We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less value for money overall - but great food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aditya

Save Saved
You added Aditya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aditya
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   719/1 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Hikkaduwa
new delhi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Less value for money overall - but great food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

This is a good boutique hotel near Hikkaduwa. Expensive & less value for money overall.
Hotel has been designed aesthetically but does not have anything exceptionally different
Few things which disappointed me are as following:
1. Little value of money: I think they are over priced for the rooms or decor they offer to the guest. They charged me $350 approx for a room when hotel had only 2 rooms occupied. I was booked for a room which was $300 approx exclusive breakfast which was not sea facing. For sea facing room 'Smudra', they asked me to pay $50 additional when almost 90% hotel rooms were unoccupied.
2. Less personal: Since it is boutique hotel with 12 rooms only & if you paying almost $ 350 a night, one would expect a hotel manager to at least come & greet/meet you for basic courtesies of asking how the guest is doing. Never happened.
3. Food prices are way above in comparison to other similar hotels. A meal for two would cost you approx $150-200.

What I liked in the hotel are:
1. Great food: Didn't meet the chef, but food was excellent. Very well prepared food, delicious & extremely well presented.
2. Restaurant Staff: Staff at restaurant was very courtesies & extremely attentive.
3. Great view of ocean: View from the room was really good. It has huge balcony & view to ocean is very nice

They need to work on personalization of services for the guest & little bit on the prices. Value for money seems to missing. The upgradeable room with extra $50 each night still hurts as hotel had less than 10% occupancy. They need to be more accommodative to guest needs & desires rather than always thinking of money.

Overall great hotel for relaxing for good 3-4 days. Food superb.

Room Tip: Stay in Sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments about Aditya. and it sure was a pleasure having you with us.

To answer a few points you made about the suites and its availability, Sagara suites, which have a sea view, are sold at a premium and guests are often not hesitant to pay a higher price for this added luxury. Usually we do not offer free upgrades if we have them available.

The four course meals served at Aditya are competitively priced and are as we hear often, exceptionally good; some of the finest in the area.

We appreciate your comments about our service. We pride ourselves on our service that is personal but not intrusive so as to allow our guests to feel the privacy that we have promised them. Staff is always at hand to cater to your requests.

Aditya is an ideal location for relaxing and unwinding. We sincerely hope that we, at Aditya, did not fall short in this regard.

I have a very fond memory of having a chat with you in my office during your stay at Aditya and wish to convey my regards and wish you success in your business.

Thank you
Aditya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    31
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
43
189
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

we went for our honeymoon for 04days/03nights, i wish we could stay more, as everything was excellent the service, food, hospitality & everyone was so helpful...
it was so relaxing as there is only 12 rooms which make the hotel very quiet :) i advise everyone to try it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about Aditya. We, at Aditya, are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will visit us again.

On behalf of all of us at Aditya,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed at aditya for 6 days at the start of a 3 week tour of Sri Lanka and we got married on the 5th day at the hotel on the beach. The rooms were exceptional in space, quality and design. We had a sea view room and then the suite wth a huge balcony, plunge pool and mezzanine bedroom. My parents stayed in garden room that was no less spectacular. The staff were incredibly plentiful, attentive and yet not obtrusive. The quality of the food would match that of any michelin restaurant with local fresh produce prepared with dazzling creativity and care. This was 5 star plus and not only one of the best hotels on the island but that i have ever stayed in - and i have stayed in a lot all over the world. If you are looking for that quiet beach paradise, a bit of privacy and luxury then this is the hotel to stay at - worth every penny and a charming and beautiful place for a wedding or romantic celebration.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about Aditya. We, at Aditya, are glad you enjoyed you stay and look forward to welcoming you again.

On behalf of all of us at Aditya,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed at Aditya with two children aged 6 and 9. It was a pleasure to stay at a Sri Lankan owned hotel where the professionalism and attention to detail was exceptional. Everyone who works at Aditya has great charm and genuine kindness from the moment you enter this serene place and smell the scent of Fragipani around your neck. Thank you to all the staff for making us and the kids so welcome. The pool guys were great with the children and played happily with them. I was "guarded" as I braved the pre monsoon sea and felt quiet safe. Nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is to die for and curry for breakfast is a new passion!

We watched two weddings from our balcony during our stay and they were done with so much intimacy and style and love.

It is indeed like staying at a private villa and could spoil you for staying anywhere else.

Order the warm spiced cashew nuts with your drink, wow!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about Aditya. We, at Aditya, are glad you enjoyed you stay and look forward to welcoming you again.

On behalf of all of us at Aditya,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

If you want a break which is relaxing, romantic and idyllic then this is the place. Everything is so wonderful that you will never want to leave. All of the rooms are great and the food is out of this world. I've stayed here 3 times and each time, without exception it has exceeded my expectations. I'd highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

On our tour of Sri Lanka we were lucky enoughto have stayed at the Aditya for 3 nights, it is a beautiful hotel very peaceful and calming. The suites are huge with beautiful decor and furnishings lots off lovely antiques and very large bathrooms. while we were there it was my husbands birthday, they made it very special for him, all the staff greeted him and wished him a Happy Birthday, they presented him with a lovely birthday cake at dinner, then when we went back to our room they had lit 30 or more candles all round the room it was very special. Th staff at the hotel are wonderful, always pleased to see you always smiling nothing is to much trouble, the restaurant is excellant serving delicious food all day and night again with wonderful staff.

This hotel is just perfect - a little gem, we hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

It is difficult to write anything different from what has already been said. Ignore the one poor review, we didn't suffer from mosquitoes nor did we mind the open bathroom. With temperatures over 30 deg C, the cool jacuzzi was very welcome. On one night we asked to eat on the beach, so we had a table set up overlooking the sea lit by lamps and the moon. Quite magical. This must be a great place for a honeymoon, but make sure you pay the extra for a sea view.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aditya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aditya

Address: 719/1 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#2 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aditya 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aditya is an exclusive all suite luxury boutique hotel on a hidden stretch of beach close to the historic city of Galle. The hotel is small and intimate and its rooms are amongst the largest and most lavishly appointed on the island. The accent is on unrestrained luxury, personalized service and total privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Aditya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aditya Hotel Hikkaduwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aditya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.