We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money and many more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Tourist Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Majestic Tourist Hotel to your Saves list
Majestic Tourist Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   83 / 40 Ampitiya Rd | At the End of Kandy Lake in the Beginning of Ampitiya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money and many more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

It is not a 5 star hotel so don't expect it to be one and remember that you are not paying like a 5 star hotel. I ranked it very highly due to the service and friendliness received from the owner and staff, the atmosphere around the place, the view from the roof terrace, the fresh and delicious meal prepared by the owner at a very reasonable price, the location, which in a quiet and peaceful area on the hill away from the city of Kandy and the friendly advise and guidance given regarding your travelling arrangements or anything else. Not to mention that the price also includes breakfast which consisted of 2 fruits (I had banana and pawpaw), toast and jam, an omelette and coffee or tea. Also for the record, this place hires their staff from small villages way out of Kandy and generally from minor communities of Sri Lanka who would generally struggle to get a job anywhere. They want to give those young adults an opportunity and they also act like a parent to them as they are so far away from their home. The owners are very humble and would certainly be embarrassed if they knew that I shared this about them but it highlights a bit of their character. They shared this journey because of my inquisitive nature.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    48
    26
    6
    7
See reviews for
10
48
27
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

There is nothing not to love about this place!

The hotel is located close to the city centre, bus stops , train station.

Price is really affordable and the are are super spacious. My room had a balcony as well.

The staff are awesome - really friendly and very helpful.

The owner was also fantastic. He planned my itenary and advised me how to get around

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The title says it all. It was a good location, around 25 minute walk to Temple of the Tooth and other attractions.
Rooms are basic, but the price reflects this well I believe.
Western basic breakfast available.
Restaurant is good value with great home cooked meals.
I broke my toe on one of my days sightseeing and the staff were really helpful with my problem, which made my experience of Sri Lankan's better.
The rooftop restaurant is great in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights and were on the whole very please.
The location is great - short walk into town down a steep hill ( we got a tuk tuk back every time because were lazy!)
The staff were very friendly, the rooms clean and basic.
The roof terrace is a great spend an evening but would be made so much better with a better bar.
The food was nice be took about 2 hours to come! (hence low service rating)
Overall basic but very good for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at the Majestic Tourist Hotel in Kandy for four night during our two week holiday. The owners were just lovely and the place is very relaxing and feels like a home away from home. Kumari (the owner) helped us organise a driver and one of the days we traveled to Dumbulla and Sigiri. Nothing was too much trouble and we really felt looked after by her and also her husband.

There is a lovely sitting area/restaurant on the rooftop of the hotel. It looks out onto the lush green hill area of Kandy. We enjoyed eating the delicious food that the owners prepared in the restaurant (really great). We had a really relaxing stay, Kandy can be very busy and it’s nice to have somewhere to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Location was fine, walking into Kandy was quite pleasant, although a tuk tuk back, especially when it's dark. The hospitality here was very good and I would love to say good things about my room but unfortunately, it smelt of damp and only had one plug socket that didn't work. I moved rooms after this and the new room was much better! Maybe I was just unlucky with the first room was put in but I probably won't stay here again, I'm sure there are better value for money places in Kandy.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

First impression of the hostess was not good, specially after a long journey. The food was nice. Rooms were dirty, but they cleaned when we brought it up. We stayed only one night and left to find a more central and cheaper place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Tourist Hotel

Address: 83 / 40 Ampitiya Rd | At the End of Kandy Lake in the Beginning of Ampitiya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Majestic Tourist Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Tourist Hotel is located in a quiet, clean area within the Kandy city limit, over-looking rain forest and beautiful mountains. We are one and half km from the city center. We have 20 rooms with attach bath, hot/cold water, some of them have balcony and a/c ( a/c on add charge ) we are approved by *Sri Lanka Tourist Board as **A** Grade. Walking distance to Temple of Tooth, Kandyan Dancing Hall and Ayurveda center etc. Free Breakfast, Free Pick up from Kandy City on arrival, also we do Tours and Airport pick-up for very reasonable rates. Roof Top Restaurant over-looking Kandy Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Majestic Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Tourist Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.