We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neelas Beach Restaurant

Neelas Beach Restaurant
#634, Galle Road | Narigama, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
+94 71 404 5071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 78 Restaurants in Hikkaduwa
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Dessert, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Neela's beach restaurant offers a delicious food and a friendly atmosphere. Our beachfront location means you can sit on the beach or on the wooden decor until your food is served. Hikkaduwa is a paradise for the swimmers, sun worshippers, surfers and snorkellers. Popular surf breaks are minutes away or just relax on a sunbed and watch the turquoise waves roll in. Our restaurant is only a few short steps from the sea. Begin the day with a leisurely breakfast or join us for a lazy lunch. At the end of the day enjoy an amazing sunset followed by dinner under the stars. Our family have been welcoming tourists to Hikkaduwa for more than 30 years. Our experience ensures great service and attention to detail; whether you're a first time visitor or one of our old friends. So come and sample traditional Sri Lankan hospitality in beautiful south west Sri Lanka. See you soon!
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Neela's has great food. The service is sloooow but if you have time, the food is really nice. Big delicious bowls of soup and great seafood!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    25
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing location & Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The food is very good @ Neelas. We had the most amazing fish curry @ Neelas. We wanted to have it again the next day, but we couldnt :(. Reason, they close very very early maybe 9:45 pm. A definite visit for fish curry

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quite ok given the rest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Service was nice and good. No problem. Wine was good, they also had stout beer :) food unfortunately dissapointing tuna stake terribly overcooked...like stone, though we asked specially not to overcook. This seems to be a problem in most of the places. Creamy tomato soup also not very appealing. Anyway. Nice place to drink

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, nova scotia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“As Good As Any on this Stretch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Beach side service at its best! The waiter even brought us afternoon tea on our lounge chairs in the sand! Breakfast options similar to others with western and local offerings. Great toast. Lunch options could be varied from menu choices. Supper choices were typical of the numerous beach restaurants in Narigama. Staff were pleasant and helpful. We could linger at a table for as long as we wished on a perfect stretch of beach with entertaining surfers and wifi.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Terrific place, love these guys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The staff at Neela's go out of their way to help you out. Good simple honest grub. Avacado salad was excellent! They have a shower, and clean loos too! We have been here every day of our holiday, and we will come back. Than you guys!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neelas Beach Restaurant also viewed

Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
 
Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
 

Been to Neelas Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neelas Beach Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.