We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Villa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tourmaline Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tourmaline Hotel to your Saves list
Tourmaline Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Aniwatte, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
DC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice Villa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

A nice luxury villa. staff is so nice. food is not the best. a nice view

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    79
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
41
94
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I only stayed for one night and even though I was a single female (not always ideal in SL), I was treated like royalty. From the moment I walked in, I didn't have a reservation, until I checked out, I was happy! The room was lovely and the bed HUGE. The only problem would be the bathroom as the bath was very small and the heavy plastic curtain was bothersim. I had dinner but I was the only guest there! Breakfast was great with many choices. I would definitely reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Lobby Floor are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

stayed here for a night. needed a break and some pampering from the dusty chaos on the motorbike. the hotel is trying to be upscale. it is clearly not. not sure who had the vision of the hard plastic shower curting in the tub. it really makes it claustraphobic. the room had a good view out over the hills that is for sure. fairly close to town, 300 rupee tuk tuk. the bed was confortable i will give it that. but clearly the hotel is trying to go upscale and there are far better places for the money out there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

this hotel is set on the hills overlooking kandy lake (although your room won't neccesarily).
we had dinner and breakfast here. dinner was a traditional meal which was good, although there wasn't a wide selection of local dishes, most selections being 'western'. i thought, for a smaller hotel, the breakfast was v good, managing to include most of the usual selections in a more modest dining space.
the location is a short drive from the lake and the temple of the tooth, 5 mins.
my parents had a negative experience in that twice when drinks were requested on room service they failed to arrive.
other than that this is a good value hotel with clean, modern rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night and we felt very welcome when we arrived. The service is excellent. The restaurant is also great with really good food. We stayed in the new hotel and the room was very nice with a fantastic over so many mountains! The swimming pool needs some new paint and furniture. This was the only hotel during our stay where we had to pay for the wifi, and it didn't work that well. In the hotel lobby the wifi is free. The way up to the hotel is a challenge, but with a driver it is fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

The hotel is good and the rooms were very clean and spacious. Service was good. Staff was hospitable. Location is good. But the place is over priced. Food served was good. There is a very nice swimming pool and the view from the room is good. Overall pleasant stay but over priced.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I stayed in Holiday in during my visit to Sri Lanka. I think the hospitality of the staff and the quality of food deserves a special mention. Specially the Indian Restaurant was nice. The Prices were quite reasonable too and would definitely recommend this to any one who would want a nice comfortable stay

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tourmaline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourmaline Hotel

Address: | Aniwatte, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tourmaline Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbish in 2009, Hotel Tourmaline has evolved over the years to portray a resort lifestyle that caters to the discerning traveler. With painstaking attention to detail—from its elegant exterior, cuisine and ambience, the Hotel is ideal for both the business as well as leisure traveler.The natural scenic beauty that surrounds the hotel creates the perfect relaxing atmosphere to help you unwind and enjoy the many modern amenities that make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tourmaline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tourmaline Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.