We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff extremely kind & welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakshmi Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lakshmi Guest House to your Saves list
Lakshmi Guest House
No. 57/1/1 Saranankara Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 205 Kandy B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Staff extremely kind & welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at Lakshmi, so much that we returned for an extra night. Staff were extremely kind & helpful, breakfast on the balony was excellent & generally experienced great hospitality. Would definitely go back again if in Kandy. Best guest house we stayed at in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
3
27
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I've read some of the reviews about the rooms and I agree, they aren't the best I've stayed in. Cockroaches in the bathroom and rats above the ceiling were annoying, I couldn't close the window and there was no hot water for most of the time. Having said that, it was quite cheap, the food was really good and the staff were so helpful that I forgave the shortcomings of my accommodation. I would go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Although it is further out like the reviews say, it is quieter and its really not that far, quiet a nice walk home if anything, only about 10 minutes max for a slow stroll, it is definitely not a disadvantage of the hotel. The manager Malik has been very helpful for us, arranged tours for very very cheap prices and been one of the best hosts we have come across. Him and his staff catered for a large group of us on several occasions, as well as when having been back in just a two, the same level of customer service was provided, which was to a very high standard.

The restaurant provides excellent home-made curry, which seems to be never ending as they keep refilling the bowls whenever they get low. They provide continental or sri lankan breakfasts which can be eaten on the balcony, which is very refreshing in the morning.

Definitely worth going!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The rooms aren't neat around the edges, i.e you can't really close the windows etc, but they're adequate. However, for the price there are better options as the location isn't great either. The best bit about this place is the great Sri Lankan breakfasts and food. They were mouthwateringly delicious and you can enjoy it overlooking the hills in the background.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I love the lonely planet guidebooks but when using the latest Sri Lanka edition (2009), you can NOT rely on the accomodations recommendations! This was recommended, but it is not clean and a little pricey for what you get. I would skip over this hotel all together. We looked at the hotels nearby and they were even more expensive. Bottom line is, Kandy will cost you more to get decent account ovations than elsewhere in central Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

It is not good place for staying in Kandy. In this city you can easily find better places in the same or lower price. I think Lonely Planet makes worse this place.

Rooms are simply and clean, bathrooms are in bad condition. Staff is friendly as long they can earn money from you. Every kind of service (transport, laundry, food in restaurant, internet, entrance tickets) is much more expensive then in other places. I know, they want to earn money but it should be done in a fair way. And what I don't like the most - they (I mean staff) were cheating me all the time.

Summing up - you can choose this place if you don't care about quality

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lakshmi Guest House, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
I am sorry to read that you have had a bad experience at our establishment - we are investigating your complaint on Trip Advisor. Please be assured that all our staff members are undergoing retraining. We would like to welcome you back to the Lakshmi Guest house so you can see for yourself all the changes that have been implemented. We have confidence that you will be pleased with the upgrades. I would mention that any entry tickets sold at our guest house are only sold for the face value of the ticket so as to assist our guests. It doesn't matter if a guest purchases a dance ticket from us or the Kandy Dance Hall, the price is the same. This same procedure applies to all tourist locations including train tickets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Quiet location, correct staff, okay kitchen. The room was simple but clean, the bed hard like stone! The bathroom i could call clean too but it was very old, with a leaking toilet, peeling paint, so they should care a bit more! We paid 2500Rs so if you travel with a small budget, that's what you get for it almost everywhere on the main travelled road - except for the leaking toilet and the stone bed then.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakshmi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakshmi Guest House

Address: No. 57/1/1 Saranankara Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lakshmi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakshmi Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.