We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basil” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Basil - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Basil
C/O Dewasiri Inn, Habaraduwa, Sri Lanka | Palutagaha Road, Hikkaduwa 80630, Sri Lanka
771 537 920
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Phone +94 (0)77 1537920
Jersey Channel Islands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Basil”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

"Basil" restaurant which was Italian is no longer there, the ""Vibe restaurant has now replaced it and it is fabulous! A very popular reasonably priced place to eat, socialise and listen to good music. Free Wi-Fi is also available to customers. Enjoy!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food wasn't very good and the service was terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

My friends and I went to eat here whilst on holiday last year, they hardly had any of the food on the menu available! When we eventually got our food (after waiting almost an hour) the pizzas were burnt on the base and tasted awful. The waiter who wasn't a local made us all feel awkward and wasn't very attentive. Definitely not the best italian in the area.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“perfect homemade pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

At Basil I can recommend the most wonderful ravioli dishes I have got in this country.
And we liked the chocolate salami as desert.
The people who run the place are italians and very very nice!
Minuses: The rates are quite expensive and the location is a bit noisy.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The most wonderful Pizza in Sri Lanka!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

It has been a struggle to find a good restaurant with reasonable prices and good food but tonight we got lucky and had dinner at Basil in Hikkaduwa. It was a wonderful surprise. We had Parma ham and salami anti pasta and Hawaiian pizza and freshly made potato ravioli. Fab. Sick of curry and rice. This was a great change. The prices are not too bad and service is great. The place is in a converted colonial building with a garden and tasteful art on the walls and is under an Italian management.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Best in Hikka!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

When you are tired of rice and curry and other exotics come to Basil and you feel like your mama is with you again! Perfect pizza, nice pasta, good attention will provide you nice time any time of the day. We falled in love with this place and the people who work there. Good luck and hope to see you again!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil also viewed

Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
 
Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.