We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place on top of a hill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Mansion to your Saves list
The Mansion
213, Kurunegala Road, | Aladeniya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming place on top of a hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This place was most charming. It is a small family-owned place, what used to be a real mansion. While there are obvious signs of age, it is this age that gives the place character. More character is provided by the thoughtful service by its staff, particularly the manager Senarath. Pulasthi, one of the co-owners, takes the time to converse with the guests, too. They also have a collection of art.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    120
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
82
132
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed at the Mansion only for a night, but will definitely go back again! For people who appreciate old colonial bungalows, The Mansion is a must. Well maintained, the friendly and efficient staff add to the charm. It is 10km away from Kandy, but our taxi had no problem finding the place.
Food served was good and we could request for a local breakfast rather than continental. We booked a taxi through the hotel to visit Sigiriya and further north, and even though it was quite last minute, they were able to find a taxi and driver for us.
Well worth the drive out of Kandy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad, india
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The Mansion Hotel is a nice, charming place in Kandy. In a beautiful, old building but well equipped with modern furniture and fittings. Very comfortable beds, furnishings, large modern toilets.

Served us good vegetarian food, which we asked for. A bit away from Kandy which could be a boon or a bit of travel, depending on how you see it.

We figured that Mahatma Gandhi had stayed in one of the rooms there, when he was in Sri Lanka.

The owners/managers were quite helpful. Overall, excellent value for your money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This old mansion house is beautiful and charming, with lovely furniture and 2 magnificent wooden staircases. It's got loads of character and is in a lovely, quiet area. Be aware that it is not in Kandy proper but around 10 - 11kms outside of Kandy, so if you are out in Kandy it can take 20 - 30mins to get back to the hotel. We did not factor this into our plans and were caught spending a couple of afternoon hours at a loose end in Kandy before we were due to see the dance program.

The rooms have been updated and are comfortable, but the bathrooms are a bit basic. In the room we stayed in on the first night the tub leaked and the management very kindly offered to move us to another room. The staff is very friendly and efficient. Food was good, especially the breakfast. We would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This hotel is really funky - the site of a mansion. large rooms, lots of old wood pannelling. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Food was good. Peaceful good night sleep, good aircon and clean bathroom. Only downside is it is about 10kms from Kandy, and about 30 mins in a tuk-tuk at 600 rupees each way. For me, it was worth it, for a peaceful setting, and I am told central Kandy hotels can be noisy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

If there was 3.5 stars or 'good' I'd have chosen this rating but wouldn't go as far as 'very good'. We stayed here for 3 nights. The building was stunning and rooms were nice and clean and the staff friendly but there was room for improvement, it seems to be more set up for business travellers than tourists and is 12km outside of Kandy so a little out of the way.
The pool badly needed cleaned and the internet connection kept dropping in and out which was really frustrating.I would recommend this for 1-2 nights if doing a day trip from here but there is little atmosphere and little to do nearby without heading into Kandy so wouldn't advise a longer stay.

Would also advise against booking the Sigiriya tour through the hotel, they charge R6500 and take R1500 commission and phone the same van drivers you can book directly with for R5000. We assumed this would mean a nicer van / more experienced driver but this was not the case. The driver we had didn't speak any English and we had to phone the hotel to negotiate stopping for lunch and visiting Dambulla on the way back which although part of the package, the driver hadn't intended on stopping at. I suspect this goes for any hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

This place is amazing: an old colonial building with agreeable wood smell inside, large rooms with high ceilings, 70s style bathroom, warm personnel, etc. The whole located in a gorgeous garden with some views on rice fields. A lot of "cachet".
Best moment: the yummy breakfast on the terrace, below the huge trees and amongst the squirrels and the birds.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion

Address: 213, Kurunegala Road, | Aladeniya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kandy
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#7 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion was built in the 1920s by Punchi Banda Nugawela, Diyawadana Nilame, of the "Temple of The Tooth' in Kandy. He was a chieftain in Kandy who was believed to have lived a lavish lifestyle during the early 20th century. The designer of this architectural masterpiece is fully European and the architect still remains a mystery. In 1999 Mr. Rathnapala Marawanagoda, the last resident, decided to convert the villa into a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your The Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Hotel Kandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.