We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel outside the center of Kandy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Tourist Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Majestic Tourist Hotel to your Saves list
Majestic Tourist Hotel
83 / 40 Ampitiya Rd | at the end of Kandy Lake, Kandy 20001, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel outside the center of Kandy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Management is nice and the food is good. It's outside the Kandy city center and has great views of the surrounding hills. Good value and a nice place I you have to be in Kandy. I wasn't a big fan of Kandy but it is a nice jumping off point for other places

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    42
    22
    5
    7
See reviews for
10
42
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We visited the Majestic Tourist Hotel at the end of September 2012 and I cannot recommend it enough. We were warmly welcomed and the rooms are clean and large with most enjoying great views from the balcony. Breakfast, which was included, was plenty of toast, fried eggs, fruit juice and delicious local tea served on the rooftop restaurant which offers great views across Kandy. All meals are cooked from fresh so can take a little while but they're cooked to your preferences which helps if you can't take a lot of spice! 
Ten minutes walk gets you to the lake where we saw monkeys, turtles and water monitors. A further 5 gets you to the Temple of the Tooth which is close to the town. The walk back up is uphill, yes, but easily doable. Alternatively a tuk tuk from town costs only 200 rupees. 
Kumari, the owner, is fabulous and full of local knowledge relayed in her almost perfect English. The hotel offer tours at very reasonable prices and when we asked to go to the elephant orphanage Kumari went above and beyond to make sure we had a great day, including a trip to a local spice garden and tea factory. 
All in all a fantastic place to stay, eat and do tours from. 

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Växjö, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I and my vife stayed here for two nights in the begining of January. We realy liked the hotel. The room was small but nice and the price was very ok. The manager took good care of us and felt like he was genuinely interested in giving us a good stay. The location was perfect fo us, nice and quiet and only a few minutes on a tuk tuk to the city centre. They offer us a good price for a car to Nuwara Eliya. We can realy recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRW Solingen Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Hello, The Room was clean ,the food always fresh and we had a very nice Time!See the Buddha statues and the tooth temple ,Please take a Trip with the railway to Adam s Peak and then go hiking
Timo & Maggie Germany, Solingen

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Spent 2 nights at this hotel. From the outside, this hotel is quite a mess. But once you enter, you will see that the hotel is quite good. Clean and well maintained. The service provided here was really good and the owner, Mr.Joseph was a very friendly and down to earth person. The hotel is a little less than 2 kilometers to the lake and a little more than 2 to the Temple of the Tooth. A very economical place to stay and I would recommend budget travellers to stay at this hotel if they don't mind a steep walk back to the hotel. That wouldn't really deter back packers from staying at this hotel. Good hotel and would recommend it to everybody staying here.

Room Tip: Try and check into the rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floor for good views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Myself and 2 friends stayed here during the Perahera festival. Our room was lovely with a balcony that had amazing views over Kandy. We did pay a lot but as it was the festival, all the hotels in Kandy massively raise their prices and it was the cheapest we could find. The restaurant overlooked Kandy and the food was great (although be prepared to wait for it!). The owners were very helpful and when we decided to stay another night when the festival had ended they lowered the price without having to be asked and they also arranged a place for us to stay in Ella and booked it all in for us over the phone which was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 1 night here in July to catch the annual Perahera festival. The location was fine, a 4km walk from town (although it is a steep uphill on the way back) and while it looked rather shabby from the exterior, the front rooms were clean and pleasant with a large balcony. On the other hand, the back rooms were dark and gloomy as they faced a brick wall. The management seemed welcoming and friendly enough -- perhaps a bit overly so. There was no hot water, despite a water heater having been installed, but otherwise we had no complaints about the room. However, several incidents left us with a bad taste. We had made our booking online several days before arriving via a reputable website, yet we were dismayed to find a compulsory US$15 extra charge for an "A1 Gold Coast Grand Prix" added to our bill -- what on earth?? However, because it was so last-minute and most hotels were already full (the Perahera festival was ongoing), we felt we had no choice but to accept. Our total came up to US$40, which we felt was overpriced for what we got. Clearly the owners saw an opportunity to make some extra money during the festival period, but we felt a bit taken advantage of.

Secondly, we had an issue regarding our driver's accommodation. According to Sri Lanka's tourism law, all hotels must provide accommodation for drivers accompanying their hotel guests. However, we showed up and found that the Majestic were illegally selling their "driver's rooms" to their hotel guests, and so our poor driver had nowhere to stay! In the end, he had to drive more than an hour out of Kandy to spend the night with his relatives as all the hotels in town were fully booked. These two incidents made us feel that the management were rather shady and clearly out to exploit the recent tourism boom, which is a pity as the place itself was not bad. I hope they clean up their act, otherwise I would discourage people from supporting a place that engages in illegal tourism practices.

Room Tip: If you must stay, ask for a room in the front with hot water and a mosquito net, as they vary greatl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Tourist Hotel

Address: 83 / 40 Ampitiya Rd | at the end of Kandy Lake, Kandy 20001, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Tourist Hotel is located in a quiet, clean area within the Kandy city limit, over-looking rain forest and beautiful mountains. We are one and half km from the city center. We have 20 rooms with attach bath, hot/cold water, some of them have balcony and a/c ( a/c on add charge ) we are approved by *Sri Lanka Tourist Board as **A** Grade. Walking distance to Temple of Tooth, Kandyan Dancing Hall and Ayurveda center etc. Free Breakfast, Free Pick up from Kandy City on arrival, also we do Tours and Airport pick-up for very reasonable rates. Roof Top Restaurant over-looking Kandy Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Majestic Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Tourist Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.