We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet, nice hotel outside Kandy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Randholee Luxury Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Randholee Luxury Resort to your Saves list
Randholee Luxury Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heerassagala Rd | Bowalawaththa, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very quiet, nice hotel outside Kandy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Über quiet hotel up the hillside from Kandy. Big rooms, with great views (select hillside) and good bathrooms - albeit a bit basic by western standards.

Has great views, but not a simple trip without a driver. Cost 800 Rupees for an evening tuk tuk from the centre of Kandy, and took about 20 minutes. 1000 (without a barter) from Chilled Garden Bar and Restaurant.

I'd say its nice for a couple of nights as a couple, and longer as a family.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    89
    35
    12
    14
See reviews for
55
112
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

You must make sure you stay in the hillside rooms the views are great. We had been booked into a garden view room and on our second morning we noticed there were vacant hillside rooms and so we arranged a move; well worth the extra! The hotel feels luxurious; the small size makes it seem more intimate. The restaurant was very good for both dinner and breakfast. The staff were very friendly and efficient which made your stay there comfortable. The bathrooms were clean and pristine although you needed to be fairly agile to get into the shower which was in the bath and screened off. A step was provided to get in and out but you needed to be careful. Describing itself as a luxury resort meant the price of the buffet was the highest we paid in Sri Lanka and the laundry prices were high in comparison to the other hotels we stayed in. Overall a good hotel in a lovely location.

Room Tip: Hillside Room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Nice Small hotel far from Kandy center.
The superior rooms are big and well appointed but best of all have a beautiful balcony overlooking the swimming pool and the valley.
Breakfast and dinner a little scarce.
All in all good stay and very kind service.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra 10 USD a night for the the Deluxe room for the wonderful balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

An outstanding hotel by any standard, with great views over Kandy. The food was some of the best we tasted in Sri Lanka, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Quiet and tidy, will stay there again when in Kandy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place got a nice panoramic view of the Hunnasgiriya beautiful scenery. Hotel is suits for Honeymooners because of its so calm and quiet . Small luxury hotel clean and tidy. You can get a cool swim in small pool as well as a good relaxation near the pool lay down chairs

Room Tip: Hunnasgiriya view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alyth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Overall we stayed in 4 hotels in Sri Lanka from 21st to 29 Jan 2013 and this hotel was without the doubt the best. It starts the moment you walk through the door - the staff and management are brilliant & we cannot thank them enough for our stay, the views from the hotel are breath taking, youi have to see them to believe them....the room we had was just wonderful and overall this hotel out stripped our expectation. If, and hopefully when, we go back to Sri Lanka this would be our hotel of choice.

The food was also great and the best we had during our 10 day stay we had no issues - they also have a fantastic gym and it is well worth a visit.

Our only regret is that we only stayed 2 days –congratulations to all the staff and management for making our stay so memorable

Visit this hotel – you will not be disappointed – it just brilliant

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view and you will be not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Randholee Luxury Resort.I booked this Resort through a Travel Agent from INDIA for 2 nights.This resort is very good ., best situated for people who like to relax and have a peaceful stay. Restaurant and Swimming pool is very good,we stayed in a NON VIEW Room., we are not completely satisfied with the room and the location of the room,we felt like we were staying in a outhouse of the Resort.,anyway bed was comfortable to sleep which is actually very important after having a full day tour.. Staffs are very helpful and gave us warm welcome with a drink. Buffet Breakfast was good.Overall It was a good stay.,

Room Tip: Please ask or Book for Mountain View Rooms Only..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Randholee Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randholee Luxury Resort

Address: Heerassagala Rd | Bowalawaththa, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Randholee Luxury Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Randholee Luxury Resort is nestled in the beautiful Mount Pleasant range in Kandy, Sri Lanka. The panoramic view from our resort is about the best that one could experience in Kandy. Seclusion, space, and privacy—our resort offers all these, making it the ideal choice when visiting Kandy. Decked in Kandyan décor, our well-appointed rooms offer its own private balcony and spacious bathrooms equipped with luxury comforts for all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Randholee Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randholee Luxury Hotel Kandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Randholee Luxury Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.