We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J.L.H. Restaurant

J.L.H. Restaurant
382/1, Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
+94 91 22 77139
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 71 Restaurants in Hikkaduwa
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tasty seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We ate two different king prawn dishes which were both simply delicious! Wanted to try octopus and calamari but unfortunately they were out of both that night. The atmosphere is ok, nothing too special (we were there during the low season) but service is great!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    40
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful beachside location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Don't be put off by the sign directing you down a narrow road to this beachside restaurant, because it is a lovely place to eat. The menu is huge, offering a wide variety of dishes, which are plentiful, well cooked and nicely presented. The atmosphere is particularly good after dark. The bottled Lion beer comes in polystyrene coolers to keep it at the right temperature.
We shall certainly return on our next trip to Sri Lanka.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good value for money, must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The restaurant is located right on the beach on in the center of Hikkaduwa. The menu is huge and you have a wide choice between seafood, chicken, meat and other international dishes. The food is amazing and the portion is big. The value for money is good. Must try when in Hikkaduwa.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thanks, Trip Advisor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were looking for a great restaurant for our last night in Hikkaduwa, and you didn't let us down. The food was delicious, the server was patient with our special orders, and the location is beautiful. If we could have gotten a no-smoking section, it would have been perfect. Still a five.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good honest decent sized portions at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This place in right on the waterfront, the menu was substantial and not just seafood, the service was slower than some places but this wasn't a problem as we were in no hurry, we ordered a PorK Schnitzel and Calamari, both were cooked to perfection and the portions were generous. The banana split for dessert went down well and all for a good price, looking around the restaurant a group of young girls were sharing a massive seafood platter, it looked and smelt amazing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J.L.H. Restaurant also viewed

Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
 
Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
 

Been to J.L.H. Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J.L.H. Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.