We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely gem filled with history .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion

Save Saved
You added The Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mansion
213, Kurunegala Road, | Aladeniya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 46 hotels in Kandy
kuala lumpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Lovely gem filled with history .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Lovely old colonial house rooms were very comfortable and staff were very attentive. I must say one thing though the pool was a bit dirty and the children's play ground really needs fixing other then that we had a lovely stay .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    120
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
80
131
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and couldn't believe how cheap it was. Having stayed there I think they should charge more and improve facilities. The service and food couldn't be faulted and our room was lovely. But there were tiny ants running all over our bed, there was no protection between the sheet and the mattress, you had to sit down in the bath to shower and the pool was quite disgustingly dirty. Also I was surprised to learn that there was no alchohol available but the management helpfully sent out for some beers. Such a shame because this could have been the perfect place to sup an early evening gin and tonic on the terrace!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhanuka, General Manager at The Mansion, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for visiting us and for your review. I think the way you feel about our rate is due to our policy of charging locals and foreigners equally. Regarding the swimming pool we experienced a major leakage last couple of months and we had some difficulties cleaning. To be frank being a pool surrounded with trees we feel truly challenged maintaining it and we are thinking of trimming the vegetation since we heard a couple of complaints on the constant leaf fall. We don’t sell liquor but we always help our guests to get their liquor from the liquor store nearby and it takes only a couple of minutes. On behalf of everyone at The Mansion I apologize for all the inconveniences and we will certainly look in to resolve all of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We have visited The Mansion ending our three week Sri Lanka journey. Such a good, friendly and hospital place! Luxurous, stylish, very friendly management and staff, spacious rooms and good food.... at least the rice & curries we had, as well as the Sri Lankan breakfasts. We stayed for four nights and will certainly be back on our next Sri Lanka visit. An absolute recommendation, we both would love to bring our family and friends here.
One thing one has to realize however, is that The Mansion is quite far away from Kandy city. For us, this was a advantage, if you wish to be near the centre, better choose another place.

Room Tip: Just tell the management your wishes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

As others have said, the house is hard to find. However we had a car and driver, who rang ahead to get directions.

It is a very interesting, historic place to stay and the communal areas are impressive. The staff were polite and helpful. The food was good and inexpensive, and the staff were obliging over providing vegetarian food.

However the house has very much seen better days. Basic maintenance has clearly been lacking for some time, and this was sad. The advertised billiard room was locked and full of stored furniture (though I daresay it could have been cleared for us if we'd wanted). The pool looked rather dirty and I'm not convinced that it was being maintained appropriately.

The air conditioning in our room was inadequate. It barely cooled the room and switched itself off every hour. However each room had its own air conditioner so other rooms may be better with regard to this.

Our room had dirty walls, the blinds didn't work, and the wall hanging was ripped and dirty. The sheets were stained, though had clearly been washed and smelt clean. The bathroom and floors were clean.

Overall this is an interesting place to stay. However the standard of accomodation is basic and best thought of as budget, backpacker style accomodation than a conventional hotel or guest house. That said, the price reflects this. For the price, we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We landed at around 8 PM. Our bookings were ready and we were taken to our rooms.Rooms were airy with large windows. This property is a very old one, was a house which has been converted to a hotel. Food was quite good. Charges reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Please give this place a look, its such a fantastic colonial house in fantastic ground and the staff were amazing - any problems we may have had were dealt with quickly and with a genuine friendly attitude.

The hotel is located a little outside Kandy so you would need to get a tuc tuc or a driver.

Also the only negative thing I would say is that its a little run down but that adds to the charm.

However the pool was not clean when we got there, I am sure they would have done this for us had we asked but as it happens the kids did not miss it. If you intend to use the pool maybe make a point of mentioning this when you book so they can get it ready for you. We did visit during the Buddist new year so maybe there was some staff shortages.

The definite plus was the staff - so friendly, so welcoming, so flexible and so lovely.

Will try to visit again.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room - just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

The Mansion is a British Colonial Bungalow been converted into a 11 room hotel. The property has no feel of an hotel but is more like a rich guest house. The management team led by Pulasti is very efficient and takes great effort in ensuring you have a good comfortable stay at the Mansion. We were lucky to be there when not many rooms were occupied so had a lot of attention and very special service rendered for our meals. We had a mess-up with our travel agent and didn't have a car for the evening, but the hotel staff ensured we had a tuk-tuk take us to the market and not waste our evening. The kitchen team is superb and cooked us two very nice meals - Sri Lankan curry and the next night we had chinese for dinner. Massive quantities so order with caution!!

Mansion is located at about a good 20 min ride from the main market area, but then we learnt that most of the other places too are located far from the market - so we would highly recommend you stay here for a non-hotel and yet not homely experience. But being away from the market has it's advantage. From the hotel all you can see are nice green paddy fields which really looked beautiful when we went since it had not yet stopped raining in the 2nd week of Jan 2011.

I must admit although that the rooms are not in the best of their conditions - the cupboard was rotten with all the rain water and moisture seepage. The doors are all original rich wood so some of them are rather creaky and don't really fit well or close tight. But the beds are clean and rooms are almost insect free. There is no TV in any of the rooms but I think they had 1 in the common living room area. Only 1 room [gr. floor] has a bath-tub but I think that's not one of their best rooms so you would be better off taking something on the 1st floor.

Get the hotel staff to book you a massage appointment. The two local masseurs give a very enhancing Sri Lankan massage which should be a treat to your body while on holiday.

They've got free wifi but is limited to the reception area only and decent speeds to get the job done.

Room Tip: Book their Massage services - Awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion

Address: 213, Kurunegala Road, | Aladeniya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kandy
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion was built in the 1920s by Punchi Banda Nugawela, Diyawadana Nilame, of the "Temple of The Tooth' in Kandy. He was a chieftain in Kandy who was believed to have lived a lavish lifestyle during the early 20th century. The designer of this architectural masterpiece is fully European and the architect still remains a mystery. In 1999 Mr. Rathnapala Marawanagoda, the last resident, decided to convert the villa into a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your The Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Hotel Kandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.