We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bansei by Hotel J

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bansei by Hotel J to your Saves list
Bansei by Hotel J
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galle Road | No 340, Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80250, Sri Lanka (Formerly Coral Rock by Amaya)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Geelong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a large group stay at this hotel with many different requirements such as adjoining rooms etc. We had requested ocean-view rooms which was fulfilled. I think we may have not enjoyed our stay here if we had the street side view. The ocean laps the hotel and the view is extremely relaxing.

We had arranged for half board which made it very good value. The buffet dinner and breakfast was good quality and fresh. There was a good range to choose from. The pool was popular with our crew, and there were plenty of areas in the hotel to relax.

The bathroom was clean and modern. The room was a good size with a balcony to look over the ocean. We didn't hear any noise from the street. We will definately come back here. It was nice to be in a smaller hotel.

Having a large group, we booked via email and recieved fantastic service from Dilshan. He was even kind enough to upgrade our room to the honeymoon suite. We all recieved fruit platters which was a nice touch too.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean fronted room and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Bansei by Hotel J, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all your comments and this thorough review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at with us and that we were able to make your stay a comfortable, relaxing and memorable one.

The entire team is thrilled to hear such kind comments about the food, facilities and service.
We look forward to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    57
    27
    16
    16
See reviews for
40
65
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not so good value for price, we were a bit disappointed overall. We had communicating rooms (not so often available) with our children, with great view on the Ocean. Buffet breakfast was good enough. Ok for 2 nights, would not recommand longer.

Room Tip: Ocean view required to avoid traffic noise from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Bansei by Hotel J, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to post a review about Coral Rock By Amaya Hikkaduwa.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay as we do our level best to make sure that our guests have a wonderful stay.

The comments mentioned have been raised to the relevant department and we do hope you would stay with us in the near future thereby giving us a chance to recreate a great vacation for you.

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The website and photos of this hotel portray it in a better light than it actually is. The quality of the furninshings is fine and the staff is friendly. However, the massive flaw is that it is built on a small property between the main road and the sea. The superior rooms, overlooking the main road are awfully noisy. Each floor however, has a lounge/balcony space overlooking the sea which is really nice. The breakfast buffet was good but has the potential to be better. Overall, it is not really value for money.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room and NOT one facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Bansei by Hotel J, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to post a review about Coral Rock By Amaya Hikkaduwa.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay as we do our level best to make sure that our guests have a wonderful stay.

The comments mentioned have been raised to the relevant department and we do hope you would stay with us in the near future thereby giving us a chance to recreate a great vacation for you.

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Coral Rock by Amaya is a HIGHLY OVERPRICED INN masquerading itself as a Star Class Resort Hotel. Even their website is misleading as many of facilities do not exist. There are many Internationally recognized 5 Star resort hotels in Sri Lanka that cost less and offer much more. One could classify Coral Rock as a City Inn that one would find board and lodging on an official/business trip. It is certainly not a place to spend a vacation. Coral Rock is situated on a narrow strip of land between a busy/noisy road (Galle Road) and the beach.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Bansei by Hotel J, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to post a review about Coral Rock By Amaya Hikkaduwa.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay as we do our level best to make sure that our guests have a wonderful stay.

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eghezee, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We should have stayed at a nice guest house in Galle but the tour operator sent us here, probably because they had more commissions. Fortunately, we managed to refuse a room overlooking the main road Galle-Colombo (heavy traffic day and night) and were given a nice room overlooking the ocean.
The restaurant was already dirty for breakfast with a lot of noisy children. As for the swimming pool, we didn't even anticipate putting a foot into it.

Room Tip: Please note that many rooms are overlooking the busy road Galle-Colombo (max 2 metres between the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Bansei by Hotel J, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to post a review about Coral Rock By Amaya Hikkaduwa.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay as we do our level best to make sure that our guests have a wonderful stay.

The comments mentioned have been raised to the relevant department and we do hope you would stay with us in the near future thereby giving us a chance to recreate a great vacation for you.

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienne, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The Coral Rock is right on the sea. There is no real beach in front of it but you can still get down to the sea by a flight of stairs which have been badly damaged by the tsunami of 2004. Will the repair be done soon ? I would highly recommand you to choose a room overlooking the sea because at the front it can be very noisy due to the heavy traffic on the main road Galle/colombo. Apart from the stairs going down to sea level I found the hotel well maitained. The rooms are spacious with a small balcony, bed was ok. The swimming pool is of a fair size and facing the Indian ocean, great place to lounge and watch the diving boats, glass boats going over to the coral reef not far away from shore. Breakfast is great and plentiful, keeps you going for the day. Had diner at the restaurant once and did not like it much, was expensive for what I had. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall I highly recommand the Coral Rock, for its location, and for the good amenities it provides.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Bansei by Hotel J, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all your comments and this thorough review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your rest, the views and the service of the staff. We look forward to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here Feb-March 2013 for 2 weeks. All the hotels on the Hikka strip are right on the road and can be noisy for light sleepers. On arrival we found we were in the roadside rooms, having booked the Superior thinking that was the sea side, it emerged the De Luxe is, confusingly, the better room by the beach. We weren't happy about the room and whilst it was our error they were really good about it and moved us at no extra cost when a room became available 2 days later. The rooms are simple and comfortable, good air con, with good bathrooms and a very good shower, all cleaned daily with fresh towels and linen. The breakfast here is good, with plenty of choice of sweet or savoury and omelettes freshly made to your choice. This hotel's best asset by far is its staff, who are wonderful. Everything starts with a smile, they can't do enough to help you and are all so pleasant and friendly. Although the pool area is quite small, the location is ideal as it is right on the beach just a ten yard walk to the water. Walking southwards up the beach there are bars and restaurants for as far as you care to walk and you can eat well for relatively little. We are holiday sloths and rarely stray from beach or bar but as we had travelled so far we felt the need to try and see a bit of the country. We did the obligatory trip to the elephant orphanage, herb garden, temple etc but made the mistake of trying to fit it into a day. We should have had an overnight, it was too far and so much driving we came back worn out and grumpy. Sri Lanka is a beautiful country, very green and tropical and the people are lovely, sweet natured and friendly. We would recommend the Coral Rock, we felt so comfortable there we didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view you have to book a De Luxe. The Superior rooms look out onto the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Bansei by Hotel J, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all your comments and this thorough review.We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at with us and that we were able to make your stay a comfortable, relaxing and memorable one.

The entire team is thrilled to hear such kind comments about the food, facilities and service.We look forward to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bansei by Hotel J? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bansei by Hotel J

Address: Galle Road | No 340, Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80250, Sri Lanka (Formerly Coral Rock by Amaya)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bansei by Hotel J 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bansei by Hotel J is located in the golden mile of the world-renowned Hikkaduwa Beach, Sri Lanka's best-known destination for tourism, overlooking the Corals. The lively beach - known for snorkeling, diving and swimming in the mellow azure waters, or even just for relaxing on the golden sands - is just a step away from Bansei by Hotel J and is the ideal choice for travellers looking for a place to unwind and relax. The golden beaches and the wonderful views of the Indian Ocean will provide you with the atmosphere you need for total relaxation and leisure. A budget hotel in Sri Lanka which is the ideal location for a family vacation or a leisure trip, Hotel J offers you Sri Lankan hospitality at its best. The thirty rooms are equipped with all the facilities required for a comfortable stay. Take a dip in the swimming pool which overlooks the ocean, and experience the peaceful tranquility of its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bansei by Hotel J reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bansei by Hotel J, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.