We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good views....average foods...slightly overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lavanga Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lavanga Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Boralesgamuwa, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good views....average foods...slightly overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My self and my wife wend there only for a lunch when we were on our way to Galle.

The view from the restaurant was really nice and the shore was really nice. It does have a good pool as well.

The meals were not the best for the prices they have kept.

I got an Asian main meal with lamb that was really nice. My wife had a seafood Chinese meal, which she also told me as nice.

But the bread they offered were not the best. It was not soft as it should be (doesn't break well). and didn't taste well. We also ordered two strawberry milkshakes which were too much diluted.

Other than the bread and the milkshake the rest the main meal was good. The waiter who served us was really friendly as well.

Overall a good place to drop by with good staff. But better look at the food quality (overall) and feel it as a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anusha F, Director of Sales at Lavanga Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Madam,

Greetings from Lavanga !

Many thanks for your visit and comments. Not so clear about your comments re average foods...slightly overpriced” we have an extensive variety of Main meals and sides and yes we don't have Lamb in Sri Lanka so we import Lamb from Australia and pay a high prize for a meal. Of course therefore you might have found it overpriced. Noted your comments about the bread and I will make sure it wont repeat. Also spoken to my pastry chef regarding the quality of the bread.

Thank you,

With kind regards,

Anusha

Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    22
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
33
39
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a lovely 8 night stay in Lavanga over Christmas. We were concerned that the kids would be bored but need not have worried. They were busy all the time between the pool, play room and the movie theatre. With the wonderful, attentive staff at Lavanga and happy kids, it meant that my husband and I truly had a relaxing, 'proper' holiday.

The hotel is very modern, with great facilities for adults and kids (cinema, library, pool, tennis courts, well-equiped gym, beach, bakery, shop....). It really felt like the type of holiday we would have had pre-kids.

Location is great. On a quiet stretch of beach but near enough for a nice beach walk to Hikkaduwas shops and restaurants. Near to beautiful Galle, the turtle hatchery and plenty of other activities.

The hotel is owned and run by a very friendly couple with young kids, who obviously get what it takes to have an enjoyable family holiday. As a relatively new hotel Anousha and Daniel appear to be improving and fixing the daily minor issues and working towards a fantastic unique hotel. We would love to return with our family and friends in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We returned yesterday after a 5 night stay at Lavanga. We were two families with small kids, and we are glad that we chose Lavanga.

Food: We loved Sri Lankan food at more than 8 restaurants we tried, and still Lavanga beats all the places. Chef Shanta, Pradeep and other kitchen staff were very accommodating and prepared items outside of the menu for our kids. Breakfast is great. I didn't expect such a high quality croissants in Sri Lanka. Mangos+Fresh Coconut water+pancakes+omelette... Aw.. after a quick run on the beach everyday, we loved digging into them.

Service: First Class. Staff really pampered us. Everyone including staff manager Amila, Iresh, Mithun, Sachini, driver Chandu, Hiran, Shashika and other front desk were very courteous and always willing to help. No wonder SriLanka is called the 'Land of Smiling people'. Highly personalized service and great attention.

Facilities: We used to leave our kids on some days (ages 3, 3, 9) at the hotel and staff used to watch and take really good care of them. Kids played endlessly in the pool, play area, movie theatre and when tired went back to the room with a baby sitter. We had a peace of mind knowing that kids were well taken care of. By the time we left, all the staff knew kids' names.

Rooms: Biggest rooms that we ever stayed in around the world. Easily twice or thrice the size of a regular room in a 5 star hotel else where. Tastefully appointed, trendy and reflecting local culture. Not a run of the mill 5 star hotel room, everything reminding that we are at a vacation, not on a business trip.

Airport Pick-up: We did a good thing by not bargain hunting. They sent us a great van with water bottles and lot of DVDs to keep the kids busy. Again driver Chandu was very courteous.

Location: First of all, we loved Hikkaduwa. The place had a nice vibe to it. We were considering Bentota/Unawatuna/Negombo, I don't know how these places are, but we are glad that we chose hikkaduwa. Lavanga is located about 2 km from main tourist area where all the hotels are, which was perfect for us with un-crowded beaches, and chatting up with local fishermen everyday morning. But the beach in-front of the hotel was rough with no barrier and kids couldn't spend much time in there. We went to the coral reef area, and there the beach was kid-friendly with no waves. Otherwise, the hotel is a quick 5 minute tuk-tuk ride away to the city center. Ask for tuk-tuk driver 'Upala'. His tuk-tuk stand is nearby, and he'll arrive in 5 minutes. He even invited us to his home on our last day there.

