktissme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.