We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good simple food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kandy Garden Cafe

The Kandy Garden Cafe
9 Sangaraja Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 74 Restaurants in Kandy
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Derbyshire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good simple food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We ate here on our first night in Sri Lanka and were surprised how large the portion sizes were! Good, honest, tasty local food (with some western options available if desired) and very reasonably priced e.g. x1 egg fried rice with vegetable chop suey and x1 local special was only about 4GBP!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    48
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food-authentic and inexpensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This food was the best we ate in all of sri lanka. The food was tasty and flavorful. Many locals come for take away. You can see the food being made. The seating area is small and on a main road but the food is so good that it didnt bother us yum!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyminge england
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fab food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Some of the best food we had in Sri Lanka. Not the best location, close to a busy road but worth it for sure.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Colombia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“loved the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Found this cafe on way to my guesthouse; had kotti roti, a traditional food, which actually looks like a stir fry.
All the food great, fresh and cheap;
Its a locals take-out food for dinner type of place as well; so you
know its good

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Excellent Sri Lankan Food in Kandy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We came here almost every evening while we were in Kandy because we had tried some other restaurants in Kandy but we find that the best food was still this Garden Cafe.

The food here is simple Sri Lankan food but taste very good.

The fried rice and the fried noodles were not oily at all and still taste good. I love noodles, and I have been eating noodles wherever I went, but the fried noodles here is simple, yet tasty and healthy... Maybe if somebody used to heavy taste type of food might find that the fried noodles a bit mild taste, but it was good for my palate.

The Devilled Chicken here is the best! It taste like what my mom used to cook at home.

We also had the Hoppers and Red String Hoppers with the Potato Curry, Dhal and spicy coconut sambal. They were excellent!

Everyone there including those who work in the kitchen, they all were very friendly and welcoming.

Cheap price, great value, good food. Great local restaurant atmosphere especially evening time many locals came here for take away. There were not many sitting places though... You may need to be patient to wait for other people to finish their meal to get a table. But it worth waiting.

Both of us ate so much but it only cost us less than 5 USD.

Absolutely recommended! Two Thumbs up!

Tips - The elephant ginger beer (EGB) is very good to go along with the spicy Sri Lankan food, although the food here in Garden Cafe is not too spicy. And the drinking water that they serve for free, is absolutely safe to drink.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kandy Garden Cafe also viewed

 
Kandy, Central Province
Kandy, Central Province
 

Been to The Kandy Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kandy Garden Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.