We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thilanka Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Thilanka Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thilanka Resort and Spa
51 Godawalayaya | Morogollawa, Dambulla, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Dambulla
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

I really enjoyed our stay at Thilanka Resort in Dambulla. It is a very nice, quiet place with fresh air. The surroundings is just very beautiful. The room and the bathroom was very spacious, all very clean and comfortable. We had typical Sri Lankan food which was terrific. The staff was very friendly, attentive and professional. Nice place for sure.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    91
    31
    13
    5
See reviews for
53
105
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weligama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

We have stayed in Thilanka resort with my fiance for one night and it has been wonderfull experience. The entrance during night is illuminated by candles and it gives great impression, than you suddenly enter the lobby and reception area which is interconnected with swimming pool which is attracting you to jump right away and take a swim.
The room in one of the Villas was large as well as the bathroom with jacuzzi bath.
The most enjoyable thing we experienced during our trip to inland of Sri Lanka was the fresh air!!!
I can highly recommend this hotel to my friends and also clients.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights, really liked this place surrounded by its own paddy fields & mango grove.
Spacious, comfortable rooms complete with jacuzzi bath. Food was good,they grow and use their own produce in the restaurant .....loved the homemade banana jam!
Can't understand previous reviews that are overly critical, we found the staff very welcoming and didn't feel there was a strange atmosphere it was just peaceful & relaxing.
We would not hesitate to stay here again, it is an excellent base for touring.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Lovely setting but has an 'unfinished' feel to it.
Lovely rooms but a few issues when we were there - our fridge had not been cleaned - spilt coke everywhere. The air con unit was right above the bed so it was very noisy and freezing in bed and hot everywhere else.
Staff tried hard but just didnt really understand what was required - rather pushy for tips as well and always went around in pairs so you felt as though you has to tips them both.
Lovely open air dinning and the food was good.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Hmm. Is it me or are my standards really low? After a long hot day at Sigiraya and Polonnawaru, when we pulled in here it looked good. The hotel is set a long way from the main road down a floodlit drive through a mango tree plantation. So there is little or no traffic noise. The ground floor room in a block of 4 was large, with floor to ceiling glass panels and sliding doors, covered by cream cotton blinds. The style is minimalist - brick walls plastered then painted grey, with large coloured pictures above the bed. Its a style I like. If you are expecting teak and mahogany, dark woods and rich fabrics, don't stay here. The shower cubicle floor is slippery when wet - be careful. The pool is long and very nice. The views all around are stunning. I'm not sure what the deal is, but the hotel shares the same lot as a working padi field. As I lazed in the pool watching the locals hand cut rice bunches, I felt a wee bit decadent. The pool side is red brick which is not so good as its crumbling and you inevitably carry a bunch of gravel into the pool with you. Tiles or fine pebbled concrete screed would have been better. The 1st floor dining area is pleasant and we found the breakfast and dinner buffets of decent choice and quality. Admittedly its not jumping with atmosphere, but then you are out in the country, and in a country where people seem to go to bed early. There's nothing happening in Dambulla either. We never found mosquitos a big problem, but again, remember where you are. Mozzies live here, as do loads of other insects. I agree with previous reviewer the large sliding windows didn't close evenly and a large gap opens up at the top which could let insects into your room. We carried our own mosquito repellant tabs and burner for use wherever we stayed. Hotel provides one also. Positioning of power points is a bit stupid; they are built into one concrete wall which is then partially closed in by wardrobes, and then some don't work. Most sockets are 3 pin round and if you have a 2 pin round appliance (like a mozzie burner) you need to push a pen pr something round into the dummy top hole before you can push in your plug. Hotel can lend you adaptors. All in all we found it a good base for local touring.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

The hotel is set in its own lush grounds and it was great to see the gardener planting herbs etc for use in the kitchens.

We had a 2nd floor room in one of the 4 roomed lodges (no sign of an outside hot tub). It was very large with a high timber ceiling, a private balcony (which we didn’t use because of the annoying insects), minibar (the bottled water is not complimentary), a safe (not bolted down) and an enormous bathroom with a wonderful rain shower with piping hot water and a Jacuzzi bath. The tv had only 3 Sri Lankan channels but we did borrow a few DVDs from reception (not all of them would play). There was an overriding musty smell particularly in the bathroom which could have been mothballs? We had quite a few bugs in the room probably not helped because of the trees etc outside, that said we stayed in similar hotels throughout out holiday and never had the same amount of bugs in the room. Apparently the hotel only has 2 hairdryers and these were on loan when we asked to borrow one.

In the main the staff were helpful and friendly though not always easy to pin down, and we did get a little annoyed on one occasion when waiting for assistance while the receptionist continued a personal call on her mobile. The cleaners turned up after 5pm to service the room and as we were already taking showers after a long sticky day, we told them not to bother and just took the clean towels from them.

We didn’t use the Ayurevedic spa but we did take advantage of the nice pool. There were a few wooden sun loungers which could have benefited from a good cleaning.

The bar is in reception and not particularly a convivial place to relax. The buffet dinners were good, as was breakfast. We were there for a Poya Day (no alcohol) which coincided with New Year’s Eve. If we had pre-ordered wine the day before we could have had some with our dinner - so there’s a tip if you find your are going to be there on a Poya Day!

For us the hotel had no ambience and was lacklustre. It certainly didn’t meet our expectation of a “resort and spa”. We wouldn’t recommend to family or friends and in fact with hindsight wish we had based ourselves somewhere else to visit the Dambulla temple e.g. Habarana.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

We really loved this hotel. The mango trees offered privacy, the rice paddies were so lush and green. The service was great, and the room was wonderful. I would definitely stay here again, very relaxing and beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thilanka Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thilanka Resort and Spa

Address: 51 Godawalayaya | Morogollawa, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel- 24 luxury Suites with AC, fan, TV, DVD, mini bar, safe, telephone, WIFI, jacuzzi or plunge pool. Ayurveda spa, restaurant, bar, swimming pool, tennis and colleyball located in a 25 acre orchard with 2 rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Thilanka Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Dambulla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thilanka Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.