We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but could do better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Citrus Hikkaduwa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Citrus Hikkaduwa to your Saves list
Citrus Hikkaduwa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka (Formerly Amaya Reef)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
“Great place but could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice 4-star rooms and facilities. Good central location, though it's about 10 mins walk (best do along the beach in order to avoid the stupid Marine Park entrance fee) to the real reef-protected area with year round safe swim which starts at Tranz hotel. Good TV, airco, bathroom with amenities; but do note that not all Superior rooms have full sea view, mine was 1st floor and mostly watched the restaurant. Excellent 4-star breakfast food and service (did not try dinner buffet) and nice evening entertainment.
Main downside is organisation, probably caused by staff training level. Went to pool 7:30 AM (it opens at 7) and the cleaner told 'pool boy with towels coming soon'; 8:45 he still was not there and of course already had gone to room and used room towel. Also checkout was quite chaotic, with the 2 staff members at the desk both talking to other guests and in between pointing me to a cashier counter which I did not need at all (room was prepaid and no extras). But if you can get a good price, please do visit the Citrus!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinithi V, E-Business Development Executive at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank You for posting a review on Citrus Hikkaduwa.
We are truly delighted that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the hotel. Encouragement from reviews such as yours is what helps our whole team stay motivated to offer the best possible services to our guests.

Our staff most definitely do their utmost to provide a consistent service to our guests, however we will indeed advice our team accordingly and and improve our services further on the points mentioned.

We are very humbly elated with regards to the comments we have received and would be pleased to accommodate you at Citrus Hikkaduwa once again in the near future.

Best Regards

Dinithi Vithanage
E-Business Development Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    140
    74
    31
    22
See reviews for
76
150
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was a bit dissapointed with this hotel
Good: Service ended up being friendly, but felt we were shuned for the first day. Lots of sun beds. Plenty of places for rockpooling and seeing natural wildlife up close, ie turtles. Clean room with good bathroom, nice and bright. Good bar area, though some staff were a bit surly, others very friendly.

Bad: Check in was supposed to be at 12, weren't able to check in until several hours after that and we weren't alone. Wifi was unreliable throughout the hotel, we had to use the next hotel's along for most of it. Buffet very average, and tried to order room service once and were directed towards the dinner buffet. Pool is definitely smaller than looks and not particularly nice to swim in. Beach around hotel can't be swum in. Only given a sheet on the bed so I was quite cold as partner feels the heat badly.

Room Tip: Choose a high room as it's on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinithi V, E-Business Development Executive at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for posting your review abour Citrus Hikkaduwa.We are extremely pleased to hear that you were happy with our services,room
as well as the excursions around the area.

In addition,we would like to aplogize for the inconvinience casued during the time of check in and would do our best to rectify any such issues in the future.
Currently we do have Wi-Fi available only in the lobby area however we would extend this review to the relevant department for the neccessary actions to be taken.
We constantly try to attain customer satisfaction and therefore we would definitely do our level best to address each of the concerns mentioned on the review.

We would love for you to revisit us at Citrus Hikkaduwa in order for us to further serve you better.

Best Regards

E- Business Development Executive
Dinithi Vithanage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were a group of 6 friends and it was our annual get together. This time we had chosen Sri Lanka as the destination. While we thought a 7 day trip is just too much for the trip, we later realised that it was still not sufficient.

Hikkaduwa was our choice for chilling out and seeking some relaxation alongside the beach town. Citrus Hikkaduwa was the obvious choice for all of us because it looked promising and met all our objectives, even at the time of the booking and after we reached the property.

Citrus Hikkaduwa was in a good location, rooms were clean and well maintained, had a nice swimming pool, friendly and helpful staff, awesome buffet (offering a good choice of vegetarian and non vegetarian spread), a good wifi spot, an awesome spa. A lot of most happening locations in Hikkaduwa are very close to this property. The supermarket just opposite to the hotel makes for some good travel shopping. The only downside which we had was that the bathrooms were a bit smelly, nevertheless, it was not a very serious issue which could be quoted as a negative point against this property.

