We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palms Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palms Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Abrew Drive, Kalutara, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kalutara
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel is very clean and very well managed, and the rooms are well furnished/decorated and has a very well appointed toilet. The food is very good with a great spread and selection. The pool is quite large and clean. It is a great stop on the south west coast of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damindaj241077, Manager at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Rusiru A

Thank you very much for the time taken to post about the resort on trip advisor.

we are glad that you enjoyed the stay with us. my team and I our very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Royal Palms.

Wish you all the very best for the new Year !!

Daminda Jayawardena
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    201
    61
    26
    17
See reviews for
133
359
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I don't want to write long review (but this may well end up being a long one) but I will list out the positive and the NEGATIVES and leave you to decide. We stayed 5 nights here from 25th Dec to 30th Dec and we wished we only stayed 2!

Firstly negatives ( since these far more outweigh the positives)

(1) Poor service to be called 5 star. Examples: Dinning room is not very well-coming at all and we had to find a empty table and get ourselves comfortable. The staff are poorly trained. They try to take plates away before even you finish. Some staff can be a bit moody and unapproachable.

(2) Food is average. Catered to certain guests which is discriminatory in our opinion. Especially breakfast choices are very limited and this also applies for dinner.

(3) The water leaks from the shower room everytime we take a shower which makes the bathroom flood- poor

(4) No wifi available unless you are willing to sit in the lobby or willing to pay for rather annoying Dialog connection - very poor for a so called 5 star hotel

(5) Too many mosquito in the hotel to our liking - both in the room and in the dinning area. They try to use artificial ( and unhealthy) ways to manage this but its not working - get some nets fixed

(6) we lost our mobile phone in hotel - nobody bothered to help and the reception staff were very unhelpful and promised to call back but never did - again questions your 5 star ratings

(7) Towels are dirty and not so white. The room attendants didn't replace som of the items in the toilets once they have run out - again poor and shows the lack of attention to detail

(8) the location and beach is not great and the surrounding areas are nothing special.

(9) we had a cemetry facing our front door and constant noise of trains passing by including early in the morning - sorry we dont pay and come on holiday for this


Positives

(1) Rooms were cleaned to a very high standard
(2)The pool is well maintained and a good place to relax

Clearly a disappointing stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damindaj241077, Manager at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear KK_SAM999

Thank you very much for the time taken for the review on Trip advisor we highly appreciate your feedback .

I am extremely saddened that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you would have liked to. however please to see that you had a relaxing time at our poolside and of course your bedroom.

I am taking the improvement areas you have pointed out very seriously and will take the necessary actions in due course.

with regards to the loss of phone, as you had call the resort after your departure and informed that you have misplaced the phone and for us to check the room that you where in, we did search for the phone earnestly around the resort including the room and loss & Found, however it was not located within our premises. we do apologies to you if we have had a communication challenge getting through to you.

Also on the point of the train, unfortunately the beautiful sri lankan southern coast has its colonial gifted railway line from Colombo to Matara in the south right next to the beach and the sea all along the coastal line and many hotels in this area have the same challenge as we do, and we apologize for this, however this is a bit out of control of the resort Management.

The food and beverage concept of the hotel is based on destination dinning and i am quite surprised that you had a poor experience with it. our Buffet Restaurant has varied themed evenings from Mexican, Indian, BBQ, Sri Lankan, Mediterranean, Italian and around the world dinner buffets through out the week and we also boast a exquisite Japanese restaurant, brand new ala carte restaurant which serves Euro-asian cuisine which includes imported T bone steaks, Rib-eye , lamb chops to sea food A privet Dinning on the beach side called the Gazebo which can cater to any wish of cuisine you want with 12 hours of notice and coupled with a beverage options around the resort. however we will take on board your comments on the breakfast to see how best we could improve our product.

