We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place to stay!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Golden View Rest

Golden View Rest
46 Saranankara Rd | S Kandy Lake, Kandy, Sri Lanka
(081) 223 9418
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 74 Restaurants in Kandy
Restaurant details
Poznan, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worst place to stay!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

It's worst place to stay in Kandy and worst I stayed during my more than 3 weeks in Sri Lanka. Rooms are typical - not super clean, quite dark, small "double" bed. But it's not what caused I hated that place. I'm an independent traveller, loving meeting people, helping them if I can. We checked-in and decided to go to the city. Sitting downstairs I've heard the owner saying to one man that there is no bus to Sigiriya and he had to take taxi (which of course he can organize). I went there and told a guy that we just came from Sigiriya by bus and I can explain him everything. Owner followed us on the street and started to intimidate us saying that it's his business and his right to say what he wants and we should leave tomorrow. We didn't wait and left right away. Found place with wonderful people for half of the price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    1
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We thought it would be a great place to stay as the sign said it was Trip Advisor/lonely planet recommended. So we decided to stay a night before we headed off to Nuwara Eliya. Wish we never stayed there. The shower wasn't working, huge ant problem, moldy smelling room, music blasting all night and dirty room. The worst was getting harrassed by the staff. They would pressure you into tours and get mad if you declined. Give you wrong info and mislead you, so you can do one of their stupid tuk tuk tours.

The manager said that we would get 2 tuk tuk tours with our stay. Both times he yelled at us for not doing his tours. (he owns a tuk tuk too-confusing. I know!!) He would try to over charge us on things.

I'm also a travel agent so when i say this is bad, it's bad.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannover
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“be careful - they are cheating customers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

this rest house is a very poor one - iro quality, service and
be carefull - the manager cheats guests. he applies the VAt to the accomodation price although for the rest of Sri Lanka VAT only applies to food and related services - but not to the room.

also, the managed provided dutch labeled ketchup (!) after beeing asked for some spicy sauce

so except for a very friendly doorman this place should be left out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The room from the view was great, reasonably priced, however there were some issues with ants. That aside, the vibe was excellent! We had a cracking night hanging out with the guys that run it and everyone else staying. Be firm around the offers to go on trips- if you're not interested then let them know. We clearly said we weren't interested and they stopped offering. Thanks guys.
From Kate and Es

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandalay, Myanmar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Totally impersonal, crap service and totally geared towards squeezing as much money as possible from you.
You get asked to take a trip, see elephants, eat breakfast, spend money relentlessly and it's really sh1t.
The room was ok but the owner is a money grabbing sh1t-head
xxx

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden View Rest also viewed

Kandy, Central Province
Kandy, Central Province
 

Been to Golden View Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden View Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.