We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Trainers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Deep Dive Centre

Blue Deep Dive Centre
Galle Road 271, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
+94 (0) 914 383 190
Website
Improve this listing
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Trainers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My friend and myself were trying scuba diving for the first time. We went for the discover scuba diving course. The trainers Asanka and Dammika were really helpful in explaining the various techniques and precautions to be followed under water. The first hour passed in getting accustomed to the suits and practicing necessary checks in shallow water. The trainers took us further deep were we could see a few coral rocks and fishes.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great dive centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was lucky enough to dive with Blue Deep several times last year and can highly recommend them. Their equipment is in good condition, their boat is big and comfortable and the team are extremely friendly and helpful.

They know the sites like the back of their hands and point out many interesting creatures that most others would miss. The team are professional and unlike some other dive centres around Asia, ladies are in very good hands here as they are all perfect gentlemen.

If you are doing a course make sure you ask for Feroz who is an amazing instructor!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Blue Deep Diving Centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Blue Deep Diving Centre is situated right on the beach as part of The Coral Reef Hotel where we stayed. It looked like a popular place but as we are not experienced divers did not go out on a trip. We opted instead to go snorkelling off the beach which was very enjoyable and plenty of fish and the odd turtle were seen.
We did enquire about basic prices for diving and they were as follows, single dive (+ equipment) 25€, single dive (no equipment) 20€, double dive + equipment 45€, double dive no equipment 35€.
Package rates were also available. The cost for a discovery dive ( for non-certifying beginners) 55€
They are Padi rated and can be contacted via email bluedeepdiving@yahoo.com
Www.bluedeepdiving.com or Kalu 077 3150726 / Feros 077 9811070

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Be careful the two dive centres have split”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

First things first. The guys that were running the dive centre have split. So there are now two dive centres one called Blue Deep Dive Centre and the other one is called Blue Deep Diving Centre. They are across the road from each other just to make things even more confusing

I only experienced the one that is NOT connected to the hotel (bluedeepdive at yahoo).

The bad things
- They have masked out the PADI sign. They say its because they don't want to pay the license fee. To me this is worrying and suggests that they are being cheap. Not a good thing if you are trusting their equipment. They should pay the fee
- The shop was very small and had limited equipment but enough for what we needed.
- We went initially to the other dive centre, it was bigger more spacious and was the official dive centre for suntono watches which always gives me a little more comfort. But I didn't dive with them so can't comment further
- The boat was very small and our equipment had to be carried to another boat and then passed to us before we went diving and reverse when we got out
- The dive itself was a wreck dive and given we only had the chance to do one dive we told them we wanted to maximise our chances of seeing things and were assured there would be plenty there. There wasn't. Lack of fish and poor visibility. Bit of a waste of time. I know these things can be hit or miss but still would have been nice to see something
- My friend came along to snorkel but there was zero chance of seeing anything when we got there. Again would have been nice to have been informed about this beforehand or move to a different dive site.

The good
- Good divemaster who seemed very comfortable in the water. However we weren't really informed about the fishes, what we would see nor did he point out anything. That was dissapointing
- The crew all seemed very jolly and happy.

In conclusion I will be unlikely to be diving with them again which is a shame because they are nice people but confusion and lack of information is not a good combination

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Professional Shop with Nice Staff and Owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went diving with Blue Deep the week of Jan 20th. My husband and I enjoyed our experience. We got to meet the owners (2 brothers) and felt safe with the dive master and crew. The dive sites are also close to shore. The shop is a short walk to/from the beach where the dive boats are anchored. The crew carries all the heavy stuff like tanks. The only reason I didn't rate this shop excellent was the boat engines gave us trouble. No biggie while standing on the beach but on the day our daughter went they bobbed around on the surface for a while working on it and she got seasick (ugh). My rented scuba equipment was just fine and clearly well maintained. The dive master did a great job as well. Dive master and crew were personable and willing to chat which makes the outing just that much more fun. Service from start to finish was excellent.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Deep Dive Centre also viewed

Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
 
Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
 

Been to Blue Deep Dive Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Deep Dive Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.