The hotel has full wireless coverage, with all due respect the Internet services are provided by external parties to the resort. the resort has full free WiFi facility in the airy lobby as well as the large Lounge/Hurricane bar which is purchased by the resort and provided to the guests to use free of charge. the rest of the hotel has WiFi available from one of sri lanka's premier Internet service providers and pre paid card and available at the reception. Sir please understand that we can only get the Internet speed that the country can provide unfortunately and we always try our level best to provide our guests with the best service possible.

The beach is not advertised as a privet beach, as sri lanka as a destination has only a very few spots that have privet beaches on teh island, all the hotels and resorts have public beaches available only. however the surrounding areas of the hotel are full of attractions if you just request from our concierge/bell desk they would be delighted to provide you with all the details of the interesting places and areas to visit to your liking such as The Richmond Castle, Brief Gardens, Exploring ancient Caves, River boat cruises to name a few, .

My team and I will do everything possible to rectify the highlighted areas by you and we take these comments as always positively and thank you so much for staying with us at the Royal Palms.

i would also like to take this opportunity to say that we are looking forward to your next visit and please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

wish you all the very best for the new year !!

Daminda Jayawardena
Resident Manager
Damindaj@royalpalms.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed there for almost 2 weeks and had a very good time.
The hotel was not booked out, only 30% of the rooms were occupied because of low season.

There were a few building works going on, but nothing real disturbing.

Service was very good, very friendly waiters and receptionists.

Food :
Breakfast was ok, american breakfast with omelettes and so on freshly avaiable. Very few cheese and sausage offers, no honey, artificial-tasting marmelade stuff. Fresh fruits avaiable. Tea was good, coffee really bad quality (taste was bitter and old, cause the waiters did not brew it fresh at least every 30 minutes).
Waiters were a bit too slow concerning service.
No freshly squeezed juices! :-/ Only chemical tasting orange juice etc.

Lunch was looking ok for a snack, nothing special.

Dinner was very good, lots of good ideas, different themes every week like italian buffet or seafood on the beach, sri lanka food etc. .
Always buffet combined with fresh barbeque stuff.

Japanese Restaurant:

Very good sushi, premium quality, nice and perfect waiter called Deishan.
Nice atmosphere also! It is worth to pay the small extra charge. Nice tuna.

Drinks:
Fresh juices avaiable during lunch time for a extra charge.
Good selection of wines for average prices.
Everything avaiable including liquors etc.

The Hotel is not very new but very clean and good looking.
Cool reception area with old wood tables and white elephant statues.

Beach:
If you survived the nerving beach boys with their blabla all the time, very nice beach , very long.
Not so many hotels next to this place, so few tourists.

Location: 3,5 hours from airport on the western coast.
City of Kalutara is small, nice market, a few shops, a nice temple, that`s it.
Colombo is 3 hours away by car.
So good for relaxing, not good if you want to have city life in the evening.
No bars, pubs.o restaurants.
In the evenings, you just enjoy dinner,then the shows in the main bar until 10 p.m., billiards, snooker (good tables), good drinks,that`s it.

Recommendation:

Trip to Kandy (central Sri Lanka,2 days) and Tea plantages.
Seafood dinner on the beach.

Massages are good (many many different massages for good prices), but the massage location is awfully old and stinking cause it is next to a muddy lake.
They should open a massage facility next to the beach or something like in Thailand.

Rooms are good, big and good bathrooms.Nice view on the pool or/and the sea.
Oriental looking interior, lot of wood (bed, ground).

Pool is good and big.

Animation ist ok but not many people joined

All together: good hotel if you just want to eat and relax

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two weeks in August 2012, and generally we enjoyed our stay. On arrival after the three hour transfer (the longest we have ever experienced) our room smelled a bit damp and musty, but the duty manager quickly had us moved to another better room. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the facilities good and the buffet-style meals had a wide choice; my wife is a very fussy eater and she found plenty to her taste.

