We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accomodation in Kandy - I recommend absolutely everyone!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Change

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Change to your Saves list
The Change
Green Hill, Block 56, Heeressagala, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“Perfect accomodation in Kandy - I recommend absolutely everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Perfect accommodation in a beautiful setting in the mountains, with breathtaking views of the mountain landscape. Very friendly and helpful staff. Absolutely delicious food, huge portions of great food. Rooms tastefully furnished, clean, spacious balcony for evening relaxation after long trips. We thank the owner for the great and friendly welcome. I recommend absolutely everyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms and all the rooms certainly are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    39
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
73
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

One of the best guesthouse! Beautiful deco,fresh flowers on breakfast tables. The staff are especially nice, helpful and kind. We had a few requests regarding bedding and was all duely and happily met. View was amazing too!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

we stayed two nights and it was Amazing. one of the best place to stay. The staff was super friendly and helpful the change is up on the hill with a fantastic view and clean rooms. oh my god i must tell i had the best sri lankan food , I recommend this Hotel to everyone who visit kandy

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Change is a guesthouse located in the Heeressagala area of Kandy, Sri Lanka. The place was very comfortable and welcoming. The guesthouse is located on the hillside, with beautiful views of the hills and areas of Kandy.The staff was great as well. They were more than helpful during our one night stay. The room was very spacious and had a quaint, country, and relaxing appeal. As suggested by previous travellers from Trip Advisor, we requested a room with the hillside view. It was amazing to watch the sunrise over the hills of Kandy and relax on the patio/balcony outside our room with the wonderful breeze.

In addition to our stay, the guesthouse also offers cooking lessons (upon request). My friend and I had the pleasure to learn and experience cooking a few great lunch dishes. The manager/chef, Anura Samarawickrama, was very friendly and helpful with everything, especially during our cooking lesson!

I would HIGHLY recommend this guesthouse to travellers that would love to experience the country side of Kandy. In addition, it would be beneficial to have a tour guide/driver during your stay or thorough driving directions to and from the guesthouse (if you decide to drive yourself) as it is located on the outskirts of the city.

We really enjoyed our stay at this guesthouse and would stay again if we visit Kandy again! Thank you Mr. Anura and the staff of The Change Guesthouse for a great stay!

Room Tip: As recommended by other travelers, you may wish to request a room with hillside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Change Hotel is really nice. Amazing view from the hotel. Stuff was very friendly and helpfully. The food was delicious, the best we ate in sri lanka.
The driveway to the hotel is a little bit difficult and the hotel is too far away from the citycentre without car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We arrived to a warm welcome from our hosts who carried our cases to our clean, charming room with a balcony and stunning views, then treated us to some of the tastiest curries on our trip.
The Change was a delightful place to stay. Yes it is high up over the city so transport is needed to get to and from Kandy- dont expect to walk! However after spending our days sightseeing in the heat and noise of the city it was a relief to head to the coolness of the hills, where we could sit out on our balcony and watch the sun set over Kandy.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back with a balcony and view over the city
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We only stayed 1 night and only had breakfast here . As everyone has stated, it is out of Kandy and in a very hard to find area. The last bit of road, or track, is terrible. Rooms are good. We actually had a room with no a/c on the 2nd floor and it was fine.
I think maybe normal sheets on the bed would be a bit more acceptable for tourists. Yes, the beds are hard but no worse than what we have previously encountered. Our room was clean so I don't agree with previous comments. We had hot water but not great water pressure but again we found this a common thing in guest houses.
Yes, there are stairs but again this is very common.
This is no 5 star property, but it doesn't pretend to be. You get what you pay for. All in all, I think it's not for everyone but we had no complaints. It all depends on what you are looking for.

Room Tip: If you want a/c make sure you ask for it as not all rooms have it. Also not a back room. Get one at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Change? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Change

Address: Green Hill, Block 56, Heeressagala, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Change reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Change, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.