We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   298 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Dingle, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a week in February and fell in love with the place. Lovely staff, nice food and in a great location!!! Liked the place so much we returned a couple of weeks later at the end of our holidays and spend our last days here! Would definately recommend this hotel!

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    18
    14
    15
See reviews for
20
22
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This place needs a major upgrade. Th rooms and certainly the bathrooms are very, very old. The beach is a narrow strip of sand but this is fairly typical of Hikkaduwa. Food is mediocre at best but the service was quite good. The pool was clean but crows and pigeons kept drinking off it and sometimes dirtying it. It's right in the middle of the small town so you can walk to most places. Nice, large property but if maintained better could be great.

The glass bottom tour was fun and we were able to feed a sea turtle right from the pier in frontof the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianarayfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Just come back from a stay in the Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel and there are undoubtedly better places to stay. In the 3 days we were there, the lift didn't work at all, the air conditioning was variable, they ran out of white wine, ginger beer and icecream and the food was "faux Western" and very disappointing. Hardly a curry in sight! In addition, it's 6 years since the tsunami but they still haven't repaired the access to the beach which is currently an awkward flight of crumbling steps from a corner of the terrace. So go somewhere else - and better not all-inclusive as there are loads of interesting-looking places to eat in Hikkaduwa.

Stayed February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

This hotel is the worst place that you can stay in, although loads of people have said that the place is heaven BUT it is an absolutely lie, The staff are really not co operative and the food is atrocious, and although they give you a time schedule when the meals are served they still run out of food and for the price you pay it's not worth a cent to stay in a place of this nature. and there is no one in the hotel who manages the place cause even if you want to place a complaint there is no one responsible to do so, I do not recommend this dump to any one.. there is a much better place around hikkaduwa which can be booked!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hikkaduwabeachhotel, Owner at Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Hi jersylove,
We really appreciate your open review, but almost every thing in your review makes us doubt your stay with us. Before i start my response to your review, i would like to point out something. If a lots of people are saying that Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel is heaven, then there's no reason for a lot of people to lie. Hope that make sense for you.

1) First of all your claim that there's no one is the place who manages the place is totally false, the hotel is being managed by our manager Ganesh, and you will see him around most of the time, besides there are more than enough staffs to assist our visitors.

2) I do not understand what made you think that our staffs are not co-operative, but our staffs are friendly, polite and are well trained in delivering services. They have gained a lot of our visitors hearts with their exceptional friendly service. Previous review from Mia is such an example. You could also see her review in our facebook page.

3) "if you want to place a complaint there is no one responsible to do so", which is completely a false statement. We have tried our best implemented so many methods to get our customer's feed back in every possible way. We value customer's complains and feedback, that's why we have a customer feedback book placed at the entrance of the hotel, a webpage with our contact details, an inquiry email which is being responded by our manager as often as possible, and top of all these we also have a facebook fan page. We wonder how you missed all these.

Of course, there could be some much better place around in Hikkaduwa , but we are not making our visitors to stay in a sewage for you to call Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel a "dump". We would really appreciate if you could chose your words wisely in reviews.

We take customers complain very serious, thus we are looking forward to investigate your bad experience with us. In order to do that so, we require your full identity and the confirmation of your stay with us. You could email all the details to inquiry@hbeachhotel.com, please provide a detailed information on the issue.

Thank you,
Administrator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Spent the last week of our vacation in Sri Lanka at Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel.
The rooms are good (middle standard) and the food is lovely, spicey and nice!
Most of all we appreciated the staff and their service mindedness and friendliness.
The pool is nice and the beach close by is fantastic.
If we go to Hikkaduwa on our next trip to Sri Lanka, hopefully we stay at Beach Hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel

Address: 298 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a breezy welcome at the newly revitalized Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel. The popular beach hotel is now an even better place for you to relax and unwind in style. Come to enjoy our enhanced sea view rooms with stylish brand new furniture, full size glass doors and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.