We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor rooms but better food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Grass Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Green Grass Hotel to your Saves list
Green Grass Hotel
33, Aseervatham Lane, Hospital Rd, Jaffna, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Jaffna
DC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Poor rooms but better food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

It was very unfortunate to highlight the fact that this hotel is not worth for the money. Bathroom fittings were improper, broken and dirty. Doors were not safe and the mattress was damaged. The rooms are worth 60% of the price paid, based on the existing quality and other services. However, the food was good and the staffs were friendly. I don’t blame hotel staff for the weaknesses. It should be a management responsibility to maintain the guests’ facilities. Unfortunately, it seems to me like the owner is trying to make maximum without providing the adequate facilities. It is a shame.
I hope the management would take immediate actions to improve the facilities and conditions of the rooms without further delays.

Room Tip: Do not take room no: 01 if you need your privacy and need a good sleeping quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
17
24
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We moved here after our first guesthouse was very dirty. The room was clean if a little stuffy, however it was fine with the a/c on (which was included in price). The receptionist was very helpful and there is an extensive menu in the evening.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Me and my friend recently stayed at green grass Hotel. Without doubt this an extremely well managed hotel and we have never stayed at a place where the staff have been so consistently helpful, friendly. Nothing was too much bother for any of them unless the construction. Our room was extremely comfortable and well appointed. The hotel provides good access for those with mobility issues.

We also stayed another hotel before the day, it was really disgusting. Anyway we found a nice hotel in Jaffna city.

They are forming a new building with deluxe and suite, near the railway station construction also almost finished, I hope we’ll go next time by train.

We are looking forward to our next visit ……..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Me and my family visited Jaffna...
stayed at green grass. good hotel & reasonable prices.
they have the typical jaffna food specially crab curry dishes...
friendly staff they arranged us the tours around Jaffna....

This was memorable stay for us also they gave us 20% discount voucher on there deluxe rooms for the next year.

Room Tip: prices are very reasonable.............
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Jaffna has very limited choices when it comes to Food & stay.
Green grass is popular with expats since this is the oldest hotel in Jaffna where most foreigners stay.
Breakfast is ok and you get good Jaffna food.
Rooms need renovation but clean.
outside area is superb with a swimming pool.
Evenings cant enjoy the garden resataurant with drink beacuse of too many mosquitos.

Room Tip: Although this hotel is popular recently new hotels have come up check those out. But it may be costl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Visited with my family and there were three of us. Since we were happy to share we got a triple room. The room was quite old and the bathroom smelt of sewage. Had to get our own lime and vinegar and empty it into the drains. The shower was dismal. The water only managed to wet me after about 2 mins. I used the pool and the shower near the pool most of the time and it was better.
We ordered dinner by the poolside this was good as the evening breeze was very cooling. The dinner was ok nothing to write about.
This place was recommended to us as the best place to stay. Maybe I didn't get a good room but it wasn't that great.
The new building seems to have a few more modern rooms. It will be good to come back and experience these rooms.
Overall it was an OK stay. I would come back once the rooms have been updated.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The food is fine but the rooms are bad. Service here is really bad. They don't treat you well. They don't have good facilities. The aircond does not work properly. The ground floor toilets smells bad. The rooms are dirty and dusty. They are not well planned. They don't get things done in time as well.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaffna hotels
0.0 mi away
PJ Hotels
PJ Hotels
#1 of 6 in Jaffna
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tilko Jaffna City Hotel
0.0 mi away
Jaffna Heritage Hotel
Jaffna Heritage Hotel
#2 of 30 in Jaffna
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Taprospa Palm Leaves
Taprospa Palm Leaves
#9 of 30 in Jaffna
3.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lux Etoiles
Hotel Lux Etoiles
#10 of 30 in Jaffna
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Clock Tower
Hotel Clock Tower
#12 of 30 in Jaffna
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Grass Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Grass Hotel

Address: 33, Aseervatham Lane, Hospital Rd, Jaffna, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Northern Province > Jaffna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Jaffna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Green Grass Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Grass Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.