We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels to your Saves list
The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kudawaskaduwa. Waskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Ramada Resort Kalutara)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Kalutara
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here in April of this year for two weeks with two young children.The rooms were clean and very modern and had fantastic sea views. They were cleaned to perfection every day. The food was amazing catering for all our individual tastes. The staff could not do enough for you especially in the dining areas and were great with the children. The pool and grounds were fantastic for the children. The only down side is that there was nothing around the hotel and Kalutara was not really geared up for tourists. I think this hotel might not be so good for couples who would want to be out and about more than we did, however trips to Galle and Kandy are readily available and inexpensive.

Room Tip: The higher up you are the better the view, the fifth floor being the best and there were adjoining r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    122
    42
    20
    8
See reviews for
70
136
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed the stay. The room were very . Spacious, clean and organized with nice lighting. The swiming pool and beach view were really great from the room. Beside. That the swimming pool was very big and clean really. My family enjoyed swimming. Foods great taste. The things we didnot like the one of the reception staff called to our room to ask us to pay the spa service we used . His manner was unpolite really, Dealing with us like this . Another receptionist male didnot pay back the change and keeping make us laughing and making jokes to let us forgeting the money change he must pay back to us . Wifi signal not reaching the room . Although these things happen . We really like this hotel .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay! No complaints on anything until we were ready to leave. The staff were amazing. Best service! Food was Just what we were craving for. Paid up and ready to leave and then we find a scratch on the drivers side of the car. The scratch started at the front and ended on the petrol tank door! Hired car mind u! Yet cost us less than 10USD to get it sorted. Yet.... even though we told staff and they even checked it out, we didnt get a single word out of them. lol. BUT.... we will go back to Sands! We loved the place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

we Stayed 12 days in this hotel and we were very well looked after. we had a wonderful time, special thanks to Malika, Chef Sunil, GM and all the staff who looked after us, The food was very Authentic and one of the best I've had in sri lanka, if you love Authentic Sri Lankan food, this is the place to be, special thanks to Chef Sunil, and the other Chefs. there are loads of choices and top of that there are 4 chefs cooking to order in the 'hot kitchen' so youre spoiled for choices, the staff are well trained and very polite and I was very well pleased with the service.
Rooms were clean and spacious, we had rooms next to each other and there are middle doors to connect the rooms if needed. Bathrooms were clean and new, and rooms were made quick in the moring, we enjoyed the animals made with towels by Asiri.
join the water Aerobics at 10 am followed by the water polo, exiting game and its also a good way to break ice and bond with the others. Lovely place to stay, sea is rough but this place is good to relax, and chill... try local Arrak and specially Lian Lager, they are good
if you go to get a massages/therapy please tell them what level of intensity you would need.. they do offers for couples, and a good way to relax...
we will defo be there again and recomend this hotel to anyone.. thanks to all the staf and the management.

Room Tip: if you go 3,4,5 th floors the views are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here for just 1 night, comfy bed, clean sheets , however the bathroom was leaking a little, didnt bother us much as it dried out pretty soon. We booked the Cabana's which were a bit spacious than the normal rooms. The food was not bad but they badly need on improving on the varieties, The salad bar just had a few vegetables only and 1 dressing !!! During Breakfast food that was overcooked was also served ( Milk Rice all gooeeey) i guess no one had it as it was full. One thing i noticed was that their attention to detail when it comes to locals is not good compared to what they give to foriegners. Other than that I would say its value for money !!!

Room Tip: Choose the Cabana's they are close to the garden and facing the beach. Has more space rather tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel was clean and the staff were helpful. The food was average not a great spread but ok. There is a nice beach behind the hotel. Sea was little rough during our stay so couldn't bathe in the sea. There is a big swimming pool too. The hotel had organised a sing-a-long session in the night and was very good and enjoyable. The rooms (deluxe) were very big and clean. But need to mention that we had to wait for a long time after 2pm to get the rooms since they were not ready.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My first time to Sri Lanka. Aiken Spence own several hotels on the island. The Sands is about 2-3 miles out of town (70pence tut tut ride) The hotel has recently been refurbished and it shows. All rooms are very comfortable and well appointed with sea views & balcony. What makes this hotel so special is the lovely friendly and helpful staff. I read the review about poor check-in, ours was a dream. The menu was great with a wide choice both Sri Lankan spicy food and European fare for the less adventurous...but everything was cooked to perfection. Outside, the pool was good with a lifeguard on site at all times. There is a hard working animation team with usual pool activities and croquet. I make it sound so boring, but this was one of the best hotels at the price. I loved it.

Room Tip: The currents make sea swimming impossible anywhere on the island bet Feb - Nov. The rooms on 2nd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels

Address: Kudawaskaduwa. Waskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Ramada Resort Kalutara)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Kalutara Hotel Kalutara
Ramada Hotel Kalutara
Ramada Kalutara
Kalutara Ramada
Ramada Resort Sri Lanka
The Sands By Aitken Spence Hotels Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.