What was not so good:
Drinks/cocktails were disappointing. Except for a house special cocktail, which was fantastic, other classic cocktails were not up to the mark.

English: Not a big issue, but it was hard to explain to some of the staff. We either had to repeat multiple times, or they misunderstood us.

Kids play area is great, but foosball table and air hockey table were not in god condition.

Overall, we had a great time at Lavanga and Sri Lanka, and we wouldn't hesitate to go back there.

Room Tip: All rooms are beach facing. I don't think there is a bad room. But, ask for room 15, 16 or 17 on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anusha F, Director of Sales at Lavanga Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
My Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing "Lavanga" I read out our review to all the staff on our Cinema. I'm sure you can imagine how happy they are to hear what you have to say. Thank you once again and looking forward to see you all again in our Lovely Lavanga !. with sunny regards, Anusha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at Lavanga for 4 nights at the end of the trip. The property has great location, the rooms are large, staff is friendly and we enjoyed our breakfast.

At the same time, management needs to fix a couple of things. We had fold-up beds (for first 2 days) and cleaning carts stored outside of our room. Not a huge deal but property would look much nicer without them. Food plates and wine bottles were left outside of our door (not by us) and would stay there for hours and days. I've called downstairs on 2 different occasions about picking up plates. There are others who've commented on food plates--really something that should be fixed.

The staff were great and we had a wonderful visit. Hotel is very intimate and has great public spaces. It would be expecially great for someone with kids since there are lot's of play areas.

Room Tip: Most (if not all) rooms have views of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anusha F, Director of Sales at Lavanga Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for reviewing Lavanga. I fully agree with you about the service trolly's standing in front of the room. It is really annoying and I have spoken to my housekeeping staff about it to make sure it wont happen again.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent 3 nights in a sea view room at Lavanga and had a great time. The room was spacious and splendidly designed. The pool area and restaurant were again excellent with a friendly and high quality staff to complement them.

The roof-top tennis court and well equipped gym were also very cool. My only suggestion for improvement would be to improve the quality of the SPA, which could be better.

Overall, a great place to relax and to enjoy Hikkaduwa and the surrounding area from.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

After visiting some of the Sri Lankan national parks, a visit to Hikkaduwa is just what we needed, and Lavanga went above and beyond our expectations. Right upon our arrival, we were warmly greeted with a quick check-in and tour of the hotel. The room was smartly decorated with a modern touch and featured an ocean view that can't be beat. The hotel is right on the beach, a few minutes away from town center, and also has a great pool with nice loungers and very attentive staff that offer a variety of activities and water sports. The breakfast is very good, nicely varied with good quality and the ability to appeal to any taste. The pastries are absolutely brilliant, and the pizzas are also well done. The owner Anusha is very friendly and does a great job hosting, and you can sense her commitment to quality and good service. Hiran was also extremely helpful when we arranged our reservation and during our stay, and we're extremely grateful to the entire staff for a wonderful visit. We highly recommend the hotel and wish our best.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

From the first moment we entered the Gem we were astonished by the standard, staff friendliness and management quality. Indeed a eye opener for what can be done in a country coming out of 3 decades of war. Danny ( the JET MAN) and Anusha thanks for creating this absolute mind-blowing resort so that we can enjoy the time given to us on this World.

Blessings for the years to come

Hendrick and Zandria Post ( original from South Africa)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anusha F, Director of Sales at Lavanga Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
My Dear Hendric & Andrea,

Thank you very much for reviewing our little heaven. We miss you and looking forward to see you in March. Cheers ! Anusha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavanga Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavanga Resort & Spa

Address: Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Lavanga Resort & Spa", surprisingly has been created not by a big hotel group,but a dynamic duo that have come up with a real paradise for overworked parents and in particular career mother in a glamorous resort setting that is fun for all age groups. They have a play team to take care of the kids so you can really put up your feet, enjoy the stunning tropical palm fringed golden beaches with sunken pool beds, have a full body spa treatment, a round of tennis on the roof, or indulge in a homemade chocolates knowing your kids are safe"THE ABOVE DESCRIPTION OF LAVANGA TAKEN FROM THE FAMOUS WRITER "JULIET COOMBE" BOOK CALLED "DRAWN TO GALLE FORT" UNDER 12 QUIRKY PLACES TO STAY OUTSIDE FORT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Tingo and Booking.com so you can book your Lavanga Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavanga Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.