We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Mansion to your Saves list
The Mansion
213, Kurunegala Road, | Aladeniya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel located in a quiet place, away from the business of Kandy town. I had a party organised at The Mansion and the service received was excellent and the food was delicious. The Manager and the staff were very friendly and catered to all our needs.
If you like to relax in quiet and tranquil surroundings, don't miss this place. I would highly recommend
it

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    121
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
82
132
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

this was the first time i had visited this hotel for a function i have been here before it was even considered of being converted to a hotel and a few other times the food was great and the set up was great still maintained to its ancient glamor

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The four of us had a great stay here for one night as we were touring this part of Sri Lanka, and we would have loved to have stayed longer. The food was lovely and the hotel staff were friendly and attentive.
The rooms were large, spacious and clean and the bathrooms were modern with rain showers and free standing bath tub.
It was so peaceful and calm here, wish we had tine for a swim!.. We will define aptly be coming back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I decided to stay at The Mansion as much as possible but unfortunately I found availability for one night only. I was staying in Kandy in another hotel and then I moved here early in the morning...deciding not to move away from here for any reason. The house is just a dream, the staff is very nice and friendly and will make you really feel at home.
The room was very big and comfortable, full of charme and ambience since most of the furniture is still original. I also dined at the restaurant, in what was probably the ball room, and it was like being in a fantastic dream.
This was the nicest surprise I had in Sri Lanka and I highly reccommend this hotel. It isquite far from Kandy but should you still be willing to go there (since onceyou are here you will forget everything), the hotel will arrange you a tuk tuk for a very reasonable price, that will take you anywhere you want.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

This place was great from start to finish... After emailing the hotel prior to arrival to request a special room for our anniversary, my partner and I were not disappointed. The room was large, elegant with a modern bathroom.

The hotel itself is outside kandy, however we saw this as a positive aspect and enjoyed the tuktuk journey in through local towns and villages. The hotel is grand with a lovely setting and grounds, but feels homely and staff treat you as if you are the only guests staying there. The breakfast is good and we enjoyed dinner on a couple of occasions which was also nice. We stayed for three nights over New Year's Eve and attended the mansion's New Year's Eve party which was a fun evening lit by lovely lighting around the pool.

We used the mansion as a base for exploring the area and whilst there hired drivers to visit the cultural triangle and pinnewala elephant sanctuary which was great. The drivers the hotel provided seemed reasonable and were knowledgeable which helped make our days out more insightful.

Overall, we found the mansion to be a peaceful elegant place which was a little bit rough around the edges. The staff are exemplary, friendly and do everything they can to make your stay special. If returning to the kandy area we would definitely stay at the mansion again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

+ the very friendly and serviable hosts, those smiles are difficult to forget, a grand house, exquisit antiques, tasteful decoration, beautiful views, total peace, a good swimming pool, I regret not having tasted the cuisine

- this house is 40 min by tuk tuk from Kandy. It is perfect if you have a driver, not if you are travelling by train and bus. Setting of in the morning, your are already exausted and blackened with diesel fumes when you arrive at your destination.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The house itself is worth the trip. Extremely good value for money looking at this historical place.
However, I would recommend it more for couples than family with young kids. Great place for people looking for a quiet place (our kids were not so quiet so we felt we were disturbing the others). We should have stayed 2 nights rather than one. I definitely recommend this hotel.
A bit far from Kandy (20 min).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion

Address: 213, Kurunegala Road, | Aladeniya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kandy
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion was built in the 1920s by Punchi Banda Nugawela, Diyawadana Nilame, of the "Temple of The Tooth' in Kandy. He was a chieftain in Kandy who was believed to have lived a lavish lifestyle during the early 20th century. The designer of this architectural masterpiece is fully European and the architect still remains a mystery. In 1999 Mr. Rathnapala Marawanagoda, the last resident, decided to convert the villa into a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your The Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Hotel Kandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.