We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With a view of the Tooth Temple thrown in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serene Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Serene Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Serene Garden Hotel
189 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 46 hotels in Kandy
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“With a view of the Tooth Temple thrown in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stay for one night on a tour. The room was good, the view over the valley was also nice. The buffet style food means there is always something you can pick. The staff where very helpful, especially when we complained about the pool being refurbished, they took us down to a different hotel and we used the pool there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    51
    47
    8
    5
See reviews for
26
64
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed in Kandy for 3 days - my ratings seem little higher than most.

I can't find fault - it was very clean, food was enjoyed, was safe.

Had bar fridge, tv, wifi in main lounge & dining area. Nice little bar to sit in in the afternoon to have beer.

Pool was being refurbished.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a tour and found it perfectly adequate without being anything special. We were lucky to get a room at the back of the hotel with great views over Kandy but most do not. Unfortunately the pool was not working as it was being refurbished but they said we could use a sister hotel down the road.

Food was fairly average but edible, drinks were relatively cheap.

Main gripes were that the shower did not work properly and was frustrating. Plus as we checked out a guy came running out to he car to say we had smashed a bottle in the minibar (we hadn't), but as we were running late we paid and left rather than argue. Also, we were late (compared to everybody else) going to bed and struggled to get some water - in he end we had to beg the night porter who eventually relented.

There are better hotels out there, but fine for one night.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The room was cramped and noisy. It's too far from the town to walk there so we were stuck with eating in the hotel restaurant. The staff were disinterested and the food was mediocre. There have to be better places to stay in Kandy.

Room Tip: make sure you have a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

stayed for 2 nights with our kids age 2,3, and 7. average place in Kandy and you need to get on a tuk tuk to get downtown. it is places on the mountain and with at least 15 meters to the ground, I was horrified to find out, that the fence of the balcony only reached to the belly of my 7-year old. Now, I am also afraid of heights, so this freaked me out. Would never recommend staing there wiht kids. Pool was also freezing. food nothing special and so many other nice places in sri lanka. not worth the 175 usd we paied/night

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Adequate for a night but not much more. The food was the standard buffet aimed at western palates and the staff were clearly under pressure to sell wine to go with it. Beer is better with curry which kills the taste of wine. It may be within walking distance of the city centre but not for dinner in the evening.
The room was clean if a bit small and we were under the dining room which made it noisy in the evening and early morning. We were recommended to keep the window shut because of monkeys.
I would describe it as rather characterless which is a pity in a place as historic as Kandy.

Room Tip: Avoid the level below the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Serene Garden (not to be confused with Serene Grand which is just down the road) is a small but modern hotel whose build quality and amenities put it a notch above most of the hotels in Sri Lanka. The facilities appear very new and clean, and they have free wifi in the lobby.

The only downside of the hotel is the room size. The standard room is tiny. There was barely enough room to fit the bed, and we had to lay out our suitcases on the floor next to the bed to access them.

While the hotel is by no means luxurious, it is clean, new, and well-built (no intruding mosquitoes), and we would definitely recommend this hotel again.

Tip: The lobby wifi uses a 3g signal and can be very slow. What we did is plug our travel router into the lounge's desktop computer to create a wifi hotspot using the desktop's DSL line.

Room Tip: If you get a room as close to the lobby as possible, wifi signal will reach your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Serene Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Garden Hotel

Address: 189 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Serene Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serene Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.