We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nature Walk Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Nature Walk Resort to your Saves list
Nature Walk Resort
9 Sanghamitta Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I must say this is the best lace I stayed while volunteering in Sri Lanka for 3 months! Me and my friend who is also a volunteer enjoyed every single detail about this wonderful place. Everything was clean, fantastic service, the view was beautiful and I am definately recommending this place to everyone going to Kandy. I will be letting all other volunteers know about this lovely place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    155
    56
    19
    5
See reviews for
57
183
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The accommodation was spacious, clean and very comfortable, with rooms overlooking forest and a valley leading to the main (noisy) centre of Kandy.
Great meals and good service, with the dining room overlooking the valley.
Easy access to local Sri Lankan dancing, fire walking and the Temple of the Tooth Relic.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We would definetely recommend this hotel to anybody that goes to Kandy! The staff was really nice, the view was incredible and the room was spacy and nice. The hotel as well as its restaurant were both really really good specially comparing how cheap it was. The restaurant's terrace an excellent place to spot the monkeys in the morning :)

Probablement le meilleur hôtel ou on a rester a Sri Lanka. Le personnel est très sympa, la vue est incroyable et notre chambre était grande et lumineuse. Rapport qualité prix de l'hôtel et son restaurant excellent. La terrasse de resto un endroit idéal pour photographier les singes le matin :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night. It's located on a hill about a 20 minute walk from the temple of the tooth around the lake (not recommended to walk there at night for female solo travellers).
200 LKR Max in a Tuc Tuc from main station.
Staff were friendly and received a very warm welcome.
Rooms were really good, but the price was relatively high for Sri Lanka.
It's nice and quiet in the evening and doesn't suffer with pollution as much as the rest of Kandy.
It has a great view, but it's not a nature resort in my view.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

no longer a nature walk with the houses around him where some of them seem to be newly constructed. honestly i would go for somewhere else in the middle of kandy instead of choosing this place that is a little bit remote and is not really a "nature walk".

to be fair, their view is good, the service and the breakfast are good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angmering, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Booked a twin room and was given a double. When we pointed this out they told us they had nothing else available so had to share bed with friend. The room was clean and once i had killed all the mozzies it was adequate. Dinner time was a farce. We ordered a lime and soda and think this must have caused mass confusion as we had to wait an age for our drinks whilst other customers who had come in after us were served their wine and beer no problem and way before we received our drinks. Out of all the places we stayed at this was probably the least of our favourites. Not much to write home about and i was happy to leave the next day. Think the staff are seriously lacking in training and to be honest looked somewhat clueless

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I booked this accommodation for 2 nights as part of a tour 6 months before our arrival. Since then the hotel has been extended and I was looking forward to a room as shown in the photos.
BE WARNED - There are 18 rooms. 2 with private balcony, 4 with shared, 6 with view of the rock at the back, 2 located behind the restaurant on the top floor and 4 with no view at all. In fact they are small internal rooms with no decoration and a large patio size window onto the lobby area where people sit and chat etc. Terrible when you are trying to get to sleep especially when the a/c you have paid for does not work (room 10)
Naturally I complained on arrival, but was told by the owner if I did not like it go somewhere else. The manager could see how distressed i was and promised a better room for the second night. We were moved to number 18 top floor at back of restaurant.
Yes this room was bigger part of the new extension had painted walls and the a/c worked. Again little privacy the room came out onto the restaurant. If you woke in the morning and wanted some fresh air you had to get dressed first otherwise everyone eating their breakfast would get a full view of you in your boxers.
I have previously written about 30 reviews for TripAdvisor and pleased to say very favourable. It saddens me to write a poor review but feel it necessary to avoid anyone else been palmed off with a large storage area barley fit for a driver to sleep in. (Mine went elsewhere)
As for sleep quality this was very poor. Call to pray about 5.30 followed by loud singing. Avoid Saturday nights local lads have disco loud music again impossible to sleep.
I have added the photos of our internal room so you are able to make your own judgement.

Room Tip: Make sure you know what room you are getting at time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nature Walk Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Walk Resort

Address: 9 Sanghamitta Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Nature Walk Resort located on the edge of the jungle just 10 minutes walk from the center of Kandy. Relax in a clean and peaceful environment and enjoy the breathtaking views over the forest from your balcony where you can observe monkeys and a wide variety of birds and butterflies. All rooms are ensuite and the restaurant serves delicious food throughout the day. An internet service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Nature Walk Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Walk Hotel Kandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nature Walk Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.