We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalla Bongo Lake Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kalla Bongo Lake Resort to your Saves list
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
22/8 K, Field View | Baddegama Road, Nalagasdeniya, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed couple of hours at this hotel .The surrounding is absolutely stunning. One part of this hotel is open to a lake, it has a small swimming pool too, we really enjoyed our short stay at this hotel ,We got a lagoon room for a very good deal , In fact most of the hotels in this area are bit over priced, we found Kalla Bongo was very affordable , i really appreciate their service for the that price,But If you are looking for a 1st class hotel this might not be your first choice.anywy It is worth your time and money. Room was clean and quite comfortable .It was very pleasing to see flowers on our bed and in the washroom .
I would like to thank hotel stall and especially Malvin , He is a very supportive and friendly guy.We are looking forward to stay a full day at Kalla Bongo next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    31
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
52
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were a little anxious about spending 6 nights in one place - with 2 small and very active children it could have been a disaster. But we need not have worried. Kalla Bongo was perfect in almost every way, from the warm welcome on arrival, until the final sad farewell.

The resort is about 2.5 hrs from Colombo airport on the new express highway. Hikkaduwa is a busy little town on the coast, but the real attraction of the Kalla Bongo resort is that it is a 5-10 minute tuktuk ride (about 250LKR each way) out of town and away from the bustle. Once inside the gates, the calm aura of the resort and its lakeside setting just soothe away any stress.

Breakfasts were delicious, and although the evening menu wasn't extensive there was plenty of variety for the duration of our stay; the quality of the food was excellent.

The staff were discrete but friendly and helpful, rooms were kept pristine each day, and the grounds are beautifully maintained. It was perhaps the "little touches" that made our stay special - things like producing little pink & blue plates and cups for our children, and dashing to our room with umbrellas when it rained. We were very well looked after!

There was plenty for our children (age 6 & 3) to see and do, from the nightly flypast of giant fruit bats, to searching for frogs and huge monitor lizzards, and chasing squirrels & fireflies. The resort's 3 dogs are friendly and offer good entertainment(!), and of course there is always the pool and canoeing on the lake.

Melvin very kindly arranged outings for us (exploring Hikkaduwa's sights by tuktuk one day, and taking a 'road trip' to Matara to take in temple elephants, the stilt fishermen, and Galle Fort another day), as well as arranging our transfers to and from Negombo.

What more can I say, except many thanks to Melvin and his team, for a wonderfully relaxing family holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Feels right at home. Value for money, there is no phone, tv, but who needs that when you are at Kallabongo! Time to unwind! We swam, we canoe, we fished and request the chef to cook what we caught. The host takes great care of us and make us feel welcome. No complaints from it. It is worth your time and money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This place is super calm, and really very beautiful.

crisp, cool furnishing, decent pool - terrific views, friendly staff. The owners have clearly put their heart into it. Also very fairly priced. To commend the hotel, they arranged transport back to the airport and clearly didn't take a cut (or if they did it was a small one). Wonderful food - Sri Lankan curry was among the best we had.

it's also bursting with wild life - we saw lizards digging a hole, monkeys, an enormous monitor lizard waddling down the road, enormous bats.... lots of fun for our two small children.

Sri Lanka is too much of an amazing place to stay in one hotel for your whole trip, and I reckon 2 nights would be about right for here. But it's well worth a stay.

Room Tip: you probably don't want to swim in the lake (bit mucky) so you might as well have a room by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Run by a friendly Dutch couple, Kallabongo is a quiet place but very conveniently situated from Hikkaduwa beach. We were in the pool facing rooms. The rooms are very clean and tastefully furnished though with an extra bed as we had requested it can become a bit tight. There are chairs right outside the rooms with views of the pool and the lake. Dinner was tasty but the service was a tad slow, however breakfast was fine. It is a nice quiet place to unwind for couples and we would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Once you walk through the gate you are in a lovely reception with music and fab pieces of furniture and an amazing Buddah (I want one of those).

The rooms are very nice - bathroom basic but clean and nothing more required.

Staff amazing, really nice and management very nice (Dutch-owned).

The views are beautiful over the lake and you will see the odd monitor lizard swim across. We were disappointed as we thought it was a crocodile ;)

The food is really good. Dining and seating areas tastefully furnished.

Lovely swimming pool too. If you get bored easily this is not the place for you. That said, you can get a tuk tuk and you're in the heart of Hikkaduwa in under 10 minutes which is busy.

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights, it wasnt long enough! Perfect location away from the busy road through hikkaduwa but only minutes and pennies to get there for a night out! The setting is spectacular. The hospitality was first class and couldn't recommend this hotel anymore!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalla Bongo Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalla Bongo Lake Resort

Address: 22/8 K, Field View | Baddegama Road, Nalagasdeniya, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort has 15 rooms: 10 pool rooms, adjacent to the pool with a fresh appearance and 5 lagoon rooms, adjacent to the lagoon with a classic interior and bath tub.Other hotel facilities are lobby, à la carte restaurant, bar, swimming pool, canoes, games for children.The magnificent view over the lagoon, the utmost calm, peaceful and natural environment give the hotel a unique character and allow the guests to recover from their busy life.Good quality is a key element for the hotel and cleanliness, freshness, familiar and personal service are the defining themes.The hotel is located at Hikkaduwa Ganga, a large lagoon which is connected to the sea. The location is about 2,5 kilometres from the centre of Hikkaduwa, only 10 minutes by car or three-wheeler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kalla Bongo Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalla Bongo Lake Hotel Hikkaduwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalla Bongo Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.