We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hikkaduwa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant
Save
You added Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant to your Saves list
Galle Road,634 | Narigama, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 107 Hikkaduwa B&B and Inns
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I first visited Neela's in 1998 and have returned many times since then. On our first trip we were made to feel a part of their wonderful family and not just a guest. The rooms are extremely comfortable and very clean and all have mosquito nets and fans or AC. The restaurant offers a great selection of food which is very reasonably priced and delicious. Being only a few steps from the beach is a huge plus and there are always loungers to lie on in front of the restaurant. We actually got married in the restaurant back in 1998 and Neela & Milton were our witnesses. We could not have asked for a more perfect setting and they went out of their way to help us arrange everything. If you only stay in one place when visiting Hikkaduwa, make sure it is Neela's.....you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    30
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
86
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Neela's Guesthouse for a whole month back in 2007. We left feeling like we made wonderful friends. This family guest house are welcoming, warm and extremely friendly. Their prices are very reasonable and the quality of the service is exceptional. Definitely worth your money!!!! The rooms are clean, comfortable, light and spacious and there are so many that you can find the best option for your budget or necessities. Our room on the third floor was massive and light, with a lovely balcony overlooking the beautiful ocean and the surf, it was so good that we often think a lot about that room, we read so much in the afternoons lying in bed with the cool breeze and listening the buzzy life in the hight street. We have lovely memories from this place indeed, but I believe nothing would have been the same if it wasn't because of the care and love provided by this wonderful and happy family.

The food was another stunning feature of this guesthouse. All the food was really well cooked, a variety of meat, and specially fish, Coral fish, and seafood, ummmmm. The chefs were friendly and always smiling and they did a good job, they were very hard working. Very generous portions which left you very satisfied. It was a real treat to have breakfast, lunch or dinner at Neela's a again was a lovely time spent, the ambience of the restaurant is quiet and intimate with lovely music in the background. There always loads of families and couples eating in their premises, there are tables and chairs outside on the sand, so is quite big and it can cater for lots of people.

Neela's also got sunbathing chairs outside, all very comfortable and clean. You can order any food or drinks and in no time you will be enjoining some food in your chair relaxing watching the surfers or just watching what's around on the beach.

In a few words, if you are looking to go to Sri Lanka, please consider visiting Hikkaduwa as is a lovely beach town and please don't hesitate about staying at Neela's for a second, you will leave with an amazing feeling of having being at your own home, you will leave with lovely friends as they are so friendly and warm that is impossible to not succumb to their charming personalities.

Nowadays is difficult to travel due to circumstances, but we are keeping in touch and we are looking forward to go back to visit Neela and her lovely family.

I can't express enough in words what the experience of staying Neela's guesthouse meant to us.


They will make your holidays truly memorable, trust me.

Neela, Nirasha, Milton and rest of the family, we love you loads and we are looking forward to meeting you again. Please keep well.

Mercedes Nunez and Simon Ellis
Brighton
UK

Room Tip: 3rd floor room is amazing, if you would like to see that one, just ask for the room that Merci and S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here in October so it was very quite as it was off season and the restaurant was shut! But the rooms were lovely with mosquito nets/ good water pressure/ writing desk/ place to hang clothes/ chairs and a table to sit outside. I took the basic 1500 LKR room! Pretty cheap I think.. The A/c room for 3 (4500 LKR) that my friends used was really good to with a nice sit out that faces the sea and a fridge to keep your drinks cold! You just have to walk thought their restaurant to get to the beach! The family that run’s it was very nice they helped arrange a cab for the airport/ a tea plantation tour for us. Everyone was warm and friendly … Srilanka is a beautiful country and Hikkaduwa is great!! And I recommend you eat at a small local place called Rotty Restaurant (the place opposite looked more popular but I recommend this) and ask for the pineapple chocolate Rotty or the calamari Rotty! Yum Yum!!

Room Tip: No wifi connectivity is bettwer in the lower floor. Take your printout with your agreed on tarriff b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

was my 3rd time staying at neelas, and it is still my favourite place to stay in Hikka!

rooms are always spotlessly clean, fans keep the place nice and cool, and the wifi always works a treat. neela and her family always make you feel so welcome when you stay here

hikkaduwa was very quiet when I stayed (September), but I'm sure it will be back to its busy best in the next month

if you are looking for a basic but clean place to stay right on the beach in the middle of the best bars and restaurants, look no further that neelas - about 10 quid a night for a non AC room

thanks neela,
Matt

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

we only stayed here for one night as it was off season and we were on our way home. We were given a big, light room for a good price. everything was spotless, nice sheets and pillows, Neela was lovely and willing to help us with plans or have a chat. No beach view, and no private balcony but would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights, we had a double room for 2500 Rs which was fan only. Unfortunately it was off season and very quiet. The restaurant wasn't open and nore were many along the beach.
The stay was pleasant - the rooms are set back off the beach, so dont expect a view. The rooms were clean and tidy and good value for money. You dont get much service, having to ask for toilet paper etc but we have learnt this is standard in Sri Lanka. The staff were nice enough, not overly helpful but luckily we didn't need much assistance.

Over all a nice, clean place. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neelamilton, Owner at Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest, Thanks for your valuable review. It’s always our pleasure to hearing your voice. We are happy know that you were satisfied with the room arrangement and it Cleanliness. All the credit goes to the cleaning team and I will make sure that they will be rewarded. I know its pretty shame that most of the beach side restaurants are closed due to an off season, except few beach restaurants at walking distance, but we will be seriously concern about the point you raised and do our best to appear our restaurant during the off season. I’m extremely sorry about the delay occurred with room service. I will personally talk to the team and reorganized the schedule. It’s always worth to know the deficiency and happy to correct them. The room which mention with the price also has hot water facility (solar powered) and free Wi-Fi. Most of the time these rooms are occupied by the surf lovers and someone with a tight budget, sea view rooms are available with different rates facilities. Hope you will be return again and will be enjoying your holiday at our beach side guesthouse. You can contact me any time. I would happy to personally look after.
Thank you
Kind Regards
Neela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Really great place to kick back and leave the stress behind,Whilst it was off season, there was enough sun and surf to make it pleasant enough.
Neelas staff and family were like my own family there,allways there to help out on any occasion.
We had the top floor which really had 360 deg views all round,nice and roomy and open the doors and windows for great see breezes.
We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neelamilton, Owner at Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about our beach guesthouse. Hope you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed well. It’s been always our pleasure to make a guest happy and comfort.
Please visit us again. Neela’s beach always welcomes you.
Cheers
Neela’s family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant

Address: Galle Road,634 | Narigama, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Neela's Neela's Guesthouse offers a warm welcome, delicious food and a friendly atmosphere. Our beachfront location means you can walk out of your room onto the sands. Hikkaduwa is a paradise for the swimmers, sun worshippers, surfers and snorkellers. Popular surf breaks are minutes away or just relax on a sunbed and watch the turquoise waves roll in. Our restaurant is only a few short steps from the sea. Begin the day with a leisurely breakfast or join us for a lazy lunch. At the end of the day enjoy an amazing sunset followed by dinner under the stars. Our family have been welcoming tourists to Hikkaduwa for more than 30 years. Our experience ensures great service and attention to detail; whether you're a first time visitor or one of our old friends. So come and sample traditional Sri Lankan hospitality in beautiful south west Sri Lanka. See you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Neela`s Guest House And Beach Restaurant
Neela`s Guest House & Beach Restaurant Hotel Hikkaduwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.