We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ice cream place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Ice Cream

Rio Ice Cream
448A Point Pedro Rd, Jaffna 40000, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Jaffna
Cuisines: Chinese, Ice Cream, Sandwiches
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best ice cream place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The kids loved this place so we went there everyday to have icecream while in Jaffna. The prices were very good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    39
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dandenong, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Kithule ice cream a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

After visiting the Nallur Kovil, the tuk tuk driver obviously had a hankering for an ice cream (our shout of course), but it was a nice break, the ice cream was good, especially the kithule flavoured one, which is like maple syrup, and is distiller from (strangely enough) the kithule tree.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overrated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I ordered the "sherbet" which was not sherbet at all. It was a hot pink drink that tasted like cough medicine and was pretty much disgusting. My fiance got their chocolate nut sundae and was very disappointed, he only got like 3 nuts in it. I don't see what the big deal is about this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The world famous Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I love their signature ice cream which always making us happy to taste it. I never miss Rio in Jaffna and have tasted all the flavors and menus. I like the RIO special ice cream as well as the nelly drink.
Felt that the place is too crowded and we have to wait sometimes to catch a place to sit and enjoy the ice cream, same time people will wait for your place.
RIO management should expand the place and heard that they are putting up a new place closer to the current location.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good and Bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Tasty. But inspite of requesting for a icecream without pinapple, they served one with pinapple which caused me to suffer a lot and happened to see a Doctor.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Ice Cream also viewed

Jaffna, Northern Province
Jaffna, Northern Province
 
Jaffna, Northern Province
Jaffna, Northern Province
 

Been to Rio Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.