We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Change: A perfectly cozy Inn in Kandy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Change

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Change to your Saves list
The Change
Green Hill, Block 56, Heeressagala, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Change: A perfectly cozy Inn in Kandy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

On our 5 week trip we stayed at some larger hotels from the Ritz Carlton in Tokyo to the Cosmopolitan in Las Vegas and I have to say I found the attention and service nearly as good, and definitely more charming at The Change in Kandy.

The Change is owned and run by Anura who takes great care with each of his guest. The rooms are simple and clean, but the hotel is exactly what one would hope to find in the quiet hills of Kandy. The Change is more of an cozy Inn rather than a hotel.

Anura was so kind and generous. When he discovered we weren't able to get our laundry done at a local cleaner he insisted on taking it to his own home and washing it himself. If that doesn't say how much The Change cares about its guests I'm not sure what will.

Thank you so much to the staff and Anura for all their attention and service during our visit.

Yen & Gary
New York, NY

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    60
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
29
98
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Pain in butt to get to, but oh so worth it!!!
Stayed only one night unfortunately, whole package awesome.
Great view, service, beer, food, bed and bathroom.
Just make sure your put your tuktuk driver on the phone before leaving kandy, or arrange a pickup to save headaches :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

All over the world, hotel and guesthouse experiences are determined by the attitude and friendliness of their owners. The Change is one of these. High up, a good tuc-tuc ride, with a superb view and a very friendly owner called Anura. A pick up from the train station was no problem for him. He sent a very friendly chap called Mahesh who was our tuc-tuc driver to and from Kandy.

Very tastefully done guesthouse, and well-run. Anura takes pride in his place, which is obvious from the minute you meet him.

It's high up, a bit out of Kandy, but if you are a bit tired of tuc tuc drivers and people wanting to sell you anything and everything, The Change is a nice refuge. We didn't sample the food, which is a shame as we went to The White House which is best avoided.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aschaffenburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

.beautiful & quiet location.
.friendly & helpful people.
.excellent service.
.fresh & delicious food.
.clean & tastefully decorated rooms.
.spacious bathrooms with hot shower.
.balconies with amazing view.
.decent & relaxed atmosphere.
> the owner fulfilled his dream and leads this place with a high attitude of hospitality. this is visible in every detail. we came as travellers, but left as friends. Thanks to Anura & his team!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

A friendly guesthouse with excellent staff and lovely views. Rooms are basic but clean and functional and evening meals are very well prepared. We spent 10 days in Kandy which to be honest was about 6 days too long. The only downside to The Change is the location to get the views it has been sited on a hillside which means a walk up the north face Everest (wild exaggeration but it did feel like it at times) to get to the local tuk tuk / bus stop. Overall a lovely place but a little isolated if you want to go out every day, on the other hand if all you want to do is sit on the balcony and enjoy the views then its ideal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We spent one night here, arriving fairly late. It's a little hard to find but the manager is happy to give detailed directions along the way to guide you.

Our room was on the first floor, above the restaurant. The hotel had kindly put an additional camp bed into the room because we were travelling with our child. The room was large and spacious and nicely furnished. There was a/c but we didn't need it. Instead, I asked for an extra blanket and was told there was one in the wardrobe but there was only a valence in there which was not very warm on a cold night. The bathroom was clean but I couldn't get any hot water in the morning for a shower. Each room has access to a balcony and has a table and chairs outside the patio doors. The views are really lovely.

We found the service to be friendly and helpful and the manager seems to really want his guests to be happy. We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Dinner was very healthy and tasty, breakfast not so good.

The hotel has the potential to provide a lovely, peaceful night's sleep but because of the open plan nature of the building it depends on what's happening in the restaurant and the other rooms and what you noise sensitivity is - the whole building echoes and noise really carries. If you have quiet neighbours (we did not) then I think you could have a lovely night's sleep here, but if you don't you might be up all night (like me).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Our first stop in Sri Lanka. Got picked up from the airport by a driver organised by the hotel which made getting there after 18 hours travelling a breeze. Stayed 3 nights. Beautiful hotel and nice big rooms with balconies. Anura, the owner was genuinely helpful in helping us organise our trip to the cultural triangle andwas keen to make sure our trip went smoothly. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic every morning and dinner was some of the best we've had on our trip. The location is lovely and quiet with a great view, though this does mean it can be a bit difficult to find the first time. Only thing I think could be improved would be slightly better stocked bar and maybe more regular signs from th main rd. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Change? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Change

Address: Green Hill, Block 56, Heeressagala, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Change reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Change, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.