We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa to your Saves list
Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Not a bad hotel. Stayed there for 3 nights with full board.

Staff was friendly, but our family is not really demanding so cannot comment on their helpfulness.

There is an agent that you can book whale/dolphin watching with. We really loved it even though was a bit pricey ($100 pp for 3 hr boat ride).

Food was really good. Good variety and good quality. Indoor and outdoor areas.

The thing we didn't like was that during the day it seemed like hotel let in school excursions in for kids to swim in the pool (not actual hotel guests) as there would be around 30 kids with only one or two adults.

Good decent speed FREE (I know it's not a big deal and it's most likely already in the rate but still it's nice that people are not trying to charge you even more) internet in the room.

Probably only real complaint about the hotel is it's location. It pretty much didn't have a beach (very rocky). So it wasn't very compelling to swim in the ocean there.

Otherwise was really lovely! Will probably stay there again if I come to that area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario S, General Manager at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa, responded to this review, January 21, 2012
Many thanks for your review and greetings from Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, my team and I are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. i have taken note of the group of children in the Resort that day we have taken steps to reduce the number of groups over the weekend in the resort.

I thank you for your excellent feedback on the quality of your stay. On behalf of all team members, I hope to welcome you back one day very soon.

Regards

Mario Stanic
General Manager
Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa
mario.khms@keels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    211
    79
    32
    29
See reviews for
181
225
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Arrived for the week after x-mas. Had to wait 3 hours until rooms (3 in total) were ready for check in (and we arrived at 14.00 hrs, so the time that rooms should have been ready). One of the rooms was one of the corner suites. For the price asked for the suite, no extra service given and for example, no luxury toiletries (there is a jacuzzi on the balcony but without any toiletries nor a place to put for example soap). Bath room is the same as in the other rooms and a big disappointment for a suite. In shower, no place to put your shoer gel or shampoo then on the floor. Making of rooms was only done late in the afternoon and no bed service given in the evening. In suite, no extras what we are used to get in any other hotels that are a luxury hotel (e.g. daily fresh fruit, some chocolates in the evening on the pillow, some noce decortions with flowers on the bed etc). Staff is not speaking English well enough to be of service (e.g. trying to get decafeinated coffee after dinner is impossible since none of the staff working in the restaurant had a clue what this is). It was very hard to get a second key of the room (even if in one room 3 persons stayed). Diving school, although advertised to be in the hotel (and one of the reasons we booked this hotel) was not yet opened. In suite, not possible to turn the TV from the bed room to the living room (has to be lifted and turned by 2 persons). Bed room is not closed (opening above the tv) and although alnmost all windows has curtains, the one in the kitchen not and this is the one where in the morning the sun comes trough and thus very bright in the room the moment it starts to be light (and thus impossible to sleep in). Balconies are nice but you can look into the balcony of the floor below. Compared to other hotels at the coast of Sri Lanka in the same price range (and since we live in Sri Lanka, we have been in many), definitely the poorest service and standards and definitely not the luxury one can find in the other hotels in the same price range and thus not to be recommended unless management makes the necessary improvements.

Room Tip: Take another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario S, General Manager at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Hello for the team at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa I thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I would like to apologies for the shortfall in rooms & service as outlined in your review as you had pointed out the room was not ready till a couple of hours after 2 p.m. That weekend the resort was running 100 % and sadly we were waiting for other guest to check out of your rooms, on such days many guest don’t check out on time thus delaying the turnaround of check in rooms.
I am aware of some of the design challenges in the room i.e. The window between the living room and bedroom the balcony issues and the little window in the pantry we are in the progress of adjusting these issues to ensure a better quality of suite.
I have taken note of your comments on the lack of special items in our suites and I am investigation this matter and reviewing our standards for the future. I would like to invite you back for a future visit to see our improvements. Should you wish to do so please contact me directly at the Hotel?
I would like to thank for you for all of your feedback and I and the team hope to welcome you back to Chaaya Tranz one day very soon.

Mario Stanic
General Manager
Chaaya Tranz
mario.khms@keells.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Tranz is a great hotel, which has been refurbished recentlhy. The rooms are pretty comfortable and the view is anazing. The beach next to the hotel is not too sandy but the corals by the beach are rich in fish and various types of sea creatures. A turtle had come ashore when we were at Tranz which was a great experience. The food was good although could have had a greater selection. The new look is cool!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario S, General Manager at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Many thanks for your review and greetings from Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, my team and I are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I thank you for your excellent feedback on the quality of your stay. On behalf of all team members, I hope to welcome you back one day very soon.