Please do make it a point that you hire two wheelers (the rental outlets are located very close to this hotel) and travel to Galle and the turtle hatcheries.

In summary, it was all fun and thanks for the nice service Citrus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are awful! Dark and dirty walls, small and dirty bathroom... The location is bad, no beach at all! Near the hotel the beach acces is bad, a lot of stones in the water. The food is poor. They play a pretty good music in the evening.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinithi V, E-Business Development Executive at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to sincerely apologize for the negative experience faced by you. Following which we will inquire about thecriteria mentioned on your review with the hotel and do our level best to eradicate these problems and provide customer such as yourself a comfortable and pleasant stay at Citrus Hikkaduwa.

Thank You very much for taking the time to write the above review as it keeps us informed on the areas we should improve on.

We look forward to welcoming you and making your memories at Citrus Hikkaduwa a much more delightful experience in the future.

Best Regards
Dinithi Vithanage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Review of Dec 2011
---------------------------

We were a large group of 16 and stayed at the Citrus for 5 days during the New Year's time. There were some initial hiccups with room allotment etc but once that was smoothed out we had a beautiful time at the resort. The rooms were of decent size, clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The rooms have balconies which open up to the views of the ocean. (Tip - Opt for a room on the higher floors)

The beach outside the resort is quite rocky and not very sandy. But the views from the open air restaurant/bar are excellent.

The staff was very friendly and attentive and took good care of a large and demanding group of people. The food was fine. The pool and the bar by its side was excellent.

After celebrating New Year's eve at a beach side shack in Hikkaduwa, we came back to the resort and partied till the wee hours. The staff joined us as well.

Overall, a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Choose the higher up rooms for a better view of the pool side and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv, Ukraine
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Everything in this hotel was worth maximum 3 starts, the furniture is old and shower did not work properly. Wifi coverage is very small and unstable. The pool is small, much smaller than on the pics provided by hotel.

The only thing I liked is the bar area near the ocean where you can have a drink and enjoy amazing sunset.

Room Tip: Never choose room 302, all the kitchen smells live there :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinithi V, E-Business Development Executive at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at Citrus Hikkaduwa and for your valuable insight provided through your review.

First and foremost we would like to sincerely apologize for the negative experience faced by you at the hotel and we will definitely take into account each and every detail you have mentioned on your review and strive to completely eliminate such circumstances taking place in the future. Your review is of utmost important to us and we will definitely inform the relevant departments to take the necessary actions to provide guest such as yourself a much more comfortable and enjoyable stay in the future.

We would also like to thank you whole heartedly for the kind comments made about Citrus Hikkaduwa as it is through such feedback our team gets encouraged to provide the best services to our guests.

Whilst thanking you once again for your feedback on Citrus Hikkaduwa, we would be delighted to serve you once again in the near future.

Regards
Dinithi Vithanage
E-Business Development Executive
Citrus Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at Citrus Hikkaduwa for 3 nights in December, and it was a great experience. Rooms were very comfortable and very pleasant to stay in. I believe all rooms have a sea view, but we got rooms on the highest floor, which gave the best view that the hotel offered, which was nice. The beach was quite alright, and offered fairly pleasant walks.

Hotel food was very good, and reasonably priced. Special mention has to go to the staff and their service, which was exceptional. Apart from their general services, on many occasions they went out of their way to help out in whatever was necessary. Overall, an excellent place to spend a couple of days at the beach

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a sea view, but getting one on the highest floor gives the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Citrus Hikkaduwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Hikkaduwa

Address: 400 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka (Formerly Amaya Reef)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citrus Hikkaduwa 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miles of golden sands. Days spent lazing on the beach in the heart of Sri Lanka's Southern Coastal Belt, or exploring the ocean, diving shipwrecks, and snorkeling the reef. Poolside cocktails. Seaside lobster. Beach walks. Rainforest excursions. Friendly smiles and personalized service, whether you are a first-time guest or one of the many repeat visitors. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Citrus Hikkaduwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Hikkaduwa Hotel Hikkaduwa
Amaya Reef Hikkaduwa
Amaya Reef Hotel Hikkaduwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citrus Hikkaduwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.