We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Bridget's Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Bridget's Guest House
No 125, Sri Sumangala Mawatha, | Asgiriya, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 173 Kandy B&B and Inns
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A home away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We headed to Pippi's guesthouse after a few days travelling through the Cultural Triangle and found St Bridget's to be our home away from home. Our rooms were modest but clean and comfortable. The price was reasonable but the breakfast hit the spot - fresh hot toast and a pot of tea. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to make our stay a success. We would recommend this guesthouse to any traveller and we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    61
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
75
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011 via mobile

We arrived here because our driver knew this place. We were a little sceptic because he pushed us a little bit to come to this place, but it exceeded our expectations! The rooms are not so big and the bed is a bit harder than the Hilton, but the atmosphere is soooo good! They really make you feel part of the family! the rooms are very clean, there is hot water, all you need for a good night. And the food? Well, you cannot choose from a menu, but they serve the best food we've had in Sri Lanka. I would definitely come back here. And if I would have to choose between this and the Hilton, it would be this guest house!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

I booked a triple room for a day for me and my family at st Bridget s for our stay in Kandy.My kids loved been at st bridge ts since it has a nice garden for kids to play and a swing too. My family liked been in this guest house and we stayed for another 2 more nights.
Pip's food is the Best we had in Sri Lanka. It was tailor made for us.And i was surprised when we got the bill. She is such a kind lady. She gave our 4 year old daughter meals free of charge.We find it rare in a world where everything decides on money.
Mr Pipi and Sri (Husband) helped us a lot to see the best in Kandy.
The rooms were upto our expectations. It had an attach bathroom with hot shower (i should say: very clean toilets ) a mosquito net and a fan. and also other room furniture.
The staff here are very helpful and caring.
We had a good nights sleep because in the night we felt that we were in the middle of a jungle.(Its noise free )
I am recommending this guesthouse to everyone who see s this.
You will be relaxed in this small retreat.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

I stayed two nights at St .Bridget’s and loved my stay here. The open terrace on the first floor was my favorite. The room was worth the price i paid. The food was brilliant and each day was a surprise since there are set menus for each day.Mrs pipi is a kind hearted person and gave me good guidance in planning my trip.
Overall a good place to be if you are looking for a good place for an affordable price.
I walked to the town everyday since it was just 15 minutes away.
Do visit this guest house.....You will be satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night during our 15 days trip(35$/night). The outside area and building are more pleasant than rooms interior. The shower and WC area are extremely narrow and small, but hot water is available. The room is not big but quite enough place for 2, minimum of furniture, mosquito net available. Very nice terrace on the 2nd floor with no walls from 2 sides that makes access to the garden around. Here you can sit and read books, magazines available and spent less time in your room. The owners are nice couple, who live in the nearby old cottage. Do not expect to obtain a menu with standart list of dishes and prices, you have to discuss your order and after that price will be billed, but the prices are average and do not exceed the expectations. The place is very calm and green

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at St Bridgets early in March for 3 days whilst visiting Kandy. The guesthouse itself is about 15mins walk from Kandy centre and nicely tucked in the forest away from the noise and dirt of Kandy itself.

Our hostess Mrs Pipi is a seriously fantastic cook and will help with organising travel/drivers etc. There is plenty of space at the guesthouse with a very pleasant terrace and small balconies in the rooms. The large garden and surrounding jungle give the place a wonderul 'colonial' feel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St Bridget's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Bridget's Guest House

Address: No 125, Sri Sumangala Mawatha, | Asgiriya, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Bridget's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added St Bridget's Guest House to your Saves list