We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, views, and facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa to your Saves list
Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great service, views, and facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The views from each room's balcony are amazing, comprising mostly of the ocean and horizon and the pool and beach below.

We experienced the same problem as the prof (review below) in terms of the incredibly wet floors due to high levels of condensation in the room and housekeeping being tardy, requiring several calls before they showed up and when they did, only to mop the moisture around rather than to dry the floor. But the staff reallocated us to another room after we endured it for a night and the situation didn't get better. Actually the danger here is that the floor is concrete so when it gets so wet that there are puddles forming (which we experienced) it is incredibly slippery and both my wife and I had near misses.

However, the room we were reallocated did not have the same problem even though we crept the room temperature up instead of the allotted 21deg that they told us we had to keep the a/c at in order not to have the puddles forming again. So it was much more enjoyable at a dry and comfortable temperature.

The service is excellent at all restaurants. And the quality and value of food is superb....thus far unmatched across Sri Lanka (10 days in)

The rooftop spa azmaara is staffed by indonesian therapists and is worth a visit but be prepared to pay international prices not local.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused during your stay as we were experiencing some high condensation of the air conditioning, however we were able to rectify the matter. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our food and services provided. Thank you sincerely for taking time to raise your concerns. While assuring excellent services, we do hope you would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    212
    79
    32
    29
See reviews for
181
225
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A cost hotel located at Hikkaduwa It is a great place for Scuba diving. They do have the diving school at the hotel and hence it is so convenient for scuba divers. Hotel provides facilities for other sport facilities as well. Rooms are lovely and comfortable. RIght down the hotel is the lovely beach and this area is excellent for sea bathing. The staff here is wonderful and very helpful. Most attractive part is the buffet, I haven't seen such variety of starters any where else. Those starters are must try and so delicious. Ideal place for a family with little kids. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your review on Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed all our facilities during your stay with us. We are glad that you appreciated comforts of our rooms and the variety and quality of our Buffet. We eagerly look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

An absolute rejuvenating experience by the beach....Comfortable rooms,great food,scenic views with the most friendly staff.....
Many thanks,regards and best wishes to Mr.Harsha and Ms.Ganga (F& B)

Sam & Wath
Sri Lanka

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The rooms are lovely and plush as they are totally new. Food too is excellent with a great variety of action stations. The hotel is within walking distance of the lovely and cosy bars in the area. Service too is very good. I look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your review on Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you appreciated our spacious rooms and the great variety and quality of our food. Thank you for taking time to write to us and we do hope you would visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

After 2 weeks all inclusive at this hotel we didn't want to leave and would go back again in a shot. We chose to go during the start of the monsoon season, but even the weather treated us wonderfully. The staff here cannot do enough to help, the food is wonderful and the facilities are lovely. If you want a relaxing holiday with wonderful service this is the place for you!

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms have sea views, with incredible sunsets. Personally I'd choose a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you appreciated our hospitality, food and facilities. Our staff always strives hard to exceed guest expectations and we are glad that they made your holiday a memorable one. Thank you for taking time to write to us and we do hope you would visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serdang, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Having gone to Sri Lanka for five days, I stayed three days at this Hotel. The service and overall status was very poor. Not only my room all the rooms are wet throughout; the house keeping was called twice, but all what they did was to come and 'mop'. The TV was not working; on the first day the Reception was called twice and they came twice and fixed it, but to go back to "non functioning" status. On the next day the Reception was called twice and NO BODY turned up. The food is not worth for the exorbitant price the Hotel charges. While I was charged about 125 USD per room, with poor quality of service, it could be only valued at around 75-80 USD per night (I am comparing with the excellent quality of Hotels in Malaysia for 125 USD). John Keels Group should pull their socks up to provide a better service. Prof Wickramatillake (Malaysia)

Room Tip: Sri Lankan Hotels over charge. Do not go for a Hotel for over USD 80 or so as you would not get mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused during your stay. During the time of your stay we were experiencing some high condensation of the air conditioning of many rooms and this was a serious technical issue that we were facing, however we have now dealt with this. We apologize that the food quality did not meet your standard and kindly note we are constantly striving to increase our quality in both product and service. Your feedback has been invaluable to us and we thank you sincerely for taking time to raise your concerns. While assuring you that this sort of situation will be minimized in the near future, we do hope you would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have just spent 3 nights at Chaaya Tranz and I loved every minute of my stay. My wife and 3 children went with me and we had such a lovely time and we did not want to leave the hotel. The staff were so nice and friendly, very helpful and always trying to please us - we felt pampered.
The food was amazing. Every meal time was an exploration of an even better dining experience. My wife and I certainly enjoyed every meal, and my children were in love with the deserts.
the breath taking scenery of the ocean from our room was wonderful.
finding my way to the hotel was so easy as the hotel is well sign posted and so easy to get to. I recommend this place to anyone who wants a relaxing, comfortable holiday with great food. If you are travelling with family, this is certainly a good place to go to.

Room Tip: Ask for a comer room on the south side - the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated every aspect of our Hotel, from our well-appointed rooms, to service, facilities and dining. While thanking you for your feedback we eagerly look forward to your next visit with us, for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa

Address: Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#5 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 Km away from the bustling city of Colombo and located on the Southern shoreline of Sri Lanka is the district which offers a 24-hour party on the beach. Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa, rated a four star is built along the golden sands, calls out to all those who enjoy island-life and beach-life with a promise to pamper its guests with the Southern Sri Lankan hospitality. In each room there is a spacious private balcony looking out to a view of the Golden Belt of the South Coast. 2 family suites4 corner suites 4 deluxe rooms 140 Superior RoomsAir conditioned and equipped with a DVD player, 32” LCD TV, WiFi, mini bar, safety deposit box, telephone with IDD, complimentary tea and coffee making facility, hair dryer and complimentary toiletriesHotel Facilities and ServicesA selection of dining venues, the main restaurant, speciality crab restaurant, pool restaurant and coffee shop. A Lounge and pool bar that offers a wide array of local and international spirits; a roof-top spa facility, banquet hall and conference facility (80 pax). Moreover the hotel houses a fresh water swimming pool, PADI certified dive centre and an excursion counter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa Hotel Hikkaduwa
Coral Gardens Hikkaduwa
Coral Gardens Hotel Hikkaduwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.