We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aditya

Save Saved
You added Aditya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aditya
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   719/1 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Hikkaduwa
Cheltenham Glos
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Arrived at hotel to be informed that we had been 'upgraded' to the Surya penthouse suite which was just amazing! A suite on two levels with two balconies!! The top balcony had the most wonderful views overlooking the ocean along with spa, outside sink and an outside WC (novel!), tables, chairs and sunloungers! The bathroom was amazing with the largest wet room I have ever been in ... comfortable sofas, sky tv ... huge bedroom... tea/coffee facilities... fridge... everything you could need .....fantastic!

Food was first class with service to match! The staff were extremely warm and friendly. Staff were most helpful in organising any trips out ...

We shall be back and hope we will be lucky to get the upgrade next time we call!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at Aditya! It was a pleasure having you with us and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you at Aditya soon!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    31
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
43
189
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We only stayed here one night, in the "Indra" room which was sea-facing.

The room was very large and well-fitted out, with a large bathroom which was partially open air. Both the room and the bathroom were on 2 separate levels, so you had to be careful when wandering around at night without the lights on. The balcony was large, with footstools (a great touch) and with the sight and sound of the sea, so so relaxing. The "plunge pool" in the bathroom looked more like a large bath!

The hotel grounds gave access to a (public) beach just beyond which seemed very quiet.

The hotel itself was compact and well-decorated, with a lovely pool area and nice dining area partially open air. We found the food to be of very high quality and, considering the standard of the hotel, surprisingly well-priced.

The other guests were quiet couples and did not appear to socialise much with each other. The place, in short, is a charming "boutique" hotel which is very quiet and perfect for relaxation.

If we were to be pickly, we would have to say:
(1) We were surprised by how small the hotel grounds were. Essentially the outside of the hotel comprises the pool and a smallish lawned area. The building itself stretches across the length of the plot. The grounds are very nice, but not a lot to wander round!
(2) There is no getting away from the fact that it is expensive by Sri Lankan standards, but you are paying for a small exclusive "boutique" hotel of very high quality.
(3) Finally, the hotel was so peaceful as there were no screaming kids running around. If there had been any, the atmosphere would have been very different as you cannot escape them! It should really be an adults-only hotel.

As with everything else, you get what you pay for, and the Aditya is an expensive luxury well worth trying for a few nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your wonderful comments of Aditya on Tripadvisor and we are glad that you found your stay relaxing and enjoyable.

We hope you understand that in order to maintain our high level of service and facilities, with rising costs, we are compelled to charge the rates that we do.

We hope that you will be back and look forward to welcoming you soon!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days at Aditya last year and it was just an idyllic way to end our Sri Lankan holiday so we repeated the experience again this year and somehow it wasn't quite the same. Maybe our expectations were that much higher this time but I felt the cooking was less creative than last time and prices have certainly shot up in the past 12 months. The room cost 70 USD per night more this year and all items of F&B have increased by 10-20% so that you are now paying top European hotel prices. We had a lovely relaxing time however and the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome so I do hope to return one day if the inflation rate calms down.
I would also recommend to western visitors to try the Sri Lankan breakfast with hoppers, chicken curry and chilli sambal as a great way to kick start your day.

Room Tip: They have three types of room and we have booked the Ocean view Sagara suites both times and would r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your great review of Aditya! We are so glad that you visited us again.

We are indeed saddened that you did not enjoy your trip as you expected to. We sincerely hope you will understand that Sri Lanka is currently experiencing an inflation rate of 12%. We have only increased our rates by 5% since your last stay with us and have absorbed the rest of the increase in costs to ensure that our guests enjoy value for money during their stay at Aditya.

We hope that you will visit us again and hope that you will enjoy a stay that is both relaxing and enjoyable.

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My girlfriend and me spent 4 nights in January in Aditya and had a stunning time. Great hotel, great and helpful staff, very clean, perfect serivce. They will help you organize anything, from transportation to candlelight dinner right at the beach. We went out twice to eat in Hikkaduwa, but found the Hotel kitchen to be much better and similar in price, so we reccomend to eat in. Great chef, best cuttlefish I have ever eaten!
It is a little ways to Hikkaduwa, but only 350 Rupees for a TukTuk, so the quiet and peace is perfect.
We will come again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Aditya. Chef is delighted that you enjoyed the food!