Regards

Mario Stanic
General Manager
Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa
mario.khms@keels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at the Tranz for one night and had a great stay at the hotel despite the weather. The check in was a bit chaotic as the hotel was quite full but we were given our rooms within 20 minutes.
Having been to the hotel before the refurbishment, i must say that the hotel has improved in look and service remarkably. The rooms were fantastic and loved the cookies kept at the bedside table during the turn down service! The food was not bad but would have preferred more action stations (the action stations at lunch and dinner was very similar).
Now for the draw backs...
At the moment this hotel is not very rain friendly and the open area gets rather wet with heavy rain which makes it impossible to sit in the lounge area without feeling the wetness. But since this is a new hotel i guess this too will be remedied very soon. The reception area and most areas in the lounge areas are very warm as there are either no fans or very few fans fitted in. Room service is very expensive and the portions are not large at all which means your paying premium prices for small quantities. Water too is very expensive!!!
Although the cocktails were expensive they were really good :)
Lifts are tiny hence a trip up and down takes a very very long time and they take ages to come!!!! I took the stairs most times as it was always faster and less claustrophobic!
Service wise all the wait staff were extremely helpful and always willing to lend a helping hand!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario S, General Manager at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa, responded to this review, December 31, 2011
Many thanks for your review and greetings from Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, my team and I are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the cocktails in the bar, in regards to our In room dining prices we do conduct market survey to set our prices. I have met with my kitchen team to review the sizes of our dishes served in that area to enhance the guest experience.

I thank you for your excellent feedback on the quality of your stay. On behalf of all team members, I hope to welcome you back one day very soon.

Regards

Mario Stanic
General Manager
Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa
mario.khms@keels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We arrived in this hotel one week after the official opening. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. Our room has a nice balcony. There is an opening in the roof between the room and the balcony. When you are staying in a room on the first floor, the rain comes down on the floor between the room and the balcony, causing a lot of noise and water on the balcony.
Upon arrival some articles were missing and not everything was working properly. We mentioned this several times to the reception and it took some time before even the simplest problems were solved. However the wifi in our room still is not working. All we hear is: it should be working. But it´s not. They also tried to repair the toilet, but it´s still leaking water. Let's hope they will repair it soon; we stay here for another three nights.
The food is good, with a big selection of western and Asian food. Also staff is very friendly.
We less appreciated the fact that we were forced to sit outside during dinner tonight while there was a lot of wind and rain, as the dining hall inside was fully reserved for one or more groups.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the first floor when it's raining, as the rain causes a lot of noise coming down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario S, General Manager at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa, responded to this review, December 31, 2011
Hello for the team at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa I thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am aware of the lack of Wi Fi during your stay, we have our connection with a local phone (network) company at times when the hotel is full as it was that weekend the network output can be slow. I am happy to advise that we have met with the company and our network strengths has improved.
At times we do take groups into the Hotel naturally we try and please all guests , sadly that night we had a major storm so that outside area which is normally the most requested was as you pointed out was wet and windy is some areas. I am happy to read that the team was friendly and that you enjoyed our food.
I would like to thank for you for all of your feedback and I hope to welcome you back to Chaaya Tranz one day very soon.
Regards

Mario Stanic
General Manager
Chaaya Tranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa

Address: Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#5 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 Km away from the bustling city of Colombo and located on the Southern shoreline of Sri Lanka is the district which offers a 24-hour party on the beach. Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa, rated a four star is built along the golden sands, calls out to all those who enjoy island-life and beach-life with a promise to pamper its guests with the Southern Sri Lankan hospitality. In each room there is a spacious private balcony looking out to a view of the Golden Belt of the South Coast. 2 family suites4 corner suites 4 deluxe rooms 140 Superior RoomsAir conditioned and equipped with a DVD player, 32” LCD TV, WiFi, mini bar, safety deposit box, telephone with IDD, complimentary tea and coffee making facility, hair dryer and complimentary toiletriesHotel Facilities and ServicesA selection of dining venues, the main restaurant, speciality crab restaurant, pool restaurant and coffee shop. A Lounge and pool bar that offers a wide array of local and international spirits; a roof-top spa facility, banquet hall and conference facility (80 pax). Moreover the hotel houses a fresh water swimming pool, PADI certified dive centre and an excursion counter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa Hotel Hikkaduwa
Coral Gardens Hikkaduwa
Coral Gardens Hotel Hikkaduwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.