We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach with pool and nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ocean View Cottage to your Saves list
Ocean View Cottage
Galle road | Thiranagama, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Right on the beach with pool and nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Nice big clean rooms. Had a private balcony overlooking the private garden with pool and also the beach and ocean. Pool was small and shallow. Good for kids but also adequate for cooling off during sunbathing.
Just a little down the road from all the hectic places on the main road.
The hotel breakfast was good enough. Standard. Ate nothing else here since restaurant was empty. Most people go down the road to restaurants instead.
The hotel does not serve any beer or alcohol at all which was absolutely fine. Kept the place calm and all the bars and restaurants are just a few feet away. Also full fridge in room with soft drinks and water. Good stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    33
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Great place with friendly staff. Mini bar always replenished with soft drinks only and not too expensive. Very nice little pool and adequate sun beds. Did my laundry there and it was good. Staff got me a taxi to Mirissa. No problems and at a decent price. Clean rooms if you choose the deluxe one with balcony. Don't really know about the other rooms but I should expect them to be just as good. Would like to come back here one day.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We booked same day and got a small discount for room only after talking to them on the phone.

The 3 rooms we had without views were fine with aircon, no need to use the mossie nets. Do ask for a fridge when booking as not all had one.

Pool is a winner, our kids loved it and playing on the beach right behind the hotel. No swimming as a bit rough and dodgy currents but only 15 minutes walk along the beach to the main area with restaurants and better swimming.

Tuktuk into town was 150 to get to restaurants, ATM, bottle shop (they don't sell beer or wine but you can buy and put in your fridge) and main beach. We liked being a bit out of town.

Breakfast was OK but nothing to shout about, be tempted to eat out.

Not luxury but a reasonably priced place to stay a few days.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Hotel is great. Nice, spacey ocean view rooms with balcony. Nice and cheap breakfast. Clean pool area. If you want they can provide you with BBQ facilities so you can cook fish just next to the ocean. Very helpful staff, always on the top and willing to help. Hotel is nicely located a bit out of main tourist areas, beach is not good for swimming but you can get to serf beach in a walking distance or coral beach on tuk tuk for 1US. Very hospitable owner Mihindu. Will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhahran, saudi arabia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel as a lone traveller for 6 nights from 17th January this year. I have to say that I enjoyed my stay there and would certainly return. The location is actually very good as the hotel is at the south end of Hikkaduwa beach in a tranquil area. The place itself is extremely quiet. There is no noise or music at all and not even a bar. That itself is not a problem as guests are positively encouraged to go to the nearest booze shop and stock up the mini-bar. I didn’t need reminding. Some trip advisor reviews of OTHER HOTELS in Hikkaduwa talk of noise and music till 4am. For me, that would be terrible. It’s a great stroll along the beach to the more vibrant area or a trip of about 5 minutes on a tuk-tuk.
The swimming pool is a huge plus. The sea can get quite rough at times so the pool is the perfect place for a refreshing dip. There is excellent wi-fi in the reception area. I think rooms near that area get wi-fi too, as my neighbours did. The guests were a mix of nationalities, some retired, some with children, young people, all very friendly. The staff are very pleasant and always seem to be smiling. The manager is also the owner. His name is Mihindu Lekamwasam. He’s very welcoming and helpful.
The hotel is quite basic but it is clean and comfortable. The rooms are spacious and some, like the one I had, have a balcony with a great view of the garden, pool and the ocean. The shower was good and provided ample hot water. My room was equipped with mosquito nets above the beds (not needed) and a good modern AC.
I didn’t have lunch or dinner there but the breakfast is good value. All in all, this is a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to go to Hikkaduwa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

As promised, Mihindu arranged transport from Colombo at 1am. Arrived on our balcony at 4am and listened to the sound of the waves crashing. This hotel was well run and provides a good Sri Lankan breakfast. There is Wifi in the comfy reception area and Mihindu is always ready to help and advise on tourist activities.

The rooms are clean with good pillows, good quality towels and very efficient fan and air con. Whilst it is not 5 star, the location is excellent and the security means that you feel safe at all times. The hawkers can't enter the premises yet you can be on one of the many lounges, metres from the water in a lovely garden setting. The pool was excellent and very clean. For surfers, the main break is about a 10 minute walk. For meals, there are restaurants close by but if you want nightlife, it is about a 10 minute walk. The beauty of this location was its proximity to everything but it is at the quieter part of the beach. It is great value for the money.

Would definitely stay here again. We met people who were revisiting for the sixth time. Thanks Mihindu and staff for a relaxing, picturesque stay.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a sea view room. They are all pretty much the same on the 1st and 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Room was clean & tidy. Balcony a nice touch although view not great, due to trees! As a backpacker I found this to be a bit of a treat, as its about a 3rd more in price than I have been spending- but good value for what it was! Sea is really choppy so hotel advised us not to go in, therefore pool was good! Bit of a walk to the main area of Hikkaduwa but you can walk along the beach & its quite nice.

We were the only guests at the hotel so staff were very helpful! Hopefully they would be even if it was busy!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Cottage

Address: Galle road | Thiranagama, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in south cost of Sri Lanka. We have 12 rooms and 10 of them are in upstairs with sea view balcony. En-suite bath room with hot and cold water. Refrigerator is also in the room air condition rooms also available. Garden is directly leading in to the beach. Nice swimming pool also in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Ocean View Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Cottage Hotel Hikkaduwa
Ocean View Cottage Hikkaduwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.