We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AVANI Kalutara Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added AVANI Kalutara Resort to your Saves list
AVANI Kalutara Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   St. Sebastian's Road | Katukurunda, Kalutara 0001, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ryde, Isle of Wight
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stunning!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

We have recently come back from a wonderful holiday in Kani Lanka. The hotel was lovely, very relaxing and pretty surroundings. The Rooms could be a little damp due to the humitity of the area in which the hotel is situated, not much they can do but just keep the AC on and you'll be fine. Other than that very nice room.
Every evening our beds were turned down and fresh flowers arranged on them and a quick spray of mossy repellant and then in the morning your sheets are changed and then more fresh flowers arranged and the room is cleaned thoroughly.
As for the food - WONDERFUL!! So much to choose from, so fresh and wonderfully prepared. Say hello to the Salad man he is lovely, he makes you a wonderfully fresh salad with your choice of ingredients.
The only problem we had with the hotel was only with the odd member of staff who expected tips from you, the service was great if not a little overboard, but the senior staff expected the tips, when actually it's not them doing all the work. I chose to tip the waiters and waitresses who gave me the best service not those who basically stand at your table and beg for it.

We had a wonderful time in Sri Lanka, and we would thoroughly recommend the Kani Lanka Hotel.

Just one other thing to be aware of - we went shopping in Kalutara and were met by a Sri Lankan who told us he recognised us from the hotel he said he worked in the reception and could he help us with buy some medical supplies, unfortunately we believed him and he pulled a con and I gave him £10 for something that was worth about 50pence. My own gullible fault just be warned that although on the whole the Sri Lankans are lovely people, very warm and friendly there is always one that has to spoil it.

  • Liked — The Food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    328
    132
    64
    31
See reviews for
207
615
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

beware of waiters and some staff of ripping you of, we had to cancel our fish dinner as my partner was not feeling well, to be told by the manager, that we could not cancel, very rude and also we were charged £30.00 for dinner we did not take or sign for in my eyes this is theft. waiters stealing money for drinks if you did not sign, would not go back to this hotel again and be made a fool of by crafty waiters and staff.

simon and andrew
london

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

What a start to our honeymoon,

Location
Set on the indian ocean and the main inlet of the river surrounded by lush palm trees and fantastic views of Kalutara, totally amazing.

Hotel
Total paradise with peace and tranquility, the drive from the airport to the hotel is an eye opening experience about 2 hours but when you reach the hotel entrance you know you have arrived into something special. The hotel is amazingly clean and spacious and nothing but luxury. We stayed in the junior suite (room 450) which was set on the top floor with two balconies one looking towards the indian ocean and the other of the river with views across the river and the temples, this room was excellent with huge lounge and bed, the bathroom was also huge with a bath, rain shower and two sinks all set with sented candles around. The staff cannot do enough for you the food was excellent with plenty of choice. Great swimming pool and there was sporting activities on the river. We visited the on-site spa which was the most peaceful place on earth we had a honeymoon special which included full body massage and facials and a chocolate body wrap and cocount bath it lasted for three hours (heaven) a must for all.

Day trips
There are many day trips available across Sri Lanka which Kouni could of organised for us but reading the reviews before we went we decided to opt for one of the beach guys, we would recommend a guy called Jambo who was the nicest guy you would want to meet. He took us on a day trip to the elephant orphanage which was a three hour minibus ride away (airconditioned a must) we stopped off half way in a village in the hills for a drink break which was a little house come cafe which they showed us around the plantations of fruit and they cut fresh pineapple,lychese,passion fruit and fresh Sri Lankan tea it was fantastic. From there we went to see the elephants which was an experience we will nether forget (recommended). If you can book your trips with Jambo you wont be dissapointed with his service and smile he just cant do enough for you. Please see these guys for your trips. Say Andy and Hannah says hello.

