We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if possible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Devon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Devon to your Saves list
Hotel Devon
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   51, Ampitiya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 227 Kandy B&B and Inns
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Avoid if possible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We recently stayed at the Devon Hotel in Kandy. It was booked through our travel agent..
Its furnishing although looks recent and fairly new, its in a sloppy shape. There is pungent smell from the kitchens as well as the unwelcome smell of heavy alcohol as you enter the hotel as the bar is right at its entrance.
We were here in peak wedding season thus there was loud music till late at night making it impossible to turn in early after a long day of sightseeing. The breakfast was okay but stick to the freshly made stuff, the breads seem fresh but some look dubious.
The wifi is available only in the lobby and disconnects easily.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    34
    38
    15
    13
See reviews for
18
42
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at Hotel Devon. The hotel was chosen by our travel agent and it was just unpleasant.

The first room we were given was spacious but filthy. There were black molds everywhere. The blankets were very smelly. The room was furnished from 1970s and I don't think they were cleaned since then. The room was extremely damp and hot. It took a few hours for the air condition to work properly and cool down the room. The air condition had 2 options- 15 degrees or 21 degrees! It was so cold at night with the air condition on but too hot without it. None of us got any sleep as too uncomfortable.

We changed the room on our second night. Even though we only saw about max 10 other guests and it was off peak season, the receptionist insisted the hotel was fully booked! After complaints, we were given a different room. Less mold, less smelly room but the same problem with the air condition. We were sweating like pigs in the room. Another sleepless night.

Sri Lankan breakfast was good though. Western breads and cereals were stale though. Stick to curry if you can! Nice view of the hills from the breakfast room.

Wifi was unreliable. Only works in the reception area but it gets disconnected frequently.
Staff were unhelpful.

I do NOT recommend this hotel. Avoid at all cost!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have been many times this hotel with my customers most of guest had good time. nice rooms with comfortable bed and foods was good. free wi-fi is also available in lobby area. But I think need the refurbishment in bath rooms. some very good staff but should be good management but it is value for money.

Room Tip: second floor corner better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

After a Long Branch visit we come to this place bit late. After a phone call on our way telling that we need dinner, they were kind enough not to close the restaurant. Nice room with a comfortable bed . Food was grate too. Value for money. Free wi-fi is also available in the lobby area. Need some refurbishment in wash rooms.

Room Tip: Need some refurbishment in wash rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

For those of you looking for value for money this hotel is just the ticket, overlooked by banana plants and countryside. The Dhal curry and English options coupled with friendly staff make it a comfortable base to see the rest of Kandy. In the evening the hotel lay on a buffet with tables decorated fit for a wedding and a mixture of fine cuts of meats and salads. The Carrot Halwa from North India is worth a try for dessert.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostrevor
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This Hotel in Kandy is definitely due for a major refurbishment. Mouldy walls that have been roughly plastered over, dingy lift, bathroom fittings that are due for a major clean. Once again my pet hate - shower over the bath, and the drain in the bath takes about 10 minutes to empty after the shower. Avoid the restaurant, had one of the worst curries in my long history of eating curries - the beef was so tough that the knife would not even cut it. Breakfast Buffet a total loss, all of the chafing dishes were stone cold making most of the food inedible. How it gets good ratings is a mystery to me, I certainly would not recommend it to anyone, and will talk to the tour company that organised the two night stay here, to make sure no other unsuspecting tourist is caught here. Writing this in the foyer as the very slow Wi-Fi only works here, but have to stop now as little bugs are getting me in the sofa.

Room Tip: Find another Hotel, its not worth the trouble to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were booked into this hotel through a tour rep due to an over night visit to Kandy from our Kalutara base (just me and my husband). Arrived at 6pm and first impressions were good, the lobby was lovely BUT then we were shown to our room. It was a disgrace; exceptionally basic, but also very dirty, we then spoke to our rep who asked the management for another room, which was just as bad. However, at that stage we decided to make the best out of a bad deal and just get on with it and went to eat in the restaurant (in with the price). This was a bad decision, food exceptionally poor, service abismal and staff were very rude - I just cried - the trip was ruined! At 8pm called our rep and told him we wanted to leave (we were scared to actually sleep in the rooms in case the cockroaches were disturbed), he said we would miss the 2nd day our tour, but we weren't bothered. By the time we set off it was midnight and had a 4 hour drive in front of us - a nightmare trip, but so much better and safer than staying in this hotel! AVOID at all costs

Room Tip: avoid at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Devon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Devon

Address: 51, Ampitiya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Devon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Devon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Devon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.