We look forward to welcoming you back at Aditya soon!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Traveling for 2 week s in Sri Lanka with my wife and 3 kids this was the high point. Located right on the beach, the rooms are some of the best I have ever stayed in. Very quite and relaxed space. I would definitely recommend doing the Sri Lankan cooking class.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Aditya!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Beautiful and luxurious boutique hotel just outside Hikkaduwa. Focussing on relaxation, good food and good drinks this place is a haven for the discerning tourist and those who want a quiet escape from the hustle and bustle of Colombo. The entire hotel is a modern architecural marvel, the rooms a very large with a private spa/pool. WIth plenty of activities and day trips on offer the seclusion won't lead to boredom here! One of the best hotels I've stayed at in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for taking the time to give us a fantastic review on Tripadvisor. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and Aditya and hope that you will return soon for another relaxing break with us.

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We visited Aditya in the middle of January for 4 days. Just exactly what we expected based on reviews. A hidden gem in Sri Lanka.
For those who comes here just straight from the airport or going back from here: it takes a long journey. Take into consideration that the travel lenghts can vary between 2,5 and 4 hours. The cost of transfer was 115 dollars each way.
The hotel met our highest expectations. Privacy, luxury, personalised service.
We booked one suite, named Sagara. Note that this is only the type name of the suites, you can have from this type, with various names (our was called Sakra - which I think gives a basis to the pictures uploaded to tripadvisor with its stunning view).
For those who are shy pls note that the toilet is not separate from the bathroom, and whats more, from the half part of the terrace :) (dont be afraid, you cannot be seen from outside by other guests).
They have a pillow menu, which guarantees good night sleeps here. Also the bed was just comforable as at home.

Above expectations:
- we ate here every evening (4) in the hotels restaurant, where the chef created foods based on your wishes, not only from the menu. He is ready to serve you with your favorite dream dishes. Anyway the a'la carte menu is very complete with local and international dishes also. Everything was just excellent!
- room service any time free of charge
- beach. However its open for the public we met nobody there it was like a private beach. What was outsanding is the quality of the sand on the beach and under water. Like powder (yellow) and enough hard to walk into the ocean without any plants or dirt. Waves are big (at least when we were there)
- personalized service. Eg.: private dinner on the beach with no extra charge.
Room for development:
- wifi connection is sometimes poor
- there is no sunbed and umbrella on the beach
- sometimes we had difficulties with the stuff with the English language however the staff was very friendly and wanted to serve you the best way.
Trips we can really recommend from here (is in the offer of the hotels trips):
- Turtle hatchery + mangrove river private tour. Half day tour, cca 120 dollars/2 persons. This river tour was excellent, the best guided tour ever!
- Galle with tuk-tuk (ask for Neil, a local driver at the reception.He is very helpful,takes you wherever you want, shows local places of interest, helps you to find what you are looking for, and last but not least he is careful driver, which you will need very much on the road....) In Galle visit the market and the Galle Fort - best before sunset time. Also it worth to see the moonstone gallery.

All in all, I suppose this is the best resort in Sri Lanka for those who likes privacy, personalized service and small luxury resorts with beutiful surroundings.

We plan to return, for a longer period.

Room Tip: Sakra room - which is named Sagar suite in the hotel offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you your great review of Aditya and your valuable comments on our service, food and facilities. We are delighted that you have enjoyed the sights in and around Galle and we always try to bring a unique twist to your adventures in Sri Lanka.

It was wonderful having you with us and we are constantly trying to improve our wifi service although the weather and some corners of the Hotel do not allow flawless connectivity.

The sunbed is always available on the beach if the weather permits and we are investigating as to why you were not able to enjoy this luxury as well. We assure you that this will be available during your next stay at Aditya.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Aditya!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aditya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aditya

Address: 719/1 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#2 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aditya 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aditya is an exclusive all suite luxury boutique hotel on a hidden stretch of beach close to the historic city of Galle. The hotel is small and intimate and its rooms are amongst the largest and most lavishly appointed on the island. The accent is on unrestrained luxury, personalized service and total privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Aditya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aditya Hotel Hikkaduwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aditya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.