We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine example of Sri Lankan hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Richmond House Kandy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Richmond House Kandy to your Saves list
The Richmond House Kandy
195/56 Richmond Hill Place,Heerassagala | Heeraslagala, Kandy ky20400, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A fine example of Sri Lankan hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Richmond House is a story of two sons who built their parents the palatial home they always dreamed of- one with multiple levels, palatial staircases et cetera. But when the story takes a comic turn and the parents decide they like it but don't want to live in it, the sons turn the home into a lovely little hotel. This was the story told to us by the owner of the hotel, when he came to our room to solve a minor TV problem (it was raining heavy and the signals were lost).

We landed in Colombo late at night and drove straight to Kandy. We arrived at the hotel past 2 am but were greeted with smiling, slightly sleepy faces and that fresh welcome drink they promise you. It was fresh! It seemed like the entire staff was up, awaiting our arrival.

It is this attention to detail and service that makes this hotel wonderful. The entire hotel has been put together by the owners with handpicked furniture and Sri Lankan artifacts. The two brothers alternate every fortnight and take turns in managing the hotel. Rest assured, when you want to speak with the owner, someone is always there. The young men assisting the owners are polite and courteous and take very good care of you. The breakfast is wonderful! It is in part a buffet and in part freshly made. The dinner buffet, should you choose to have it at the hotel, is delicious home made Sri Lankan food.

Our room, one of the suites was spacious and tastefully put together with Sri Lankan aesthetics. The view from the room was spectacular! The bathroom/toilet needed a little fixing and I won't be surprised if it was corrected soon after.

What we enjoyed the most was our conversation with Mr. Upali, the owner. In a former life he was a war correspondent reporting from the war zone in the North. His impressions and experience can give you wonderful insight into recent Sri Lankan history, if that stuff interests you.

Please note: the hotel isn't downtown Kandy. It is quite a drive up the hill (the price to pay for that view) and the entrance to the hotel is a short but very steep hike. They use their own tuktuks to ferry your luggage up the 20 metres. Yeah, that steep!

Room Tip: We'd recommend getting one of the two suite rooms, slightly pricier than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    110
    38
    14
    3
See reviews for
92
207
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

There is much to commend this hotel despite a few problems. We stayed for 3 nights and were upgraded to a very spacious suite with a balcony and access to a large outside shared terrace. The entrance area and dining room are really lovely and the rooms beautifully furnished. The all male staff could not be more attentive in a discrete manner, though a little quiet. Breakfast was disappointing, often not hot enough and with no lovely surprises. Dinner was good though only if you like curry, with fish, chicken and vegetable curries more or less the same each day; plentiful. The manager was really helpful and the staff fixed the ac promptly. Being high above the city it was beautifully fresh at night. It's too far to walk from the city, a tuk-tuk was only 500rps (£2.50).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Have just stayed in Richmond House Hotel for a brief, two-night visit to Kandy,could scarcely be better as it is within the city limits and not in the city We got some great information from the manager (owner?) when we arrived who was concerned to help us spend our money wisely in kandy.The hotel is about 15mnts tuktuk drive from kandy city or from kandy station cost you something like 500 to 650 sri lankan rupees.This place is so nice so instead of 1 night we stayed here for another extra night.rooms are clean and nice only the balcony was wet due to the rain,but the view from the room was great.Foods ,staff,service is maybe one of the best in kandy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Richmond House is an excellent alternative to the big hotels around Kandy. We were given one of the suites as an unasked upgrade and overall more than satisfied with our stay, the staff is extremely helpful and always standby. The amazing views of the hills around Kandy are absolutely stunning and an excellent addition to this great place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milazzo, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We recently spent a week at this hotel and it was one of the best vacations we've ever had, in large part because of the fantastic staff and amenities. The hotel goes out of it's way to exhibit an Asia Spirit and genuine welcome to our home feel. A definite romantic getaway and children friendly as well. Lot's to see and do! I've never been so happy to sign the bill at the end of our stay, because it was worth absolutely every penny. There is no doubt that we'll be back again, and hopefully soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Sri Lanka`s 5 star hotels are somewhat all the same in terms of great service, attention to detail, small rooms and high prices. The rules has been truly broken here at the richmond house.

We visited richmond house for 2 nights in mid oct, The result was fully satisfactions. very large rooms with great ceiling height and lots of windows and not to forget the great views of kandy city from the rooms and common areas. What really impressed us though was the very high quality service that they provided as a 5* hotel, beautiful interior decorations and old furniture's and great bathrooms. To me they are more like luxury house and I can't wait to go back. Stunning views, lovely people, great location.only bad comment is that on the way to the hotel is very narrow and steep,surely not for elderly people.but for young couple`s like us its a private paradise.

Room Tip: A suite (king`s Suite)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Richmond House was the last stop on our trip around Sri Lanka and it was an amazing way to finish our holiday. Our suite (#1) was breathtaking - absolutely enormous, with a lots of private balconies and amazing views.all the staff at the hotel were so helpful and always standby. Our stay at RH was a highlight of our trip and we would definitely recommend it to anyone traveling to Kandy. Contrary to other reports, we found the this house so lovely place to escape the heat and madness of cities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Richmond House Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond House Kandy

Address: 195/56 Richmond Hill Place,Heerassagala | Heeraslagala, Kandy ky20400, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kandy
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond House Kandy is located on the beautiful and picturesque hill country, Kandy, Sri Lanka. Experience and enjoy Sri Lankan smilefull services and hospitality...Just fifteen minutes drive from the second biggest city of Sri Lanka, Kandy, The Richmond House located at the cool climate hill country area....The Richmond House Kandy provides you the luxury stay at the colonial city, Kandy. All our services depends on your request. Please feel free to communicate with us for your wonderful stay at this hotel. 8 Suite Rooms contain ensuite, picture windows and private balconies overlooking the hill country. Offering all our suites amenities, including colonial style bed, 32inch flat tv, bath tub with hot shower, and other facilities which makes you stay comfortable... A/C, King size colonial and modern bed,free wifi,full english breakfast, 32inch flat TV, Hot water, Bath tub, Private balcony with panoramic view, Telephone(local and International), 24hr room service,mini bar,cable channels,tea maker, and etc., Eight luxury rooms, Restaurants with panoramic view, Internet, Bar, TV room area, Villa, Private luxury vehicle to go on tours and one day trips, Private meetings and function facilities, Only 15 minutes to the city of Kandy and to the temple.on the hills of misty kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Richmond House Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond House Kandy Hotel Kandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Richmond House Kandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.