The evening entertainments were generally amateurish and rather dull, and this needs some looking at by management. Having to pay for Internet access is not what you expect from a modern 5* hotel. A peculiarity is that you get a free coffee in the dining room but have to pay for one at the bar. We went with Virgin, so we got wine with our meals while those who booked with different companies had to pay for it. The beaches were rather dirty and when you did venture out on to them you were pestered like hell by the locals trying to sell you everything from a sari to an excursion. The nearby town is not worth a visit, but the elephant sanctuary and Kandy and the various other excursions on this beautiful island are a must.

My wife and I spent most of our time around the well maintained pool, but you need to get out there early if you want a parasol. One German woman grabbed four for her family! The gym is excellent and the staff helpful. The poolside activities were numerous and great fun.

We enjoyed our stay but felt things could have been even better with a little more attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Me and my wife stayed in this hotel in December 2012.
Room was nice and clean.
The only negative feeling about the room was the dampness - especially when you go to bed you feel it very well:)

We had half board with breakfast and dinner.
Choice of food was good but beware that many items are very spicy. Each dinner was "thematic", e.g. Italian, Indian, Mexican.
Drinks were not included and they cost us quite expensive in the end when we got the bill as we were checking out - even local beer.

Swimmimg pool was very nice - enough space to do some swimmimg. Also, there's an area with jacuzzi in the pool.

Pay wi-fi internet in the room was not very stable (low signal). But that might depend on room location - I am not so sure.

We found a very nice local guy Boni who has a beach bar to the right of the hotel. We went there to have some fresh sea food a couple of times (crabs, shrimps, lobsters). They also serve quite tasty fresh juices. Boni also organized a coulple of excursions for us on his minivan for a group of 5 persons (we went to Kandi and Galle - visiting some places of interest on our way). Generally, it was fun. So don't hesitate if Boni finds you at the fence facing the beach:) - that's his regular place to meet new clients:)

We didn't have a chance to use spa because our stay was so short and we had so many things to do.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I've been here about 24hours so far, I have a ding list of ten items. Am in room 112, I asked for the general manager finite and they said he wasn't here, they gave me a very nice front area manager who is trying to helpu u s move tomorrow, hopefully that will happen tomorrow. Building 2 clearly has not been renovated, our room has concrete parts missing in the floor, the bathroom is dirty, the towels are not particularly white. This morning the fitness center had no one in it and the electricity didn't work. The five, yes five times, I've had to call the front desk or any desk resulted in having either no one pick up the phone (guest services twice) or waiting for 8 rings, front desk.

This is a three starhotel so far. Tje food is very good though. Another problem is that you are attacked by sri Lankans trying to sell you things as soon as you leave the gate to go to the Beach. Don't get the 250 rupeeloom wifi, first it goes in and out constantly and is charging you while it is rebooting, secondly it goes in and out constantly. There are about 25 of us right now trying to use electronic devices in the lobby, where the wireless is free. Logic seems a bit off. If you are here half board,breakfast and dinner, the drinks, water juice are not free and not cheap, I don't drink alcohol,but based on the costs listed on my wet bar, can't be cheap

Mr. General manager, you want to find me quickly.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damindaj241077, Manager at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure to meet up with you whilst you where staying with us, and Iron out many of the challenges you had faced during your stay,

I hope you had a very safe journey back home and now settled back to your busy schedule!!

please do let me know when you would like to visit us again and contact me directly so that i can make sure your arrangements are made without a hassle.

once again thank you very much for the opportunity given to us to make sure your stay was brilliant and relaxing.

kind regards

Daminda Jayawardena
Resident Manager
damindaj@royalpalms.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

On arrival guests were warmly welcomed .One of the best Hotels in the southern Sri Lanka.Food fantasitc & the staff very friendly.Romantic hotel atmosphere.I think you can visit so many places in the vicinity.

Room Tip: 243 suite is bigger and sea side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palms Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Beach Hotel

Address: De Abrew Drive, Kalutara, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palms Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Palms Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Beach Kalutara
Hotel Royal Palms Beach
Royal Palms Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palms Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.