We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“confusions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shangri-La
Save
You added Shangri-La to your Saves list
2, Mahamaya Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
sigapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“confusions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

There can be a confusion of two places when they exist in the same premises as with hotel Castelo and Shangri la guest house in Kandy. These are like two adjoining houses where they have the same main entrance and the same path way leading to both houses.The sign boards of
both places are not indicating the directions clear enough.
During our stay in Shangri la some tourists came to Shangri la during the breakfast time complaining to the owners about this confusing situation.They had stayed In Castelo the previous night thinking it was Castelo.We patronized the restaurent of Castelo several times since it was just next door.Both places are good but completely two different concepts trying to cater to a different clientele.
When I was going through certain reviews I had the impression the same confusions happens again and again. For example Shangri la does n t have receptionists and they never have any personnel trying to sell anything to guests. We always appreciated there attentive but discrete service and attitude.They are not imposing or insisting in any way.
This year the Kandy Perehera will take place from 1 st to 10 th August. Every year there is this confusion of dates about Perehera too. Our friends had found this information during room reservations.. .

Room Tip: All together they have 7 family rooms including new Eco Lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sigapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My family friends who stayed in Kandy last month during Esala Procession had stayed in the eco lodges built recently at the yoga center of shangri la.There are 3 eco lodges and each can accommodate up to 4 people.Built on a large spice estate it is only 10 minutes from the Kandy town.Eco lodges are simple but original and unique.A new experience for travelers to try where nature is at it s best..

Room Tip: The widows of all the rooms give a view of the spice estate..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night but we really enjoyed.
The house is beautifully decorated and the owner is very helpful.
Also, the guest house is ideally situated. Close from city centre and Tooth Temple.
I highly recommend this place for your stay in Kandy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohmen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Agreat greeting from the staff , they were expecting us and our room was well prepared . Our room had great furnishings and was spotless clean , all we expected . Delicious Sri Lankan food at their restaurant , not too spicy , the breakfast was good . We found the location very convenient , close to night life and restaurants , with transport easily available , reccommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sigapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

When we travel we often see the reviews of other travellers.Most of the time we have taken these reviews and have been lucky with our choices.With all respect to other peoples good or bad reviews of the same places I wish to give my general impression on these comments.It is rare that we forget to write about bad experiences and at the same time we forget most of the times to write about our good experiances,
Reviews about Shangri la is one such example to me.I stayed with my family at Shangri la in 2010 and 2012(they had three big family rooms with extra large beds) and it always was a beautiful experience for us and our children.I want to say that Shangri la was not the only good guest house we found in Sri Lanka, but very sincerely nothing was like Shangrila in many ways.

Room Tip: room no.5 out side the main house is more spacious than the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had stayed in another guest house before we changed to here. We arrived the guest house when there was only one big room left. The room is on the ground floor. It is simple and big but there's not much space because 2 big beds and one big table take almost the whole space of the room. On each bed, there are very few pieces of bed ware: only 2 pillows and 1 bed sheet used as blanket. A mosquito net hanging on the ceiling of each bed smelled bad. The bathroom is big and clean. There is hot water but no towel rack.
We were there during the rainy days so the room was so humid the every piece of moist clothes we spread on the bed had never been dry.
The owners speak French very well. The female one gave us very helpful information about places to visit, the way to get there, shopping places. But they were not quite there when we needed them.
The location is quite far from Kandy downtown. We had to take tuk tuk each time to go to downtown. It took about 15 minutes. The place is not quite as it is a few minutes walk from the road. During the night, we still heard some noise from the car. Anyway we could have a nice view of a garden with trees and hill behind from the living room.
Breakfast is quite simple: coffee, tea, toast, milk bread, jam, butter and banana.
For information, a restaurant before the guest house provides a good service but its food is terrible! Very salty and the rice was not cooked! (Just go find a nice place in downtown like "The Pub". Salads were very nice!)
To be added: a real blanket, a towel rack and a clothes rack
to be improved: a mosquito net should be wased

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Good value for money for this guesthouse whose owners also speak French. This guesthouse is decorated, which adds some charm to it.
The room for 4 (2 double beds) was nice and decorated.
There's another room for 2 (1 double bed) on the left of the living room which has lots of charm. Had we been only 2, I would have loved to stay in this one!
Breakfast was made of 3 fresh fruits + brioche. We haven't tasted dinner. The "maid" was also very kind!
The little downside is that it is indeed rather far from the city center, but if you walk 2 minutes you can easily get a tuk-tuk on the crossroad just down the way which leads to the guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La

Address: 2, Mahamaya Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.