We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place in Kandy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Randholee Luxury Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Randholee Luxury Resort to your Saves list
Randholee Luxury Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heerassagala Rd | Bowalawaththa, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Amazing place in Kandy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Fantastic service, exquisite food, amazing location. Attention to detail was outstanding. My wife and I stayed there for once nite.We were not happy initially as view from our suite was not good.They compensated it by treating us like king.This is an experience like no other. That candle light dinner was mind blowing. Still "Mai Shayar to Nahi" is humming in my ear.It remembered me my bday we celebrated as Burj Al Arab.Once you've had a taste, your going to want more. Manager himself was at our service. He surprised us by giving very nice handicraft as a gift. Overall I will say outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for full mountain view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugathrandholee, General Manager at Randholee Luxury Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you very much and we appreciate your comments over your memorable stay at Randholee Luxury Resort & Spa. It was another experience for us to satisfy guests who were unhappy over the room which had been reserved for them by their Travel Agent. Thank you very much for your patience to enjoy the hospitality of Randholee.

We wish you all the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    89
    35
    12
    14
See reviews for
56
112
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel was our second option,as we did not get any booking in Amaya hills. We were skeptical about our stay till the time we reached the hotel n received an overwhelming warm welcome. The staff was friendly, rooms were spacious and the best was the pool side dinning.
Cheers,
Pooja n Prateek.

Room Tip: Pool View rooms have a beautiful view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Positives: great view; great room; fantastic srilankan breakfast; beautiful pool; great reception staff with courteous attitude

What sucks: The bell boys do not leave the room till u tip them even if u have no change having just reached srilanka.. They hang around like leeches..They give towels in installments with a fake smile and try to give u a feeling - they actually doing a great favour; despite telling them that their help is not required with luggage for 7 feet distance when u have actually carried them over 100 ft distance..they want to help..not with intent to help but for a tip.. A service guy in the restaurant ( fair guy) actually has the audacity to scratch his groin in the restaurant..; Snakes crawling near the pool side ( hope that was one off)..

Overall its good sans the bell boys..

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugathrandholee, General Manager at Randholee Luxury Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear valued guest, thank you very much for focusing our attention towards the attitude of the room boys ( not the bell boys ) which is quite surprising but we assure to take immediate necessary actions to change such attitudes if there is any. The reptile ( not a snake ) who was crawling is an innocent familiar character and not venomous .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was the second hotel where I stayed during my SL trip in Oct '12. Decided to stay here for 1 night after reading decent reviews in TripAdvisor and boy it was really great. My congratulations to the hotel management for keeping up the good work...
Below is my review of the hotel.

- Overall Rating : 9/10 (1 being the worst and 10 being the best)
- Room Type : Standard

(+)
• A great, small and cozy hotel nestled on a hill.
• Nice clean and chic rooms with very good bathrooms and fittings.
• Great setting of the bed decorated with a painting.
• Big balconies with very good view.
• Sleep quality is very good.
• Food & Drink quality is very good.
• Very nice, polite, helpful and smiling staff.
• Excellent pool and spectacular view from the pool (overlooking Kandy town).
• Tea/coffee options provided in room.
• TV and mini bar provided in room.
• The local live band which played a variety of music during dinner was really great and made the stay more enjoyable.


(-)
• A little away from Kandy town (approx 15 kms).
• No dental kits provided in rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugathrandholee, General Manager at Randholee Luxury Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Sir, thank you very much for your encouraging reviews of your stay with us. We felt that our efforts for satisfying guests were fruitful when we were going through your excellent comments which are immensely help to boost the morale of our team. You have discovered hospitality of Randholee and excellent service of our staff. Randholee team welcomes your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during our honeymoon and loved it! The pool is spectacular and the room was lovely, it looked like it had been newly decorated. I found the food spectacular. Yes, there was limited choice of a set menu - but there was always something I wanted and the quality was superb. The only slight faults with the hotel are that there's no hairdryer or mirrors in the room (the only mirror is in the bathroom). Therefore, as a wife on a honeymoon, it's hard to enjoy getting ready for a nice, romantic meal. But this wasn't enough for me to knock any marks off the rating!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugathrandholee, General Manager at Randholee Luxury Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
It's our pleasure to hear that you had a memorable honeymoon at Randholee. We honored your humble appreciation of our infinity pool, lovely rooms and spectacular food. We know these reviews are more helpful for our staff to develop their professionalism and the standard of service.

We are very sorry to inform you that we have plenty of hairdryers at hotel it has been mentioned in the Information Directory that the hairdryers are available at House Keeping we regret and apologize for you were not informed by our GRO when you were checking.

We pay our gratitude to you for your great understanding on few of our mistakes. We wish you a happy wedded life and welcome your return to Randholee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights during the trip that we have organized this summer in Sri Lanka. We booked the hotel directly by the hotel web site.
The resort is beautiful, the hotel is built in a very scenic location: in the hill with a scenic view of Kandy and of neighbouring mountains.
We booked a deluxe mountain view room: a large king bed room with balcony with kandyan paintings and rich mahogany furniture and… monkeys playing out of the window….unbelievable!!!
The room was new, cleaning and well kept.
The hotel is not in town but this we knew, for the sight of the city it has been useful the car rented in Colombo.
The breakfast both local and international, has been good with a nice fruit and sweet corner. I cannot express my comments about the restaurant: we have always eaten in town.
The SPA was under renovation but the infinity pool is in a very nice scenery.
The whole personnel of the hotel has been polite and efficient: an hotel to be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugathrandholee, General Manager at Randholee Luxury Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We appreciate your genuine reviews on Randholee and it reflects the out come of the hard work of our Randholee Team. It is an encouragement for them to work with more dedication and more commitment. We are thankful to you for spending more time to evaluate the good side of Randholee rather than the silly mistakes to motivate our team. We wondered how you spend time to find all the minute details. We appreciate your good quality of giving the appreciation of good work have our staff to satisfy our guests.

We wish you all the very best and eagerly expect your next visit and stay at Randholee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel during our brief tour of Sri Lanka. It is set upon the hill in Kandy with very nice views. I believe this is a newish hotel being used by the tour operator as the usual one was under renovation during our stay.
The view from the hotel is lovely with a small infinity pool. But the hotel itself has not really much else to offer. The corridor smelt constantly musty and smoky. Our room was somewhat old and needed refurb. Bathroom again needed a spruce of life. Did have a nice balcony.
Food for breakfast was below average compared to the other places we stayed in Sri Lanka. Dinner at the hotel had very limited choices and all western. I asked if they had any Sri Lankan food and thy did offer me a curry which when served was Luke warm at best.
This overall is not a luxury resort as advertised and our expectations were not met.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Randholee Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randholee Luxury Resort

Address: Heerassagala Rd | Bowalawaththa, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Randholee Luxury Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Randholee Luxury Resort is nestled in the beautiful Mount Pleasant range in Kandy, Sri Lanka. The panoramic view from our resort is about the best that one could experience in Kandy. Seclusion, space, and privacy—our resort offers all these, making it the ideal choice when visiting Kandy. Decked in Kandyan décor, our well-appointed rooms offer its own private balcony and spacious bathrooms equipped with luxury comforts for all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Randholee Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randholee Luxury Hotel Kandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Randholee Luxury Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.