We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Wow'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Richmond House Kandy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Richmond House Kandy to your Saves list
The Richmond House Kandy
195/56 Richmond Hill Place,Heerassagala | Heeraslagala, Kandy ky20400, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“'Wow'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Richmond House was the last stop on our trip around Sri Lanka and it was an amazing way to finish our holiday. Our suite (#1) was breathtaking - absolutely enormous, with a lots of private balconies and amazing views.all the staff at the hotel were so helpful and always standby. Our stay at RH was a highlight of our trip and we would definitely recommend it to anyone traveling to Kandy. Contrary to other reports, we found the this house so lovely place to escape the heat and madness of cities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    93
    32
    13
    2
See reviews for
80
183
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have stayed at the big hotels - Earls Regency, Amaya Hills etc - in the past and decided we'd like a more B+B feel this time. Richmond House is quirky, a little eccentric and a great alternative to the big hotels, plus it is very reasonable. We traveled with another couple and had the two suites. Both are large, well appointed and have traditional furniture. The dining room is terrific - particularly the table on the balcony overlooking Kandy - and the food was very good. Staff are friendly, always smiling and manage everything efficiently in a way that looks casual and effortless. Furnishings throughout are interesting, eclectic and complete what is a relaxing oasis just outside the madness and chaos of Kandy. We particularly liked having our luggage brought up the steep drive by the hotel's tuk tuk!

Room Tip: Suites enjoy afternoon and evening breezes with the balcony doors left open, plus they're set ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

In view of the very many positive reports on Tripadvisor, this choice proved extremely disappointing. The staff are pleasant and the view from the top is excellent, but that is it! The accommodation is relatively expensive for what it is, and certainly not worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is certainly well appointed , with well meaning staff but very quirky under the glossy facade. Many things didn't work but once pointed out to the staff they were fixed quickly, for example our malfunctioning shower head was replaced very quickly. SO many light switches that even after a couple of days I couldn't figure what they were for. I feel the hotel could pay some attention to basics eg our bed sheets were very old and like sandpaper. You make allowances in more remote places but hotels should not advertise wi fi unless it works throughout not just in certain hotel areas. Some very simple adjustments could make this hotel nicer ,eg towels, sheets The hotel room had a lovely breeze but we couldn't keep the door opened as there was no hook to secure the door and it slammed back and forth.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell all the rooms have a good view but ask for a view to the valley and moutains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The stunning balcony view is the sole reason this hotel has such a high ranking. The view does have a wow factor, both daytime and if you're lucky, during sunset. The staff are also worthy of a positive mention - friendly and helpful - and the buffet dinner was okay too. The rooms are marginally above guest house standard and certainly not worth the mid/high end hotel price they charge. Funny enough the conversation during breakfast with two other couples was how on earth did this hotel get a top 3 ranking. The conclusion is that reviewers must be scoring the place 5 stars for the amazing view, which is so good that you forget its many negatives. I'd give this hotel 5 for the view, 2 for the room and value. Overall 3.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is an excellent place.yes it it far from the town.will take 15 min from the town and cost 500lkr.
But once you entered to the hotel staff welcomes you with welcome drinks.and very smooth check in.room was very clean and comfortable.Dinner is not bad with few srilankan curries and western food.worth for the price!!! specially the staff of richmond house they are really excellent.they always ready to help you.it was a excellent 3 days stay at richmond house and we really enjoyed our stay.special thanks to the staff see you again.

Room Tip: We stayed room no 3 (good view!!!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel location is slightly out of the way but that meant it had fantastic views, the hotel has its own tuk tuk which can whizz you in to town within about 10 minutes so it is not a problem.

Rooms were comfortable, spacious but a little dated but clean with everything you could need.

The food was nowhere near as good as other hotels we stayed in so we ate elsewhere on our 2nd night.

This hotel was ok but not as special as it looks from the grand reception & entrance.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Richmond House Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond House Kandy

Address: 195/56 Richmond Hill Place,Heerassagala | Heeraslagala, Kandy ky20400, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#9 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond House Kandy is located on the beautiful and picturesque hill country, Kandy, Sri Lanka. Experience and enjoy Sri Lankan smilefull services and hospitality...Just fifteen minutes drive from the second biggest city of Sri Lanka, Kandy, The Richmond House located at the cool climate hill country area....The Richmond House Kandy provides you the luxury stay at the colonial city, Kandy. All our services depends on your request. Please feel free to communicate with us for your wonderful stay at this hotel. 8 Suite Rooms contain ensuite, picture windows and private balconies overlooking the hill country. Offering all our suites amenities, including colonial style bed, 32inch flat tv, bath tub with hot shower, and other facilities which makes you stay comfortable... A/C, King size colonial and modern bed,free wifi,full english breakfast, 32inch flat TV, Hot water, Bath tub, Private balcony with panoramic view, Telephone(local and International), 24hr room service,mini bar,cable channels,tea maker, and etc., Eight luxury rooms, Restaurants with panoramic view, Internet, Bar, TV room area, Villa, Private luxury vehicle to go on tours and one day trips, Private meetings and function facilities, Only 15 minutes to the city of Kandy and to the temple.on the hills of misty kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Richmond House Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond House Kandy Hotel Kandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Richmond House Kandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.