Overview
A hotel in amazing grounds with excellent service and the Sri Lankan people are the warmwest people ever. First class

  • Liked — fantastic service and hotels setting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

My family (with two young kids) stayed here for 6 days in the second week of May 2008. We stayed in a Koniya suite. Overall, we rated as average our stay only because the suite as such we found lacking in terms of finesse. The food was generally outstanding... so, a sure 5 stars for that! but, overall, the rating gets reduced because of the slightly poor quality of the room! Had we a choice, we would have given a 3.5 stars...!

The reasons for the poor quality of the room are as follows -poor quality finish and a bit rustic overall, room can be a bit off-colored and mouldy in some places in the room (noted by others- so, you are forced to put the A/C at a constant 19 degrees celsius to keep it dry); some stains / off-colors (my wife insists it is mould!) on the sheets / towels / curtains; the refrierator was not working too well; and some of the equipment (plug point, bath tub tap) needed attention showing that it was not absolutely new or routinely checked and maintained. The location and humidity
(located between the river and the ocean) is to be blamed for much of the above mould related problems!

Service / house-keeping was excellent and cannot be faulted. Immediately on any request or complaint, the matter was attended to with a smile and promptly!

Food was certainly outstanding... very eclectic / imaginative and a terrifc variety (sushi on some days to "make your own variety of pasta mix or fried rice mix"; one of the widest salad selections that we have come across etc).

Much has been talked about the "beach boys" and their assistance... it is true... we met a gentleman called Perera, who was friendly, kind very helpful and reliable! As others have noted, they certainly need our help and their prices are much more reasonable than the hotel prices for various services!

Our son (2 and a half) enjoyed running around the grounds and for those who are interested, we noticed a number of weddings taking place in the hotel!

Also to be noted that this time of the year is not advisable to swim in the ocean because it was too rough and there were red flags everywhere. All guests only used the pool, which got to be quite busy at times.

Would we be back here?: we would come back for the food, but would be a bit hesitant because of the slightly poor quality of the rooms!

  • Liked — Food; views.
  • Disliked — Slightly poor quality of room.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

HOTEL
It is an eye opener on your journey from the airport to the hotel as Sri Lanka is a very poor country and this is reflected in the sights that you see. However when you reach the hotel it is Paradise.
We stayed in a superior room which had everything there and the views from the balcony were over looking the lagoon. The rooms are cleaned every day and on an evening your beds are turned down with fresh flowers arranged on them.
The hotel is immaculately clean and this includes the grounds (I have very high standards and they were met).
They have approx 210 staff working there and this includes people going round and collecting the leaves and flowers that have fallen off the tree's.
The food is very varied with lots of different dishes day and night. We felt that they catered for everyone and nothing was too much trouble, you just had to ask. Every morning it was a full English breakfast.
The staff are 'second to none ' (especially a young waiter called DILUP)and never forget who you are. The average wage is about £25.00 per month and they do rely on tips. 1000 rupees is £5.00, 100 rupees is 50p. Whether you tip them 50p or £5.00 the service never faulters. They give you total respect and you are always Sir/Madam.
WEDDING
We got married on the 25th April and it is a day we will never forget because everything was organised to perfection. We did not have to do anything except turn up. Again nothing was too much trouble everything we asked for we got. We were apprehensive about the photographs but they were beautiful better then we expected and presented in a lovely album. WHAT A STRESS FREE WAY TO GET MARRIED.
TRIPS
we went on two trips one organised through the travel agent and one with the beachboys (FARNANDO who could not do enough for us). The trip with Farnando was cheaper and you had more freedom to do and see what you wanted.
We had a fabulous time and can not wait to return next year for our anniversary.
DARREN & TRACEY
LEEDS

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for two weeks - end of April to begining of May. Overall the hotel was ok but having stayed in numerous other hotels in Cuba and the Maldives we did not rate this one very highly.

HOTEL;
The greeting at the hotel was nice and the staff were friendly throughout our stay. The hotel is in a nice setting between beach and lagoon which gives you a feeling of being on an island away from the town itself. However the beach was very dirty and not very nice. We paid extra for a superior room but have to say we were very disappointed as it appeared to be no different from a basic room. We had read previous comments re ground floor rooms being damp - so we were pleased to have been given a room on the first floor only to discover this made no difference as our room was damp, including the bedding and all our clothes after a few days, We did not complain about it as the hotel itself seemed to appear to have a damp feeling throughout it, but we were aware that many other visitors did.

