We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious short eats!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kandy Garden Cafe

The Kandy Garden Cafe
9 Sangaraja Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 74 Restaurants in Kandy
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dehradun, India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Delicious short eats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were in a hurry to catch our train from Kandy, so stopped by to pick up something quickly. I'm vegetarian, and was delighted by the vegetable rotti and samosa. Go for it, it's a treat.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    48
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best authentic Sri Lankan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A real gem, and one not to miss. The best street food I have had so far in Sri Lanka, very authentic and used by all the locals. All freshly prepared and very friendly staff. Please visit if you are in kandy! So cheap and beautiful food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Another great recommendation from trip advisor.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This place is relatively easy to find. Tuk Tuk drivers all know where it is.
Food is delicious, reasonable variety to choose from. Authentic. And we felt the cost was also extremely reasonable.
Chicken Briyani, beef curry, egg hoppers and breads. Yummy.
Don't be put of by the exterior, give it a try. You will be pleasantly surprised. Locals use it a lot for takeaway meals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We thought we were going to the Kandy Garden Club to drink Gin and Tonics and beer on the verandah and then have a bite to eat; they wouldn't let us in (Members Only) so we looked in at the cafe; pretty basic but we were hungry so in we went.
Suffice to say that the result became the yardstick for just about every other meal we had in Sri Lanka; we never saw another bryriani come even close.
If you are a bit worried about the meal being too hot; just ask them to tone it down and they will. Their English may be modest but their attitude and service are excellent.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Believe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Just believe me it's the most flavoursome of foods that you'll experience at this sparsely decorated local Cafe situated north of the lake. Try the Roast Chicken Byriani, Curry Beef, Veg Kohtu and some parrata. A great meal for two won't cost you more than Rp700 and make sure you take the left overs with you for lunch tomorrow. Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kandy Garden Cafe also viewed

 
Kandy, Central Province
Kandy, Central Province
 

Been to The Kandy Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kandy Garden Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.