We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff in great setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tangerine Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tangerine Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tangerine Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abrew Drive Waskaduwa, Kalutara, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Kalutara
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely staff in great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I spent the first leg of our honeymoon at Tangerine Beach. The staff truly made the experience was it was, they were so friendly and helpful. We upgraded our room to a duplex suite, which was really nice and quiet and away from the mosquitos. Restaurant food was excellent with plenty of choice. The spa treatments were a nice treat and good value for money. The day trips on offer from the hotel we would really recommend - great value for money and really knowledgable guides (ask for Charlie!) So much to see in Sri Lanka, needed more time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    222
    91
    28
    17
See reviews for
129
286
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
evesham england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just returned back from Sri Lanka, we stayed at the Tangerine Beach for 6 nights while this was a very enjoyable stay there were a couple of little niggles. We stayed in room 346 and there was never any hot water throughout the stay and we also ate in the a la carte and were kept waiting for 45 minutes however after bringing this to their attention the wait times were significantly improved. Also found the guest relations rather unhelpful and surly maybe the heat was to blame. Bathroom could also do with a refurbishment but this never detracted from our stay. We never experienced any problem with the evening buffet being a bun fight but after 6 days it was proving a little repetitive, also noticed that the waiters were rather fed up with the amount of food being wasted by the Russians. Weather towards the end was very hot and beware of extreme UV rays as you maybe caught out. Another good tip is too visit the tea plantations as the scenery is breathtaking and so different from the lower lying beach areas. Also have some lower denomination notes as the standard of living is very low and a little money goes a long way. Overall I would say this is a good three star hotel compared with other four star hotels we stayed at during our trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Spent 12 nights here after a 3 night /4 day Cultural tour with Mercury Direct.
Check- in was efficient and staff friendly and cases arrived in room same time as us.
Has a deluxe pool and sea facing room on top floor which was comfortable and adequate for our stay.
Liked the tea and coffee making facilities, TV, in-room safe( big enough to hold small laptop ) good lighting, air conditioning and fan ( much needed ) Insect repellant machine.
Small problem with tiny ants in room, although to be expected in humid climate.
Hotel grounds wonderful with wlldlife such as lizards, water monitor, cheeky chip monks ( watch your drinks ) fruit bats, although some nuisance crows
Hotel building mostly open air with fish ponds and attractive decor.
Staff friendly and restaurant good. We were on All Inclusive package and found lunch time to be most enjoyable as quiet.
Animation team enthusiastic, my husband, got named "James Bond " ( I wish ) enjoyed the golf and bowls games, and became part of our holiday ! We had a good laugh with the other Brits /Germans who also played.
We used the spa, the massage and pedicure prices were cheaper than at home.
There is not much to do outside the hotel, there are a few shops over the railway line and we enjoyed chatting to the locals and trying to barter with them.
As we had done most of the sights on the tour, we mainly used this hotel to relax, although we did one trip with Sanka ( his shop is at the end of the road on the left ) to Galle, river cruise, stilt fishermen, and Turtle hatchery ( my highlight of the trip and must let out turtles into sea ) £105 in total was a good price.
The journey to the airport took 2 hours at 10 pm at night, Tip, if you have a late flight home, book an extra night holiday with your tour/travel company, works out at about the same price as with the hotel and you get your room until you leave with the All Inclusive package. ( some people were having to leave there rooms at 12 midday and did not continue with the all inclusive package)
Would recommend this hotel to family and friends, you must see the sights of Sri Lanka, we loved our vacation, many repeat returners at hotel.
Might have liked to spend less time here and some time in the Maldives.
Perhaps next time !
Andy ( James Bond ) and Clare

Room Tip: Top floor for views
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Had 10 nights here from the 1st March which I thoroughly enjoyed. Could not fault the hotel in any way, the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was excellent with a great variety (I especially liked the Sri Lankan Corner!!) and the rooms were comfortable and clean. They were carrying out maintenance in different areas of the hotel during my stay which is reassuring. It was a bonus having the beach so close for walks along the sand, beware of the
sea though as the currents are very strong. Only had one day trip during my stay to the orphanage/tea factory, this was an excllent day out even if it was a scary mini bus ride there and back!! I would happily stay at the Tangerine Beach Hotel in the future and certainly recommend it to anyone thinking of staying there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

just got back last sun 17 th march .what a fab place to visit sri lanka .the hotel was good plenty of english peeps to talk to the russians seem to disappear of a evening so it was easy of a night time to sit and listen to english tunes being played .i am surprised that no one has mentioned the fantastic array of wildlife in the tangerine beach hotel .we upgraded our room for a price of 90 squid got us a ground floor with flat screen tv and beaut bathroom out side was lovely fruit trees festooned with bats yes bats hanging and feeding .also we saw monitor lizards wandering about also cheeky chipmonks who would feed from your hands .terrapins and large koi carp in the many ponds in the grounds .that r lovely and well kept .one night coming out of the bar quite late the lawns seem to move no we werent drunk it was a sea of crabs .absoloutely brill .we done a couple of trips one was with the reps to yala national park and orphan feeding station.also included was river cruise saw loads crocs elephants exotic birds wart hogs deer monkeys large hares and that was during the day .also included turtles hatchery loadsa babies if u go at night u can help release them .friends at hotel did it and was very moved by it .we did whale watching with a guy up the road from hotel expensive 80 ep each only saw one blue whale but was probally un lucky .it really is a great hotel i think it should be a 4 star ,staff brill very clean hotel food was ok always something for all no matter what nationality.met lots of lovely people .on our last night saw a fab show only cost a 5ver in aid of the staff fund?so if they do it again my advice is to get a ticket .we tipped the room boy and the pool guy cos they looked after us but didnt feel pressured by any one else .the trip from airport is long especially in the rush hour but worth it in the end .go to sri lanka enjoy ,the tangerine beach hotel we did and would go again .

Room Tip: the ground floor facing the sea r good for watching the bat antics and white ibis
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a wonderful stay we had in this hotel.After our long journey the lovely greeting and warm welcome when we arrived,a cool drink in our hands and a warm towel to refresher us.Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.Plenty of choice of food which was always hot and delicious puddings always presented well.Our room was lovely though the bathroom could have been updated a bit but it was nothing to complain about.Clean towels and sheets everyday and on our last day our room boy had written goodbye in petals on our bed which was a lovely personal touch and very considerate in the time it must have taken him to do .We would personally recommend this hotel to anyone and go back there again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 233 overlooking pool and seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I know im doing this the other way round but i am about to go to the Tangerine Beach in a couple of weeks time and cant wait! Judging by the looks of the reviews, im in for an enjoyable stay. I wondered if anyone could recommend suitable transport. I am going with my family, one of which is elderly and am wanting a man with a van for the 8 day duration. We have got a price to be collected from the airport and taken to our hotel which i understand is around a 2 hour journey, and have been quoted 65 USD (£43) which seems awfully expensive, and that is only one way! Any help anyone could offer here would be greatly appreciated.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tangerine Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangerine Beach Hotel

Address: Abrew Drive Waskaduwa, Kalutara, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#6 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tangerine Beach Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Tangerine Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangerine Beach Kalutara
Hotel Tangerine Beach
Tangerine Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tangerine Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.