A point which we were aware of having read other reviews were about the beach boys. We decided to take our trips with with our tour rep as we thought that there could be more comeback with our Travel Company if anything had gone wrong, this was a personal choice and made us feel happier overall.
We thought having explained this to the beach boys they would leave you alone....this was not the case. We would often go for a walk on our own around the hotel grounds towards the beach and lagoon and would get hasselled constantly. We did pick up on the fact that most of the beach boys would explain they have little money due to the tsunami yet they all seem to be able to get their hands on numerous vehicles including tuk tuks and seemed to be run by someone and not working independently as they make out.

FOOD:
The food was one area that we were not impressed with and having spoken with numerous other couples at the hotel they felt the same and they did make a complaint to their rep about this. The problem could have arisen from the fact it was their end of season, there was very rarely much choice and if you were a fussy eater you stood no chance. The only day when there was a good selection of food and plenty of it was for one lunch time when a company of travel agents reps were visiting the hotel and the hotel wanted to impress them instead of the paying visitors that were currently their on holidays!!

ENTERTAINMENT;
There was none!!!! We chose this hotel due the fact it was going to be fairly quiet but had been told that there would be daily events and evening entertainment. In our room was even a display card telling you what entertainment would be on at what time. Again whether it was because of end of season but there was no entertainment, no evening shows as displayed. A few people did complain re this but nothing changed.

OVERALL:
Overall the hotel was what i would describe as "nice" as i am sure we could of done a lot worse but for the amount we paid for our one off yearly holiday we were not impressed and would not really recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The food and lack of entertainment
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights on our honeymoon & had an
fantastic time. We were on half board & thought the food was excellent. So much choice every night from curries, fish, pastas, etc plus every night was a theme night - so much choice! With been honeymooners we also had our complimentary special meal by the pool which was a 7 course fish set menu meal which included lobster which was superb.
The staff are all so friendly and such nice people.

We must recommend going with the guys on the beach Daniyal & Leo on trips. We went on 2 trips with them - both were excellent as Daniyal can speak really good English & with there local knowledge we couldnt have asked for a better tour guide. We went to the Pinnewela orphanage, Botanical gardens, turtle hatchery, river boat safari, Galle, moonstone mine, tea plantation, spice garden, pineapple garden & so much more. The trips are alot cheaper than the reps & these guys need the money so much more as they are trying to rebuild there lives after the tsuinami. Dont let the reps put you off as these guys are so trust worthy & will do everything they can to ensure you have a fantastic trip. We will be keeping in touch with Daniyal & Leo & now class them as friends.
Also if you need a tuc tuc ride anywhere ask for Shanthal who owns a small shop near the hotel who is an excellent guy who will take you anywhere.

Scott & Gillian
Bradford, West Yorks

March 2008

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AVANI Kalutara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Kalutara Resort

Address: St. Sebastian's Road | Katukurunda, Kalutara 0001, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Kalutara Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathe in that fresh sea air and feel the warmth of the sun against your skin. Before you, lies the ocean; behind you, the Kalu Ganga river, twisting almost 100 miles back to Sri Pada, the sacred mountain believed to be the footprint of the Buddha. Where the river meets the ocean, you'll find AVANI Kalutara Resort, and discover a place where your dreams of an island paradise come true.. This hotel was formely known as Kani Lanka Resort & Spa. Skim the white waves of the Indian Ocean on board a traditional fishing boat, or watch the sunlight glitter on the water as you kayak along the riverside... it's almost like you're paddling through diamonds. Later, draw close to the warmth of the beach-side fire and share stories of another incredible day. Savour every bite of that juicy fresh seafood and enjoy a sunset that's beautiful beyond belief... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your AVANI Kalutara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AVANI Kalutara Resort Sri Lanka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AVANI Kalutara Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.